Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 14:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Browserlinux 77 Mb puplet with Firefox 3.5.7
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [97 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
linus1972

Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jul 2009, 17:29    Post subject:  

LOL, yeah, I'm having problems still puppymartin and your my rescue dog!Smile

OK, see screenshot of new rescue puppy below.

OK, for some reason I can't delete the original puppy.jpg in the /usr/share/backgrounds folder!
I set the "default.png" as wallpaper and delete the puppy.jpg and it's still there at reboot!
Now, I "transformed" the puppy.jpg into "puppy.png" with MTpaint, then deleted "default.png" and renamed "puppy.png" to "default.png" and set it as wallpaper.

am I confusing you?
how do I set the wallpaper and have just 1 default.png?


ALSO, where/how can I add a XFPROT antivirus ICON to the desktop
lke a real, color icon??
oh, and how to change color of jwm bottom menu bar, etc?
thanks alot martin!
puppy.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  puppy.png 
Filesize  860.39 KB 
Downloaded  567 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Schism


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jul 2009, 20:07    Post subject: I'm not puppymartin But I can help  

The save file, the original .sfs that the uses has the default image. It might alway just be there unless you open the .sfs file using another puppy and deleting it and replacin it with your image.

to get an icon on the desktop for XFPROT, or any application do a search for it. Probably in /usr/bin. Drag the item to the desktop and a link should be made. Now, right clik on the desktop file and there will be a set icon in the app"Whatever your program is">set icon. A window will open and you can go to wherever you have the icon, /usr/midi-icons or /usr/pixmaps is a good place to look, or add one. Dropping the image in the window will change it's icon.

I hope that helped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hugh


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 136
Location: Imperial Warmongering Dystopia of Amerika

PostPosted: Fri 03 Jul 2009, 04:38    Post subject: Network Wizard
Subject description: dsl
 

PuppyMartin,


PROBLEM SOLVED: It was my ethernet adapter. Replaced with new one and
up with 4.8 now!

Very, very nice!

- - - - - - - - - - - -

Your browser puppy is just what I've been hoping to find! It is
truly a work of art!

I've downloaded and fired up your 4.7 version and it works great
for dialup web surfing. But, I've not been able to get the Network
Wizard to successfully work with my att dsl connection. It finds
ETH0 but cannot setup comms with any option.

I have no problem with the Network Wizard in Puppy 3.01 or 4.12R
so I'm wondering, therefore; would it be possible for me to modify
or replace the Network Wizard to the same as in 3.01?

I'll be downloading 4.8 next to try it out. Many thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linus1972

Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jul 2009, 08:43    Post subject:  

Dude, BrowserPuppy49 rocks!
What libs did you add or change from 4.8?
good job dog:)
B
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppymartin


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 207
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jul 2009, 09:32    Post subject:  

linus1972 wrote:
Dude, BrowserPuppy49 rocks!
What libs did you add or change from 4.8?
good job dog:)
B


I replaced Glib:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=39736
Always Ttuuxxx with the things I need.

And new icons:


4.9 is very stable and Firefox 3.5 works great.
This is the last version for this year I hope.
(I mean, you don't have to change your qemu-version. Btw, 4.8 was very stable too)

I discovered a funny thing: Browserpuppy 4.8 on Youtube Surprised
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0k1iUEhE0E
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jul 2009, 06:48    Post subject:  

Hi there

Thanks for this, it was just what I've been looking for Smile

Just a few questions:

PMount, can that be automated so that it detects drives that are plugged in?

Also does the firewall always remain active once you have completed the 'wizard' the first time?

Thanks Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppymartin


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 207
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jul 2009, 08:40    Post subject:  

chrome307 wrote:


1 PMount, can that be automated so that it detects drives that are plugged in?

2 does the firewall always remain active once you have completed the 'wizard' the first time?



1 Yes, got to Menu -> Puppy menu -> Desktop -> Desktop drive icons manager

And check:

v Tick box for drive icons on desktop
v Tick box for an icon for each partition

2 Yes, also active after a reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jul 2009, 17:32    Post subject:  

@puppymartin

Thank you for such a quick reply and an easy solution.

I really using your puplet, thank you again for doing this for us !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pooklaroux


Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 60
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jul 2009, 18:30    Post subject:  

Definitely thanks -- very clean, I like it a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 16:52    Post subject:  

Hi there again

Can anyone tell me how to make the 'MENU' tab and the items in that column larger ie the text and the icons, so it is easier to read?

Thank you in advance Smile

BTW If anyone wants a recent version of WINE it can be found here:

http://puppylinux.ca/members/T/486_pet/wine-1.1.24-i486.pet

Tested & working
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppymartin


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 207
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 17:39    Post subject:  

chrome307 wrote:

Can anyone tell me how to make the 'MENU' tab and the items in that column larger ie the text and the icons, so it is easier to read?


Open /root/.jwm and scroll down to <MenuStyle>

Change the <Font> ... ??? ... </Font> to:

<Font>DejaVu Sans-14</Font>

Then restart JWM
(Menu -> Puppy menu -> Desktop -> JWM Configuration -> Restart JWM now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jul 2009, 16:08    Post subject:  

Thank you again for the help, unfortunately I can't find the file you described.

[EDIT] I change the settings in the 'theme' file using Leafpad, that seems to work for me.

Here's a screenshot of the contents of the directory:

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppymartin


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 207
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jul 2009, 17:01    Post subject:  

chrome307 wrote:
Thank you again for the help, unfortunately I can't find the file you described.
[EDIT] I change the settings in the 'theme' file using Leafpad, that seems to work for me.


Ojee, I was wrong. I meant: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppymartin


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 207
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jul 2009, 17:02    Post subject:  

chrome307 wrote:

Can anyone tell me how to make the 'MENU' tab and the items in that column larger ie the text and the icons, so it is easier to read?


Open /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme and scroll down to <MenuStyle>

Change the <Font> ... ??? ... </Font> to:

<Font>DejaVu Sans-14</Font>

Then restart JWM
(Menu -> Puppy menu -> Desktop -> JWM Configuration -> Restart JWM now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jul 2009, 04:25    Post subject:  

Thanks again Smile

I've tried your OS build on an old laptop but could only get the display to work in XVesa mode ( onboard Intel gfx ), which is a shame as I would have used it to replace the current OS.

Works perfect on my desktop tho' Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [97 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0785s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]