Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 02 Aug 2014, 02:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Puppy 4.2.1 Dell Latitude Cpi D266XT Crystal 4237B Soundcard
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 10:46    Post subject:  

Hi Brian /tempestuous

Bit of a long shot, as I know these old ISA cards can be problematic

Is it possible/advisable to try freeOSS & this patch/instructions? [from the wayback machine]

http://web.archive.org/web/20010124155400/http://www.acqualan.com.br/misc/cs4237b.html

Reportedly gives full duplex 16bit sound

Also has tips for reconfiguring the kernel....

There's a choice of rpm, deb or tar [or source] for OSS free

http://www.4front-tech.com/download.cgi

HTH

Alternately get a pcmcia/usb2 adapter & sound dongle

http://en.community.dell.com/forums/t/19183180.aspx

http://www.sunspot.co.uk/Projects/SWEEX/slug/Sound/sound.html

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DavidEllis2

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 16:21    Post subject: Dell Latitude C510 also
Subject description: Dell Latitude C510 also seems to have this problem
 

If you do resolve this problem please post the answer. I am trying to set up a Dell Latitude C510 laptop for a friend and find that it's sound card/chipset is also not being recognized. As I do not have any documentation on this I'm not even sure what chipset it's using. [It would be helpful if any solution is explained fairly basically. I haven't used UNIX in over twenty years and its feeling very unfamiliar.]

David E.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 23:37    Post subject:  

DavidEllis2

Yours is different, you have Crystal CS4205

From a linux site, I have

"The Crystal CS4205 soundchip will work as an Intel 810-compatible AC97 soundcontroller, the ALSA-module for it is called snd-intel8x0. There are no noticeable differences between the drivers, they both work fine."

should be loaded automatically, or easily loaded manually from the list

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 03:29    Post subject:  

I just did some more Googling about your Cpi D266XT, and it seems that the "port" and "cport" values may be important.
Also from your earlier PnP diagnostic results, it appears the correct "cport" value should be 0x220, not 0x210.
So let's consolidate this information as a single command -
Code:
modprobe snd-cs4236 port=0×530 cport=0×220 isapnp=0 irq=5 dma1=1 dma2=0


and in desperation, you might still consider two-stage commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 03:35    Post subject:  

The ALSA setup commands discussed here relate to quirks of old ISA-based audio devices, and will have little, if any, relevance for DavidEllis2's PCI-based HDA audio device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brianh

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 05:19    Post subject: cport 0x210 Invalid  

Got an email directing me to
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=330620#330620
so I tried cport=0x220 not 0x210. It (cport=0x220) was rejected as invalid in dmesg.
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 05:33    Post subject:  

OK, then try the above command with "cport=0x210".
Code:
modprobe snd-cs4236 port=0×530 cport=0×210 isapnp=0 irq=5 dma1=1 dma2=0

Also try without the dma2 value -
Code:
modprobe snd-cs4236 port=0×530 cport=0×210 isapnp=0 irq=5 dma1=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brianh

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 08:59    Post subject: modprobe ... isapnp=0  

Both modprobes gave the dmesg:
ALSA /usr/src/3rd-party-drivers/sound/alsa-driver-1.0.16/isa/cs423x/../../alsa-kernel/isa/cs423x/cs4236_lib.c:280: please, specify control port for CS4236+ chips.
What does isapnp=0 do?
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brianh

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 09:27    Post subject: DMA2 Disabled?  

using
modprobe snd-cs4236 port=0x530 cport=0x210 isapnp=0 irq=5 dma1=1 dma2=0 mpu_port=0x330 mpu_irq=9
this is the output from alasconf -R; any idea why it shows DMA2 allocated at the end but disabled for 00:0f?
Brian
>>>>> PnP file: /sys/bus/pnp/devices/00:0f/resources
state = active
io 0x530-0x537
io 0x388-0x38b
io 0x220-0x22f
irq 5
dma 0
dma disabled
>>>>> PnP file: /sys/bus/pnp/devices/00:10/resources
state = active
io 0x210-0x217
>>>>> PnP file: /sys/bus/pnp/devices/00:11/resources
state = active
io 0x3f2-0x3f5
io 0x3f7-0x3f7
irq 6
dma 2
>>>>> Allocated dma channels:
0: CS4231 - 2
1: CS4231 - 1
2: floppy
4: cascade
>>>>> Allocated interrupt channels:
CPU0
0: 30755 XT-PIC-XT timer
1: 26 XT-PIC-XT i8042
2: 0 XT-PIC-XT cascade
3: 12 XT-PIC-XT axnet_cs
5: 0 XT-PIC-XT CS4231
6: 3 XT-PIC-XT floppy
8: 1 XT-PIC-XT rtc
9: 3 XT-PIC-XT MPU401 UART
11: 0 XT-PIC-XT yenta, yenta, uhci_hcd:usb1
12: 1323 XT-PIC-XT i8042
14: 1686 XT-PIC-XT ide0
NMI: 0
ERR: 0
Valid DMA channels: 3 5 6 7
Valid IRQ channels: 4 7 10 15
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DavidEllis2

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 19:56    Post subject:
Subject description: Still out of my depth, but not drowning yet....
 

