Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 05:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Pstreamvid v 1.3 - Streaming Video Controller
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 05:51    Post_subject:  

1. " The warning in boxpup like previous? The "&" problem in menu entry again?"
Erm, I think it appeared yet again, and I fixed it again.
I've done this so many times now it has become routine to fix, and I cannot remember exactly when.

2. See my edits in brown to my previous post.
I guess I'll just wait and see how things progress with time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1886
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 05:59    Post_subject:  

Sylvander,

Again, I really don't think it's a problem with pstreamvid, it's ok when using gxine, it's a problem with mplayer i guess, I experienced it too.

Thanks

_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1886
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 05:59    Post_subject:  

Sylvander,

Again, I really don't think it's a problem with pstreamvid, it's ok when using gxine, it's a problem with mplayer i guess, I experienced it too.

Thanks

_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 06:34    Post_subject:  

1. I uninstalled MU's Mplayer and reinstalled the 4 Mplayer packages included in the BoxPup->Puppy Package Manager, then rebooted.

2. The warning of the missing DLL was no longer displayed, but the display windows were once again off the top-left of screen, and at close of Pstreamvid CPU usage jumps to 100% and freezes BoxPup.

3. After I used "Ctrl+Alt+backspace", and interesting warning was displayed above the command prompt [from the previous drop to the command prompt?], as follows:
cat: /usr/local/bin/defaultmediaplayer: No such file or directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1886
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 06:48    Post_subject:  

Sylvander,

You should address those problems to MU and I don't know who's responsible for the one in official repo

Anyway, I play around with mplayer, after a few changing channels, it ate the RAM almost until zero! .. So the computer froze, I wait a while, then the RAM started to lower .. until the computer is operational again

_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 09:59    Post_subject:  

1. Fixed the problem in red in my last post by copying a handy binary file from...
/usr/local/bin
Into a different handy folder [/00].
Renaming the file to:
defaultmediaplayer
Deleting the existing code content.
And inserting the new code [from MU in another thread about Pcd, which normally uses gxine] as follows:
#!/bin/bash
exec gxine "$@"

Then changing the code to:
#!/bin/bash
exec mplayer "$@"

And copying that back to:
/usr/local/bin

2. the only problem remaining is the video window being off-screen to the top left.
Anyone know how to fix that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 11:50    Post_subject:  

Trio;

I noticed the ram use did go up to 300/503 on a few channels;
it's usually around 60/503. Cpu use remains very low.

When it gives a warning about 'missing codec'; IGNORE it.
A little patience goes a long way.

For certain channels it may be necessary to have mms:streams
enabled in seamonkey or firefox. I don't know about opera.

Here is how I enable mms. Where it says Kaffeine, substitute
the word gxine, mplayer, gmplayer......whatever the default name
of your player is.

1.) Open Firefox, type "about:config" (no quotes) in the address window, and click enter.
(2.) Right click on the window and choose <New>, then <String> from the pop-up menu that appears.
(3.) In the first pop-up box, enter: "network.protocol-handler.app.mms" (no quotes)
(4.) In the next pop-up box enter the path to Kaffeine (e.g. "/usr/bin/kaffeine").
(5.) Now, click in the main window again but choose <New> <Boolean>
(6.) In the first pop-up box, enter: "network.protocol-handler.external.mms"
(7.) In the second pop-up select <True>.

If a channel isn't removed when you click to remove it , go to
usr>local>pstreamvid>channels and delete the channel.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 12:21    Post_subject:  

Is it possible to get http streams, and how would I do it?
_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 13:56    Post_subject:  

About ram:

Every time the channel is changed, the ram use accumulates.
Seems to eventually reach a point where it falls back down.
Closing and restarting pstreamvid.....starts with low ram again.
Would be nice if ram refreshed with each channel change;
if this is possible.
Some streams are poor quality or very slow to load; gives the
appearance of having froze. I just kill them and go on.
Big Pond sports from Australia is quite jerky.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1886
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 04 Aug 2009, 02:26    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer,

1. I have no idea how to extract streams from http://

2. I will look around for a solution for RAM problem in mplayer ... such as flushing the ram maybe, ..will ask my friend "google"

_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1886
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 04 Aug 2009, 02:39    Post_subject:  

I think I got it:

/usr/local/pstreamvid/functions (line 24)
Code:
-off)
   killall $KILLPLAYER
   echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
   ;;


Please test, it should fluch RAM on every click of "OFF" button Laughing

updated to version 1.2-1 - see main post

_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1886
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 04 Aug 2009, 03:30    Post_subject:  

Updated to v 1.2-2:

- change channel without clicking "off" (not opening another window)
- quit button also turns off video

Laughing I enjoy in perfecting this, so comments are welcome...keep it coming

_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 04 Aug 2009, 03:47    Post_subject:  

Still the same problem with ram; both ram and cpu rise to
maximum even after pstream is shut down.

The off button never seemed to do anything.

Don't think it's my mplayer....this doesn't happen at all
in pup-tv.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1886
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 04 Aug 2009, 03:55    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
Still the same problem with ram; both ram and cpu rise to
maximum even after pstream is shut down.

The off button never seemed to do anything.

Don't think it's my mplayer....this doesn't happen at all
in pup-tv.


well, it significantly drops my RAM on every click, ... did you uninstall first? You are using 430 pre beta? Funny thing is, I installed a pet to replace another pet in 430 pre beta, but the old pet persist to be there (not replaced)

What pupTV use to send command to mplayer is the SAME as pstreamvid ..

_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 04 Aug 2009, 04:06    Post_subject:  

I uninstalled the previous Pstreamvid version, and rebooted.
Then installed the latest Pstreamvid version and rebooted.

Now:
The latest version 1.2-2 is behaving the same as the previous version I was using in the following respect:
When I quit the program [with no Mplayer video windows running], CPU usage jumps to very high % usage [almost 100%], and RAM usage also goes to almost 100%.

I'm forced to use "Ctrl+Alt+backspace", then xwin command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0803s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]