Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 05:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Has anyone dual booted Puppy + Ubuntu with GRUB2?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Aug 2009, 17:34    Post_subject:  Has anyone dual booted Puppy + Ubuntu with GRUB2?
Sub_title: Please share your experience.
 

Ubuntu karmic by default loads Grub 2, While the main grub bootloader file continues to reside in the /boot/grub folder, it is no longer Grub's familiar menu.lst. The main Grub 2 instruction file is now grub.cfg. This file is produced by various scripts run when either the "update-grub" or "update-grub2" command is executed. The files primarily responsible for the content of grub.cfg are /etc/default/grub and individual script files located in /etc/boot.d/grub

Custom entries can be added to the 40_custom file or placed in a new file. Any file created must be executable in order to be included in the grub.cfg file during the "update-grub2" command.

I have added the following code to the 40_custom file and made sure that it is executable. However, I get an error about improper syntax and that linux has to be loaded first. I followed the example found at https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Grub2
Code:
menuentry “Woof upup 476 (on /dev/sda2)”{
   set root=(hd0,2)
   linux /Woof/vmlinuz pfix=fsck pmedia=idehd psubdir=Woof
   initrd /Woof/initrd.gz
        }
        EOF


Any ideas about changing this code so that puppy is recognized.

Thanks,
Jim

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 20:40    Post_subject:  

Try
Quote:

set root=(hd0,2)
menuentry “Woof upup 476 (on /dev/sda2)”{
linux (hd0,2)/Woof/vmlinuz pfix=fsck pmedia=idehd psubdir=Woof
initrd (hd0,2)/Woof/initrd.gz
}


By the way: sda2 is (hd0,2) or (hd0,1)?

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 20:53    Post_subject:  

Linux sda2 is Grubs hd0,1

Puppy partition needs to be made with Puppies gparted,
not Ubuntus.

Edit;

This post was not relevant to Grub 2.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 20:58    Post_subject:  

So...

Quote:
set root=(hd0,1)
menuentry “Woof upup 476 (on /dev/sda2)”{
linux (hd0,1)/Woof/vmlinuz pfix=fsck pmedia=idehd psubdir=Woof
initrd (hd0,1)/Woof/initrd.gz
}

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 23:15    Post_subject:  

T_Hobbit wrote:
By the way: sda2 is (hd0,2) or (hd0,1)?

Sorry, that doesn't help, sda2 is properly identified as (hd0,2). Partition naming conventions was one of the Grub2 changes that makes sense.
NOTE: The new partition naming convention. Devices start counting from 0 as done previously. sda is designated as "hd0", sdb is "hd1", etc. However the first partition is now designated as sda1. Counting partitions does not start with "0". The fifth partition on sda is sda5).

A big problem is with their modular scripts which generate a lot of duplicate entries in the grub.cfg file when update-grub2 is run.

However, I may have solved the problem, where "psubdir=Woof" is indicated, it probably should be "subdir=Woof" according to the samples they provide. Their documentation could be better but this could be the syntax error. Unfortunately, I'll have to reload Grub2 to check it out. I didn't want to do without my frugal puppy installations and reinstalled Grub1 since I couldn't get Grub2 to recognize the frugal installations.

Incidentally, my pups are located on ext3 partitions created by the puppy Gparted.

Thanks,
Jim

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 29 Aug 2009, 14:27    Post_subject:  

This worked for me, with a little correction:
Code:
menuentry “Boxpup”{
set root=(hd0,1)
linux16 (hd0,1)/puppy413boxpup/vmlinuz  ide=nodma pmedia=idehd quiet psubdir=puppy413boxpup nosmp
initrd16 (hd0,1)/puppy413boxpup/initrd.gz
}


By the way, I'm using grub2 from Zenwalk for booting Puppy+XP+Zenwalk.

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Aug 2009, 15:20    Post_subject:  

T_Hobbit,

Thanks, I'll experiment with it by first adding the "(hd0,2)" to the path, although "set root=(hd0,2)" should have been sufficient. Apparently using psubdir instead of subdir makes no difference. It may be several weeks before I can check it out though.
Code:
menuentry “Woof upup 476 (on /dev/sda2)”{
set root=(hd0,2)
linux (hd0,2)/Woof/vmlinuz pfix=fsck pmedia=idehd psubdir=Woof
initrd (hd0,2)/Woof/initrd.gz
}

I'm not familiar with Zenwalk, I'm experimenting with Ubuntu Karmic 9.10. I boot Vista, several ubuntus (32 & 64 bit) and numerous frugal pup installations as well as Woof variations. I've had no problems with older Grub1 using menu.lst.

Why do you have "16" on the linux and initrd entries? Another question, is Boxpup on your XP partition, if not, my understanding of the change in naming conventions must be wrong?

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 29 Aug 2009, 19:58    Post_subject:  

Yes, frugal install on my XP partition.
16? Don't know. Just use the some syntax Zenwalk (Slack based) used to boot.

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Oct 2009, 14:05    Post_subject:  

I've given up on Grub2 and gone back to Grub 1 for the present, everything I've tried with Ubuntu Karmic's Grub2 to boot Puppy has failed. Even T_Hobbit's code which he has used successfully with Zenwalk.

Karmic should be coming out this month and it defaults to Grub2, fortunately, there are ways to revert it back to Grub1. However, it would be much simpler, if Grub2 can be adapted to boot Puppy.

If anyone has success booting Puppy with Ubuntu Karmic's Grub2. Please post your solution here.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 13 Oct 2009, 17:06    Post_subject:  

Did you tried linux16 and initrd16?
My boxpup is at C:\boxpup. Boxpup see C: as sda1. (Partitions can be made from Puppy, Ubuntu, Zenwalk or whatever)

Assuming you are trying a frugal installation, what's your partition configuration?
For frugal install you don't need a special partition, you can use Ubuntu's one. Just add a directory with Puppy's files.
What's grub2 error?

