Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 03:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
TEENpup 2009 Legacy available for Download
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
wdm

Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Posts: 57
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 12:37    Post_subject:  

Hi John,

FYI I've got 2009legacy running on my 10yr old amd k6-3 400 with 256 ram. I did not make a cd but extracted the 2009 files and replaced the 2008 files and deleted old save file in my frugal installation and used my original grub to bootup. On first boot could not get a destop with xorg and xversa was very grainy. However after creating a new save file and rebooting xversa is now working. I will try xorg some more later as it has always worked with other puppies.

Everything looks great now and seems to run faster than 2008 did on this machine.

Thank you for a great os for old hardware.
Dale
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1112
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 15:13    Post_subject:  

What is the version of Seamonkey? Does TEENpup 2009 Legacy have enhanced modem detection and support?

EDIT: Seamonkey 1.1.14, no PupDial

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Boomerian

Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 15:49    Post_subject:  Broadcom still a problem?
Sub_title: TEENpup the answer?
 

Hi John,
Looks like you've got a winner - I will try it on my Celeron 400MHZ with 256MB RAM. The only distro that works with this Linksys WMP54G adapter is Dreamlinux, which I enjoy, but I am convinced Puppy will maximize the capability of this old box. I will download and burn the ISO and give it a try.
Thanks for all your work - I'll let you know how it goes. The screen shots look terrific!
Boomerian
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3468
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 20:59    Post_subject:  

Now on Distrowatch.

http://distrowatch.com/?newsid=05518

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kayan


Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 90
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jun 2009, 03:40    Post_subject: frugal install  

is it possible to install TEENpup in frugal Laughing my dvd rom is outof order Crying or Very sad
_________________
SAHARA laptop intel celeron M 1.4 GHz/ 768Mb Ram /40GB ,SIS 661 chipset,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wdm

Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Posts: 57
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 08:53    Post_subject:  

Hi kayan,

Yes, You should be able to do a frugal install. That is the way I like to use puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kayan


Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 90
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 09:46    Post_subject:  

@wdm
can you post your grub entry for TEENpup Smile

_________________
SAHARA laptop intel celeron M 1.4 GHz/ 768Mb Ram /40GB ,SIS 661 chipset,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Torp

Joined: 10 May 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 16:13    Post_subject: WPA2
Sub_title: Does WPA2 work with TEENpup 2009
 

Hi

Thank's for a your great work!!

Makes it fun to use my old Hp OmniBook again, really saved it from ending up in the trash bin Smile

I have only run in to one problem so far and it's how to get my wireless WPA2 connection to work. It seems like the network wizzard doesn't support wireless WPA2 connections or maybe WPA2 is not supported in TEENpup at all. My Wcard is a DWL-G650+ and works just fine with the acx* driver in Puppy Linux 4.2.1.

I guess I'm missing something here so it would be great with some help to point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 19:38    Post_subject:  

Sneekylinux has post a video of teenpup :

http://blip.tv/file/2234341
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
wdm

Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Posts: 57
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2009, 08:56    Post_subject:  

@kayan

Quote:
can you post your grub entry for TEENpup


Here are the grub enteries for the puppies currently on this machine:

Code:
title TeenPup 2.14
    rootnoverify (hd0,3)
    kernel (hd0,3)/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=hda4 acpi=force
    initrd (hd0,3)/initrd.gz


title MacPup 4.12F
   rootnoverify (hd0,0)
   kernel (hd0,0)/macpup/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd acpi=force psubdir=macpup
   initrd (hd0,0)/macpup/initrd.gz


You may not need acpi=force unless you have an old computer. I have TeenPup in it's own partition so no psubdir.

I hope this is what you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vg1

Joined: 02 Dec 2007
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2009, 15:43    Post_subject:  

psubdir will not work with teenpup [p214]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dsleaf67

Joined: 14 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2009, 18:22    Post_subject: Re: Booting teenpup 2009
Sub_title: Boot fails
 

jduffy22335 wrote:
markofkane wrote:
Mine won't finish booting either,

Edit: "Cannot find Puppy on 'ideCD' boot media" Sad


I also have a Boot error, I believe it maybe SATA Raid Controller (it is raid off /normal mode). It does a search of the drives then either reports can not find idecd, or idehd when booting via gldr.

Is there a parameter to pass? or is it that I have too new a hardware for the kernel ? 214R does work as well as the 214X (ttuuxx) is working.

Thanks, it could just be the onset of a senior moment.


Thanks John This is GREAT!.

I got the same problem when I tried on my acer aspire One. It does seem to boot under some modifications. The iso I used with unetbootin seemed to leave the entry in syslinux.cfg as pmedia=idecd. I simply changed it to pmedia=usbcard (since I used unetbootin to put it on USB stick). That seemed to work wonderfully. The issue left now is getting a better screen interface in xorg as all I could get one my aspire one is 800x600.

Thanks again and I hope this helps those with the above error
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jm2k7


Joined: 14 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2009, 20:09    Post_subject:    

hello, I had a little problem, I get an error when loading the cd.

I get the following:

ERROR cannot find Puppy on "idecd" boot media

PUPMode=1 PDEV=

Exited to initial-ramdisk (dev/ram0) commandline...

(the linux-guru can now debug, 'e3' editor is avaible).

/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off.


#: _

I think this distro is incompatible with the DVD SATA support

I have a ASROCK - Wolfdale1333-D667 v2.0
with a DVD-RW SATA Super multi

This distro works well with IDE DVD drives, but SATA brings problems.

Thanks, nice distro..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Artie


Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 446
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jun 2009, 10:00    Post_subject:  

Hi John I'm testing out Teenpup. So far it works fine but I've run into a little snag which I hope you can help me with to do with the latest Opera beta. Here's what I did:

I downloaded the opera-10.00.4402beta.pet and installed. Found opera.sh in opt/opera10beta/ and dragged it to the desktop. Rightclicked to File 'opera' -> Set Icon... went to /opt/opera10beta/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/opera.png and tried to drag the icon into the Set Icon... box but nothing happens... thanks for any suggestion.

Artie
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
ICQ 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1409
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jun 2009, 11:03    Post_subject:  

Hello Artie,
You need to change the icon in opt/opera10beta/opera.sh, not the desktop and then drag it to the desktop.

To those having trouble with SATA drives all that I can say is that the same problems that effect Puppy 2.14 will effect TEENpup. I don't believe I modified anything that would cause this problem?

As for the 800 x 600 screen resolution there was a trick you could do
I know you had to type "915resolution -l" in Terminal and it gave you possible screen resolutions. You then needed to pick a screen resolution number that you wouldn't use and type in "915resolution 38 1024 600 16" in terminal. Now rerun the xorgwizard and you should be able to select 1024 x 600 from the choices given. Note: 38 in this example is the screen resolution number chosen that could be over written. Also you'll need to do this every time you boot TEENpup, sorry!

Try searching or posting on the forum for a better fix.

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0867s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]