Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 21:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
no /dev/mixer or vol control with opl3sa2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 358

PostPosted: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 10:03    Post subject:  no /dev/mixer or vol control with opl3sa2
Subject description: Micron desktop onboard sound not mixing
 

300MHz Micron desktop with onboard opl3sa2 sound correctly identified, puppy barks after setting up ALSA sound, but mixer does not work (cannot find /dev/mixer) and there is no vol control in tray.
Plays sound correctly otherwise. Used with unpowered speakers, still loud enough to hear in a quiet room. Hardware works fine with Win2K.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yakob2009

Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 25 Aug 2009, 22:27    Post subject:  

I have the EXACT same issue with my Toshiba laptop and it's internal opl3sa2.
Everytime i boot i have to setup ALSA and then it works but it always forgets on reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 03:44    Post subject:  

It may be a problem with Puppy's newish hardware detection.

- Before setting up your sound card, open a terminal and run lsmod to see what modules are loaded.
- Set up the sound card, then run lsmod again, and see what new modules have been loaded.
- Click "Menu->Setup->Wizard Wizard->Configure startup of Puppy->Click here to add a new module"
- Add the modules to the list.

If you have two sound cards it may be detecting and automatically setting up the other one, in which case you may have to use one of the other buttons to give the preferred one priority, or even blacklist the modules for the other one.
Also, maybe Puppy is detecting your card wrong, and loading the wrong module... I'm not really an expert on any of this stuff Sad

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0368s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]