Aitch:

Thanks for the response. At least I now know what I'm supposed to be looking for. Unfortunately I can't seem to find anything like it in ALSA. Could you provide a few more clues? (Its been twenty years since I last used UNIX and it was always a 2nd system even then.)

I'm pulling up the ALSA Sound Wizard in a full install of Puppy 4.2.1. All that seems to do is fail to detect the sound card and offer to search for legacy ISA. The list of legacy ISA does not include anything like a CS4205 or an Intel 8x0. (It fails to locate anything that will work.) I conclude that I need to download a driver for Intel 8x0 and put it somewhere so that the ALSA Sound Wizard can find and install it. Any step by step clues would be a huge help. (My real background used to be Digital VMS, briefly converted to UNIX before being polluted by MS. Hence I'm not that great at UNIX slang.)

-----

After starting this reply I find that my puppy has two files already on it. One is snd-intel8x0.ko in directory /lib/modules/2.6.25.16/kernelsound/pci/ and the other is snd-intel8x0m.ko in that same directory. Hence I conclude that I probably already have the driver that I need. I just do not know how to install it or make it active. Its just not showing up in the ALSA wizard.

I'm think some sort of manual setup is required. I did already find modprobe.conf with the following entries - I'm just not sure what (if anything) to change...

# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF version 1.0.16 ---
alias snd-card-0 snd-sb16
alias sound-slot-0 snd-sb16
options snd-sb16 isapnp=0
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---

Thanks in anticipation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 22:13    Post subject:  

brianh, you're close.
First, I would seriously consider upgrading your bios.
Go to http://support.dell.com/
then click on the "Download drivers,BIOS, and firmware updates" link at the bottom of the page,
Then "Choose a Model", "Laptops", "Latitude", "CPi"
and amongst the downloads listed you will find the latest "A12" bios, plus instructions.

Second, I think it's time to try other Puppy versions ... especially those with matched ALSA drivers and libraries.
I have commented on this issue before: it's sometimes critical to have matched drivers and libraries.
Puppy 4.2.x is a community effort, and I'm highly suspicious about what they have done with ALSA libraries. I strongly suggest you go back to the latest official Puppy 4.1 release -
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-4.1.2-k2.6.25.16-seamonkey.iso
This version of Puppy has matched ALSA v1.0.16rc2 drivers/libraries.

If still no success, go back to Puppy214R, which is still available here
http://214r.minipc.org/pup214R-1.01.iso
This has matched ALSA v1.0.12rc1 drivers/libraries.
The current Puppy214X development series is based on Puppy 214R, but be careful; again I'm suspicious about the technical sins which may have been committed ALSA-wise with the 214X series. So use the original.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 22:15    Post subject:  

DavidEllis2,
I reiterate that your problem is unrelated to the problem of the original poster, and the subject of this thread.
If you do the courteous thing and start a new post I will offer a solution there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brianh

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 10:27    Post subject: Success!!  

puppy-4.1.2-k2.6.25.16-seamonkey.iso did the trick with the following settings:
modprobe snd-cs4236 port=0x530 cport=0x210 isapnp=0 irq=5 dma1=0 dma2=3 mpu_port=0x330 mpu_irq=9
also needed to turn the Master and PCM alsaconf controls right up to the top of the red. I was surprised the sound goes to nothing when they're set much lower than max - I suppose it's just possible one of the dozens of earlier combinations also worked but I didn't hear.
I'd already upgraded the BIOS to A12 before I read your post but it seemed to make no difference. By the way it initially wouldn't upgrade the BIOS because the machine has no battery - some Google research suggested adding the parameter /forceit which worked.
Thanks very much for your help.
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brianh

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 13:44    Post subject: A couple more points  

By the way alasconf -R still shows DMA2 allocated at the end but disabled for 00:0f. A red herring then...
Only slight irritant with this distro is it doesn't rememebr the network setup - have to go through the conf every time I boot.
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brianh

Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Wed 12 Aug 2009, 06:19    Post subject: ...and a few more points  

For info, I don't now have any extra boot parameters such as pci=biosirq or acpi=off in menu.list to turn off pnp etc, or any blacklist statements in modprobe.conf to exclude cs4232.
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0843s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]