Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Apr 2014, 04:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x » Usability Issues (5.x dev)
problem with dialog boxes in lower resolutions
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
ssme

Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 06:23    Post subject:  problem with dialog boxes in lower resolutions  

i'm not sure if this belongs in here, so feel free to delete it. i've been using puppy woof alpha 8 (i can't find alpha 9), and a long standing problem resurfaced (copied from my post in the beginners forum... apologies for the ranty tone: it was very late Smile)

i don't know if this is really the sort of thing to go in this thread - or even whether it is a problem with puppy, xorg, or jwm - but one thing that really bugs me about puppy is that despite being 'marketed' to people with old machines, it assumes a high resolution display.

my laptop runs at 1024x768, but a lot of dialog boxes are far too big to fit on the screen. this means i can't read what is at the bottom of the window or, for example, what the button options are. the box can't be resized, and maximising it simply widens the little bit i can read. the only way out is to hit Enter and hope that the button i have just selected is the right one. it happened to me just now when i tried to install the java-jdk.

in an otherwise great OS, it is incredibly frustrating!

EDIT: and it's just happened again. seeing as i've spent the best part of 5 hours downloading packages for some university work, the fact that there might be huge dependency problems simply because i couldn't read the bottom of a dialog box or see a button saying "fix this!" is so utterly depressing it's almost funny. i note there is an option in the menu to check dependencies. however, i can't use this as, guess what? the list in the box disappears off the bottom of the screen and is not scrollable or resizable. joy!

is something like this really so hard to fix? i doubt puppy will be a viable alternative to windows until it discovers scroll bars!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bugman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 2131
Location: buffalo commons

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 07:50    Post subject:  

nah, this has been a problem forever, especially with the missing dependencies box, no fix in sight?
_________________
. . . the machines are clean
and the machines are not corrupted


- lee "scratch" perry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1288
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 08:12    Post subject:  

Will moving the window in the desktop image on the bar at the bottom of the screen allow you to see the bottom of the dialog box?

I'm guesssing because I don't use Puppy 5 yet.

I agree this is only a workaround but to be honest even Windows Apps developers seem to think we all have high resolution screens. At work I have a high res screen but operate in low res because I am old and have bad eyesight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 08:46    Post subject:  

Hi what you can do is first take screenshots, so we have some clue how much needs to be taken off of what, next you need to update the list with every dialog box that doesn't fit your screen, Most of them I can change and alter, but I need the names and pictures please. If you supply them, then I'll look at fixing them.
Thanks
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bugman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 2131
Location: buffalo commons

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 08:54    Post subject:  

@ttuuxxx

the ones i've seen have all been dependency lists, the really long ones, dragging doesn't help because they're just too damn big

one of the problems is redundancy, it's been a while since i've seen one, but i think they're pretty repetitive--it looks like you're missing 100 libs but it's the same ones over and over?

i could be wrong, memory shot, hate proust

_________________
. . . the machines are clean
and the machines are not corrupted


- lee "scratch" perry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 09:15    Post subject:  

I think I am righ about this........... cant you put the mouse cursor on some background in the window in question and double-click to grab the window, then move it bodily upward?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ssme

Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jun 2009, 10:25    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Hi what you can do is first take screenshots, so we have some clue how much needs to be taken off of what, next you need to update the list with every dialog box that doesn't fit your screen, Most of them I can change and alter, but I need the names and pictures please. If you supply them, then I'll look at fixing them.
Thanks
ttuuxxx


ok, i'll try to take screenshots of the windows i encounter. but rather than targetting individual windows/boxes, surely it's a more general window handling problem that needs to be addressed? if a window/box is too big for the screen when it is displayed then ensure there is a scroll bar, or it can be resized. either is fine by me.

EDIT: my attempt to take screenshots failed as it is impossible to save the file in mtpaint... i keep clicking OK, but no joy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jun 2009, 00:41    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
I think I am righ about this........... cant you put the mouse cursor on some background in the window in question and double-click to grab the window, then move it bodily upward?
You hold the "ALT" key down and drag the window up. Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jun 2009, 01:09    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
DaveS wrote:
I think I am righ about this........... cant you put the mouse cursor on some background in the window in question and double-click to grab the window, then move it bodily upward?
You hold the "ALT" key down and drag the window up. Smile
ttuuxxx


Oh OK thanks. I thought I had read there was some way to do it.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x » Usability Issues (5.x dev)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0544s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]