Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 01:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
upup CJK
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jun 2009, 20:15    Post_subject:  

When I booted again this morning, the screen was black and no icons.

I tried left click and choosing different options but I see no difference.

I even installed the other scim related pets from "41 language " post. But it only disabled scim.

I am thinking that either changing initrd.gz or editing xorg config. I now have to go to other city and there is no computer of my own. I can browse the internet but not allowed to do anything else.

I will try playing with upup ko locale again sometime later.

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jun 2009, 20:22    Post_subject:  

puppyiso wrote:
When I booted again this morning, the screen was black and no icons.

Menu > Shutdown > Restart X server

puppyiso, what type of keyboad you use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jun 2009, 20:47    Post_subject: upup CJK with other LANG  

linus1972 wrote:
is your puppy avail in english too?

upup CJK yes.

any locale your LANG is, you can read CJK(chinese, japanese, korean).

if you like to input CJK with other LANG, you must use UTF-8 encoding.
for exple. 'en_US.UTF-8'.
and you have to modify one configuration.
add the 2 letter code of your LANG for expl. 'en' at
/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/immodule-files.d/scim-gtk2-immodule.immodules
Quote:
"/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/immodules/im-scim.so"
"scim" "SCIM Input Method" "scim" "/usr/share/locale" "ja:ko:zh:en"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jun 2009, 09:11    Post_subject:  

I use regular keyboard with US keymap.

It is dead at the grub stage but alive when I have to either input passwords or choose options during boots.

When I removed some pet files, the screen came back with icons. I now think that's because I restarted x

Everything is OK exept the typed Korean looked very funny.

eg;

Correct : 한글을 쓸 수 있어 좋다.

Wrong : 한그를 쓸 수 이써 조ㅎ다

Korean letters are combinations of 3 letter sets, like consonant+vowel+the third letter.

ㅎ + ㅏ + ㄴ = 한

ㅅ + ㅜ + nothing = 수


When it does not require the third one, that's when letters got mixed.

Whenever I get more time, I will try again.

John

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jun 2009, 10:27    Post_subject:  

puppyiso wrote:
Korean letters are combinations of 3 letter sets, like consonant+vowel+the third letter.

ㅎ + ㅏ + ㄴ = 한

i can type with Hangul Romaja using japanese keyboard jp106.
난 일본인이다.

han gul eul sseul su isseo johda
한굴을 쓸 수 있어 좋다
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jun 2009, 21:39    Post_subject:  

That means that I have to choose Japanese keyboard to use Korean letter input? But the Roman letter shown is totally different from the normal way of typing.

No Korean use that kind of typing.

I think I chose US keymap when I first frugal install. Does that matter?

I am gonna redownload and try again.

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jun 2009, 23:10    Post_subject:  

I have tried again but still the same problem.

I chose US keymap and Country-korea and I saw the default locale was already Korean.
I did x-server reboot anyway.

The Roman typing didn't work. Typing Roman-Korean is so weird to me. I really don't think I can do that.

Furthermore, file names didn't show up correctly even with utf-8 mounted.

Look at the problems I encountered.

John S
not perfect utf file names.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  not perfect utf file names.png 
Filesize  121 KB 
Downloaded  527 Time(s) 
still wrong.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  still wrong.png 
Filesize  78.08 KB 
Downloaded  528 Time(s) 
it is already ko locale.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  it is already ko locale.png 
Filesize  132.74 KB 
Downloaded  545 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jun 2009, 04:50    Post_subject: i may forget some packages  

puppyiso,
US-keymap is no problem but you need to wright 'utf8' in /etc/codepage.

as for typing hangul, i am sorry i may miss some packages.
plz try to install next 2 packages from ubuntu.
http://packages.ubuntu.com/ko/jaunty/libhangul0
http://packages.ubuntu.com/ko/jaunty/libhangul0-data

download the tow and just click them on upup cjk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jun 2009, 09:46    Post_subject:  

It works with the deb files.

Thank you. The only problem is that the save file should be more than 512mb.
With 64mb something, I cannot boot again(Kernel panic)

John S
Working Korean input UPUP.png .png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Working Korean input UPUP.png .png 
Filesize  84.39 KB 
Downloaded  529 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jun 2009, 10:14    Post_subject:  

I have an option to use 4.21 with Korean pack including WINE.

But, with UPup, I can type in at least 4 languages. Namely; English, Japanese, Korean and Chinese. All the online IMEs are no longer needed. (End of copy and paste thing)

Language wise, UPUP is much better. However, apps are fewer than normal 4 series and no WINE. I having hard time to decide which one to stay in my hard drive.

Well, I keep them both for now. See what happens.

にほんがごができてほんとにうれし
한국어를 마음대로 써서 너무좋아
现在中文可以了。 太好了。

Even though the menu is not Korean, I can live with that.

Thank you very much, shinobar.

John S
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jun 2009, 18:22    Post_subject: upup CJK shall be brushed up
Sub_title: keep watching what happens on upup CJK
 

Thank you for testing puppyiso. i made
lang_support_ko-upup476-0.2.pet including the additional 2 package.
I will brush up the upup CJK.

upup-476 has many bugs at this point of time.
I am not sure when Barry comes back to 5.x,
but i am checking and making I18N on it.
upup has an advantage
that the applications can be easily imported from ubuntu jaunty.

tanks puppy iso and plz keep watching what happens on upup CJK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jun 2009, 05:04    Post_subject:  

I have to report a strange thing happened to UPup cjk.
I am booting the Puppy with Unetbootin. All of sudden, the saved file dissapeared from the C: drive. I had to re do all the settings to use SCIM.

I know UPUP is still in alpha stage; therefore, it is still somewhat unstable.

Developing UPUP is a great work and is going well. However, I have to report the strange thing happened to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyiso


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jul 2009, 01:57    Post_subject:  

Another problem was found today.

When booted, the screen was black. I had to X server reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jul 2009, 08:51    Post_subject: black screen  

puppyiso wrote:
When booted, the screen was black. I had to X server reboot.

Sometimes i also encountered.
i added one statement, 'fixmenus', on /root/.xinitrc that was in v4.2.1.
i am not sure but it seems better.

last lines of /root/.xinitrc:
Code:
# import from v4.2.1
#xli -fillscreen -onroot /root/Choices/ROX-background.jpg
#fixmenus added to refresh menus - jrb 16feb09
fixmenus

crond
#exec $CURRENTWM
#v2.11 GuestToo suggested this improvement...
which $CURRENTWM && exec $CURRENTWM
[ -x $CURRENTWM ] && exec $CURRENTWM
exec jwm


###END###
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0734s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]