Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 22:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
dpup-47x for testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 52 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Author Message
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jul 2009, 08:07    Post_subject: 476d is up  

For those that didn't know 476d is up

http://www.gposil.com/test/woof-alpha9/dpup/dpup476d-2.6.27.4/

.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jul 2009, 08:31    Post_subject: esata and rt73usb  

Yesterday I saw 476d was available already and downloaded and tried.
As the forum was down, I couldn't report back then.

The second HDD (esata) is still not seen in spite of the pfix=ram and acpi=off boot options

As for the ralink rt73usb device, modules seems to be loaded, but no device attributed (should be wlan0), see the lsmod output
Code:
# lsmod |grep rt
rt73usb                22528  0
crc_itu_t               2944  1 rt73usb
rt2x00usb              11392  1 rt73usb
rt2x00lib              27776  2 rt73usb,rt2x00usb
rfkill                  9752  1 rt2x00lib
led_class               4996  1 rt2x00lib
mac80211              155292  2 rt2x00usb,rt2x00lib
cfg80211               24712  2 rt2x00lib,mac80211
agpgart                33352  1 via_agp
usbcore               131312  8 rt73usb,rt2x00usb,ati_remote,usb_storage,usbhid,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd
#
And this is the device's interface info:
Code:
Manufacturer=Ralink
Product=802.11 bg WLAN
VendorID=148f  ProductID=2573  KERNEL-MODULE=(none)
Hope this can help in the diagnosis of the problems.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 855
Location: SE

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jul 2009, 13:20    Post_subject: dpup476d test  

Greetings! Smile

Took dpup476d for a spin, it's very snappy on my old gear, PIII 533MHz 192 MB Smile . Streaming internet radio works nicely on the music player, browsing is fast. Smile

Ok, now over to the niggly-wigglies:

On boot-up I set my keyboard to "se"; with this setting it's impossible to mount my vfat partitions, using pmount or clicking the desktop drive icons.
Solution: I deleted "|se" from line 383 of /usr/sbin/pmount and from line 215 of /usr/local/bin/drive_all, deleted everything from /root/.pup_event, so the directories would be re-copied there. Now I can mount all drives by clicking the desktop drive icons, or by using pmount. This tinkering does not seem to affect any "se"-characters that are in the file-names Smile.
I understand the intention of putting that code there but, unfortunately, it had to go for my "se"-keyboard. Cool

Internal SCSI drives are not seen, evidently. Awaiting a SCSI-enabled kernel build. Smile

Tried to run "curl -s ......" complaints: "curl: error while loading shared libraries: libssh2.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory" Sad

Manual frugal install in a subdirectory: Upon reboot, it pauses in the shutdown process to wait for confirmation that the optical drives are ejected (can insert them again, though) Confused .

Apart from the niggly-wigglies mentioned above, it runs very nicely Smile Smile .

cheers/
MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 655
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 31 Jul 2009, 01:50    Post_subject:  

G'day,

A report of dpup476 on a dual core desktop with two SATA internal hard-drives with 14 partitions on each, plus some usbs.
The dpup-d Live CD ran well with no odd start-up typing required (just pfix=ram).
The 30 odd partition icons did not default space nicely across the desk-top, bunching up in the bottom right corner (Pup214x7 has fixed this giving two rows of drive icons).
Used the Universal Installer for a frugal install - no problems for my set-up. Don't know how it would be for a new (non-grub-already) install.

Re-boot via grub was Ok but I did briefly see a "fatal error" flash by as the kernel modules loaded. A slight black-screen delay before Xorg's cursor appeared.
But dpup openned with no major problems. I relocated the bunched icons into two rows and switched to a nicer-looking icon set.
Eth0 connection was good (I use a static IP) but no wireless was found. So I clicked the wizard through to use ndiswrapper which set up wlan0 without problem.

Re-booted to set up my dpup476 save file and saw the same flash-by "fatal error" line during kernel loading but dpup was again fine and the network and desktop changes were intact.
Opted to boot-load several sfs3 files via boot manager, installed a few small pets, added Seamonkey 1.1.15v1 (I have a large and growing e-mail archive so Sylpheed is useless for me) and re-booted.

Everything was good, the sfs files were there, both network connections were established, the dual cores were active. Bubbles was almost as fast with dpup as with aragon's 4.2 SMP 2.6.30.1 kernel version (my benchmark test champion - no wonder the bubbles break!).

When I decided to turn off the computer, not re-boot, the system halted OK but as before with earlier dpups, the power did not switch off. A minor glitch if you're not used to clicking the turn off button and just walking away - I was surprised to come back a few hours later and see the monitor display still on.