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Oct 2009, 18:22    Post_subject:  

T_Hobbit,

Thanks for your help, but apparantly Ubuntu's implementation of Grub2 is different from Zenwalk. Grub2 errors varied depending on what I tried, don't remember specifics. It just refuses to recognize pup installations automatically and I haven't discover a manual code that will allow it to recognize pup either on a full hd or frugal installation.

Grub1 is working fine for me booting both frugal and full hd installations so I'm OK for now.

I boot between Vista, Ubuntu, and Numerous Pups using about 8 partitions with no problems. The majority of time is spent using various Puppy derivatives.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greenear

Joined: 25 Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Location: Germany, Bielefeld

PostPosted: Sun 25 Oct 2009, 12:02    Post_subject:  

@Jim1911

my bootpartition wrote:
greenear@greenear:~$ sudo tune2fs -l /dev/sda1 | grep Inode
Inode count: 77120
Inodes per group: 7712
Inode blocks per group: 241
Inode size: 128


My working Grub2 solution under Karmic Koala.
I installed Puppy from CD into my Windows XP Partition.

Code:
blkid
... to get the uuid of the Partition
Code:
sudo nano /etc/grub.d/41_puppy

Code:
#! /bin/sh -e

echo "Puppy Linux 431 frugal" >&2
 cat << EOF

menuentry "Puppy Linux 431 frugal" {
    saved_entry=\${chosen}
    save_env saved_entry
    set quiet=0
    insmod  ntfs
    set root=(hd0,2)
    search --fs-uuid --set 384CB7494CB70124
    linux /puppy431/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy431 nosmp
    initrd /puppy431/initrd.gz
}

EOF
... close it with ctrl+x
Code:
sudo chmod +x /etc/grub.d/41_puppy
... make it executable
Code:
sudo grub-mkconfig
Code:
sudo update-grub


I don't now what i have done exactly in the script, but it works fine for me. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Oct 2009, 23:26    Post_subject:  

greenear,

Thanks, I'll give this a try when I upgrade to Karmic Koala. There is definitely going to be a learning curve to move to Grub2>

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 22:17    Post_subject:  

Just spent an "interesting" 2 hours wrestling with Grub2 after I downloaded the final release of Ubuntu 9.10 today.

I prefer to use Ubuntu's grub to boot all my distros and previously used the /boot/grub/menu.lst in Ubuntu. I did the same this time installing Ubuntu's grub into the MBR.

It picked up Windows xp, Windows 7, Ubuntu 9.10 and Ubuntu 9.04, Fedora 11 and Debian 5.

It failed to recognise any of my 5 Puppy frugal installs or Tiny Core Linux. But there again grub 0.97 also failed in that way.

Eventually got it to boot the Puppies so in case others want to do this, here goes (some of this is a repeat of what's above).....

1. As mentioned don't do anything to the /boot/grub/grub.cfg file !!!

2. Copy the file
Quote:
/etc/grub.d/40_custom
somewhere.

3. rename it something like
Quote:
41_puppy431


4. after the 5 lines of existing text add whatever you need to boot puppy ...see below.

5. move the file back to /etc/grub.d/

6.
Code:
 sudo chmod +x /etc/grub.d/41_puppy
to make the file executable.

7.
Code:
 sudo grub-makeconfig

then
Code:
 sudo update-grub


Without this the /boot/grub/grub.cfg file doesn't get updated.

8. Now the grub boot code that seemed to work for me was

Code:

menuentry "Whatever you call puppy" {
set root=(hd1,5)
linux  /puppy431/vmlinuz  psubdir=puppy431
initrd  /puppy431/initrd.gz
}
EOF

Nice and simple. Obviously change depending on your installation. This was for Puppy431 residing as a frugal on sdb5 in a subdirectory called /puppy431. Note the numbering.

9. The way of describing a partition has changed!!!
I have my Puppies on sdb5 . This used to be described in grub as (hd1,4). Now it's (hd1,5). Sad

10. Note that adding
Quote:
insmod ext3
just after the menuentry line seemed to stop it booting.

Also adding a line
Quote:
search --fs-uuid --set ehdn78sh-3738-6dg8-bba3-ehd76sgs6sgs
to identify the UUID of the partition that puppy is on didn't seem to be necessary.

This worked for puppy 412, 421, 431.1 and 431.

I am still struggling to get puppy214X working. It does work using the psubdir method above but you're back to having to tell it which pup_save file to use.

Make similar files for other puppies and note that grub will list them in numerical order so, for example, 42_puppy412 will come before 43_puppy214.

HTH
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 15:24    Post_subject: Booting Puppy 412 using Ubuntu's GRUB2  

@davesurrey

Tried your solution(including the update_grub bit) but its keeps telling me that:

Code:
"error: You need to load the kernel first."


My /etc/grub.d/40_custom (I did not bother making a separate custom template like you) has:

Code:
menuentry "Puppy-412" {
set root=(hd1,0)
linux  /puppy412/vmlinuz  psubdir=puppy412
initrd  /puppy412/initrd.gz
}


In GRUB1 instead of the "linux" command it was of course "kernel" but tried this and it does not recognise this. Any other thoughts?

Rgds Mike

EeePC901 with Unbuntu Netbook Remix 9.10 on the first SSD and various frugal pups on the bigger second SSD

Woops! Just got it to work immediately after posting!. Changed "set root=(hd1,0)" as used in GRUB1 to "set root=(hd1,1)". So its as you said in your point 9 the numbering has changed!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1015s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]