Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 10:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Has anyone dual booted Puppy + Ubuntu with GRUB2?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jan 2011, 17:29    Post subject: Re: Puppy & Ubuntu
Subject description: with GRUB2
 

Varmint wrote:
in part:
Actually, if you go up to my previous posts, you'll see how I did this. Ubuntu recognized my puppy install, but I didn't care for the way in which it handles it. I booted back into my puppy live cd and used that to install GRUB2. Then, while still using the live cd I edited the menu.lst file to say what I wanted (from puppy). The difference between my install and yours is that, for reasons I can't fathom, you installed FRUGAL, whereas I always install FULL on any hard disk. I found it much easier to edit my menu.lst files from puppy than from other distros, including unix.
Your posts do not reflect a successful installation using GRUB2. Since GRUB2 does not have a menu.lst, I believe that you installed the legacy GRUB.097, or possibly Grub4Dos. I agree the legacy Grubs are easier to use than GRUB2 and are also much faster. You are correct that GRUB2 presently does recognize full installations, but not frugal installations.

For interested parties, there are a number of posts above that do reflect successful installations using GRUB2 along with hints on how to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jul 2011, 20:56    Post subject:  

Installed GRUB2 on USB-Flash (2Gi)
(USB-Flash is formated with ext3, set boot flag)
I'd wrote "grub.cfg" and put it in boot/grub (on USB-Flash)

Code:

set timeout=10
set default=0

menuentry "LUCI-526" {
 linux /lupu526rc/vmlinuz --
 initrd /lupu526rc/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "SQUE" {
 linux /sque/vmlinuz --
 initrd /sque/initrd.gz
}

These work! Is it simple (I did'nt to edit anything existed in installation of grub2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 03:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
You are correct that GRUB2 presently does recognize full installations, but not frugal installations.


Jim that can explain why I failed to see some of my frugal installs then.

I did not know that feature of grub2. So typical for "real" linux to discriminate against frugal installs. Smile

If any of you wonder what "SQUE" refers to it is a music server for special hardware so not a regular linux os on Linux DistroWatch

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9125
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 03:32    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Quote:
You are correct that GRUB2 presently does recognize full installations, but not frugal installations.

Jim that can explain why I failed to see some of my frugal installs then.

@nooby: You know that the above statement is false, Your GRUB2 flash drive setup uses frugal installs and it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 09:00    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 I guess there is some misunderstanding due to my poor command of English grammar or lack of logic consistence in my text.

I assert that either I went outside the constraints that Lance set up in that grub.cfg because very often it refused to show OS that I added while it did show others and them booted fine too.

So both me and you are right. I trust that you having more knowledge than me you did keep within the restraints while me being adventures something tried wild things that is not supposed to work and them did not show up at all. They are there in the grub.cfg but not in the one that boots so one never see them and can not chose them. So the program seems to do some check of compatibility or something and refuses to accept entries that not live up to the constraints set up.

So if it is very important we can try to sort it out. But I trust very few others than me have those needs to get so many distros going.

Most people just try out Ubuntu and varieties of ubuntu and Linux Mint and Peppermint and such and very few would test odd linux distros that them never even heard of.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0583s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]