I've yet to try getting a deb package which should be an important test for this Woofer.

In summary, I found d is a good step forward from c on my computer.

Thanks for your Puplet,

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 31 Jul 2009, 02:22    Post_subject:  

Thanks David and MinHundHettePerro,

great feedback...the kernel is still a slight problem(flash by module errors) ... but i've raised the prob with Barry and i'm going to do a complete 2.6.27 kernel rebuild for 476e, which should address a multitude of sins...

In my own testing, on a full install of 476d, i've got apt and synaptic running beautifully...i've just got to do some scripting to get apt to recognize the base installed packages and then the sky will be the limit for this pup...

BTW...i've installed a number of deb packages now and can report that, in principle there is no problem...just the recognition of the base install.(i.e the dependencies that are already installed).

I hope that ttuuxxx will get some time soon to contribute his considerable knowledge. The dpup experiment is IMHO a worthwhile extension to the future of Puppy in so many ways...'A Stable Rock Solid Base' that Debian always has been.

Thanks for all the continued testing, we will get it right.

Cheers
Guy

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 31 Jul 2009, 09:59    Post_subject:  

gposil wrote:
Thanks David and MinHundHettePerro
Thanks for all the continued testing, we will get it right.
Cheers
Guy
I hope you realized I did make the first comment. Wink alltho not that positive.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 31 Jul 2009, 10:03    Post_subject:  

You're right I think Béèm... Very Happy

Thank You

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 524
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2009, 11:58    Post_subject: can't set locale  

gposil,

Did frugal install of 476d.

When I try to change the locale, all I get is a text screen about gtkdialog.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2009, 18:46    Post_subject:  

Thanks gyro,

another quirk, 476d chooselocale script is incorrect, I will adjust and post soon...

Thank you

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5939
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2009, 19:02    Post_subject:  

Running 476d live with a usb save file.I've already installed FF 3.5 and Opera 10 and both are working fine.

4.76d seems to be really stable and quick.Very impressive.

Trying to install Debian packages with the package manager is a bit of an adventure though.Earlier today I successfully installed 1 out of 5 packages, and had to do some tweaking to get that one working.

Some packages install but simply won't work, one installed (according to the PPM) but refused to be found anywhere w/ pfind.

Did get Streamtuner installed, had to find a couple of missing libs and it would launch.However, Streamtuner defaults to XMMS, so try to install that....no joy. Then changed the Streamtuner default to BMP and it works.

I've built my own Spup, Upup and Dpup and the biggest problem seems to be in the package management area.Hopefully someone can get that figured out.

Other than that little problem, Dpup 476d is stable, light and fast....Great job.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2009, 19:24    Post_subject:  

gyro,

here's that updated chooselocale script.
476dlocale.pet
Description  Updated chooselocale script
pet

 Download 
Filename  476dlocale.pet 
Filesize  3.17 KB 
Downloaded  262 Time(s) 

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2009, 19:30    Post_subject:  

Thanks James C,

Yes the Pet Package Manager is still a problem with deb packages, on my testing version of 476e i've got apt and synaptic running and that fixes the debs very nicely...still have to fix the baseline installed files in the apt cache before i'll release 476e...hopefully not far away.

The side benefit of apt is that you can install the gnome desktop without a problem...too big yet for std release though...but i'm working on it.

Thank you for the feedback it helps immensely... Very Happy

Cheers

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2009, 20:06    Post_subject:  

Funny Gposil I've always figured of taking dpup and building more like a regular version of puppy, Build a repo for the package manager and get rid of the debian packages from package manager, sure its nice to have, but it does add a lot of extra weight to packages and increases the overall size of most packages, even after you strip the locales,docs,man,compiling extras etc. Large linux distros use a full range of libs linked with tons of deps. Probably the better way is recompiling a lot of the default libs and removing a lot of the extra deps. would shrink the oversize distro by a lot. hhmmm probably a good start would be compared usr/lib in dpup to usr/lib 4.0 and notice the extra system libs. Then makes a list of them and ldd each and every lib in dpup for the extra libs, once found recompile those. Man that could be a big task, lol as long as gcc isn't effected, it shouldn't be that big. recompiling gcc is a pain.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2009, 20:18    Post_subject:  

Hi ttuuxxx,

Once dpup is stable enough with the kernel right, I was going to set about doing most of what you said....bring it back down to real Puppy size. I kind of like the idea of keeping the debian repos though, simply for the vast range of software available....my idea, was to have some sort of hybrid Puppy Package Manager with apt built onto it...just a thought...

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2009, 21:06    Post_subject:  

". I kind of like the idea of keeping the debian repos though, simply for the vast range of software available" I vote for this too !!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 52 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0979s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]