Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 14:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
CPU FREQUENCY SCALING 1.3-2 - Ondemand (dynamic) - GUI
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 20:04    Post_subject:  

Steve,

Menu - utility - cpu scaling - choose a module - click activate (until you get a success message pop up) - read the success message - see lowest and highest frequencies values - put the lowest in min box, you may want to put the highest or second highest in max box, click activate - a success message will pop up. You're done.

If you want to monitor cpu temperature - search for pwidgets or conky in the forum

Thanks, btw you have dual core?

Aragon,

This is exactly what I meant about newbies, I just want to help them out. They are eager to try things out, but not yet too expert in comand line.

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 03:05    Post_subject:  

Now I can confirm (since nobody is reporting) that on DUAL CORE also works Laughing
dual-core.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.59 KB
 Viewed   2046 Time(s)

dual-core.jpg


_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8218

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 05:54    Post_subject:  

Is there a way of checking what speed the cpu is running at or perhaps its current scaling factor.....cat /proc/blah sort of thing?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 06:06    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Is there a way of checking what speed the cpu is running at or perhaps its current scaling factor.....cat /proc/blah sort of thing?

mike


ok, try

Code:
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_cur_freq

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8218

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 06:27    Post_subject:  

Thanks...nothing there but found governor as 'ladder' and driver as 'acpi_idle'.
Its a HP2133 VIA C7-M cpu and althogh I cannot see any related module I suspect that it already has some form of cpu scaling...or is something like 'ondemand' needed to activate it?

regards
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 06:32    Post_subject:  

Mikeb,

I think it's not activated. Did you try the app? I don't think so.

Anyway, my old ibm 570e doesn't have a module that's compatible with it, BUT, after scrolling through BIOS, I found that it can be set from BIOS. Some computers maybe like that.

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8218

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 07:08    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I think it's not activated. Did you try the app? I don't think so.

sussed Very Happy well I was trying to determine if I needed it and if I could monitor behaviour if I did

Well I will take the plunge Smile

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 16:24    Post_subject:  

Hmmm .....

mikeb wrote:
.....
Its a HP2133 VIA C7-M cpu .....


I believe this note here may be of some help. The required module is available on retro and std kernel.

Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8218

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 16:37    Post_subject:  

Sorry for not replying earlier..I re-read the manual approach thread and pennies dropped...e_powersaver and ondemand loaded and all works as it should Smile ..guess i like to get dirty hands.

Are those processors really running at 844mV ?!!

I also have the fan set at 40% min in the bios as it tends to be a bit of a hot potato which is quiet but reduces the need for 100% fan speed.

Cheers all

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2009, 07:37    Post_subject:  

Just Installed your Programm in the new 4.3 Release.

The installation proccess was bugfree.
The Programm seem also to work good but i miss the needed Modules
in the new Release for CPU Scalling.

The Possibility to download and install the needed CPU Scalling Modules for the Kernel over the Internet would make this Programm Perfect !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2009, 14:27    Post_subject:  

ARAN wrote:
The Possibility to download and install the needed CPU Scalling Modules for the Kernel over the Internet would make this Programm Perfect !

?????
everything needed is there by default, what do you want to install? what you need to do is find out, which cpu-driver you need.

this thread might be of help http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=28443
aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 04:03    Post_subject:  

@ ARAN Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed
all i can do is apologize!

i've by mistake loaded 4.3 Beta 3 and they are all there. now that i look at 4.3-small in quemu, what should i say, can't find the modules any more, you're right.

maybe someone else should look at this, but seems to be a big bug.

so, again sorry.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 05:20    Post_subject:  

now i'm a little wiser.

this is a problem for pup-430-small.iso. the regular one pup-430.iso does contain the modules in the zp430305.sfs. i don't know if it's a bug or by design but i will post it in the bugs-section.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 08:06    Post_subject:  

Hmm, incomplete modules in 430 small version....
_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 11:16    Post_subject:  

aragon wrote:
now i'm a little wiser.

this is a problem for pup-430-small.iso. the regular one pup-430.iso does contain the modules in the zp430305.sfs. i don't know if it's a bug or by design but i will post it in the bugs-section.

aragon


Hello aragon.

It would be great if somebody could try to boot the official ISO full in to ram and proove if the modules were loaded and copied.

If i remeber right even in the official ISO from ibiblio the modules arent loaded and copied. at least the directory "/lib/modules/..." was empty.

Still thanks a lot for your answer.
It helped me a lot as it prooved that i in my puppy the modules were missed.

Ther is also a bug for some reason in the gui cpu freq scalling tool.

I have only performance at the moment working.
Other people too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 1.5649s ][ Queries: 12 (1.4975s) ][ GZIP on ]