Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 02 Aug 2014, 05:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Has anyone dual booted Puppy + Ubuntu with GRUB2?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:16    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,
Just seen your post so sorry I didn't get to respond before.

Anyway glad you got it working.

These "subtle" changes like the disk numbering not changing but the partition numbering changing, plus "set root" rather than "root" and "linux"rather than "kernel" are not at all difficult to do but why oh why did the developers make it just that little bit more troublesome.

Anyway I hope grub2 will eventually deliver all that it promises.

Cheers
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 22:24    Post subject:  

Hi Dave,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Grub2. Looking back over mine, the puppy code seems the same, although I put all my pups in one file in the same location that you used instead of separate files. Looking at the grub.cfg after running sudo update-grub showed my pup code, but grub kept giving errors.

Maybe they've made some changes from the alpha's that I was trying to use. Your success encourages me to try again. I do think that Grub2 is the wave of the future, especially with puppy which stays ahead of the major distributions in many ways.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 09:09    Post subject:  

Jim1911.

Jim, remember that I am a grub2 "expert" of only a few hours Smile but if you want to give your code that's in your /etc/grub.d/41_puppy file (or whatever it's called) and the relevant bit of grub.cfg I'll be happy to compare with mine. Might be worth a try?

My grub2 came with the final version of Ubuntu 9.10 released Thursday. Where did yours come from?

Also not too sure I understand this?
Quote:
although I put all my pups in one file in the same location that you used instead of separate files
My Puppys are all in the same partition but each one in a separate directory including the pup_save files. You might want to try that configuration if all else fails.

Cheers
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8041

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 10:03    Post subject:  

So what exactly does grub 2 deliver to justify the changes with respect to puppy?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 10:50    Post subject:  

davesurrey wrote:
Jim1911.
My grub2 came with the final version of Ubuntu 9.10 released Thursday. Where did yours come from?
Also not too sure I understand this?
Quote:
although I put all my pups in one file in the same location that you used instead of separate files
My Puppys are all in the same partition but each one in a separate directory including the pup_save files.


I was using one of the alpha versions of Ubuntu 9.10 back in August.

The code (sample below) I used in the 40_puppy file is very similar to yours except I included about 6 pups each in their own psubdir and some were on different partitions. I used the same directory location and commands that you used to make the file executable and update the grub. However, kept getting errors. Hopefully the final release of Grub2 has improved. For now, I am sticking with ubuntu 9.04 for awhile longer. Also boot Kubuntu 9.10 and Windows Vista using Grub 0.97. Of course Grub2 recognized those fine.

Code:
menuentry “Woof upup 476 (on /dev/sda2)”{
set root=(hd0,2)
linux /Woof/vmlinuz pfix=fsck pmedia=idehd psubdir=Woof
initrd /Woof/initrd.gz
}

menuentry “Pup 421 (on /dev/sdb6)”{
set root=(hd1,6)
linux /Pup421/vmlinuz pfix=fsck pmedia=idehd psubdir=Pup421
initrd /Pup421/initrd.gz
}
 
EOF


Your success makes me want to try Grub2 again.

@Mike Just future compatibility with other distributions. See https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Grub2 for additional information.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8041

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 12:33    Post subject:  

Quote:
@Mike Just future compatibility with other distributions. See https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Grub2 for additional information.


ah ok....I use grub4dos whose latest version has such support it seems...just wanted to get picture of the changes thanks

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 13:26    Post subject:  

Jim1911,

My /etc/grub.d/41_puppy file is
Code:
#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
menuentry "Puppy 431 frugal on sdb5" {
set root=(hd1,5)
linux   /puppy431/vmlinuz  root=/dev/ram0 psubdir=puppy431
initrd  /puppy431/initrd.gz
}
EOF


Note the #! bin/sh and the exec tail lines at the start. Does yours have this?

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 13:36    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
So what exactly does grub 2 deliver to justify the changes with respect to puppy?

mike


Mike, I think I am right in saying one needs Grub 2 for ext4 support, which is absent in Grub 1

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8041

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 13:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
Mike, I think I am right in saying one needs Grub 2 for ext4 support, which is absent in Grub 1

sounds right plus 256 indode support...grub4dos covers these but keeping the same menu.lst format....perhaps it will change in time to match grub2 who knows

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 14:04    Post subject:  

@DaveS Mike, I think I am right in saying one needs Grub 2 for ext4 support, which is absent in Grub 1

I am using Grub 1 and it supports a number of ext4 partitions without any problems.

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 15:31    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote
Quote:
Mike, I think I am right in saying one needs Grub 2 for ext4 support, which is absent in Grub 1


Jim1911 wrote
Quote:
I am using Grub 1 and it supports a number of ext4 partitions without any problems.


AIUI both are sort of correct. As mikeb has said before what is now becoming know as Grub-1 or Grub legacy hasn't been officially supported for a while. Until recently grub (versions 0.9X) didn't support ext4 (and most puppies use this version of grub.) But there have been (unofficial?) patches to grub to allow use of ext4. I understand Puppy 431 uses this.

I have been more than happy using Grub Legacy, until this week, for multi-booting but if I have to jump to another system I think it's a good time to do it now using Ubuntu 9.10

Apart from official support for ext4, and of course the fact that it's being actively developed, it does seem to be better at detecting other distros and for those who want it (not me) it will allow nice and pretty boot-splash screens.

But just as with Grub legacy, it didn't recognise any puppy nor TinyCore Linux.

I'd have a look at Grub4dos but I'm unsure of one thing. Can I use it on a pc that doesn't have any trace of MS ie no Dos or Windows installed at all? mikeb perhaps you could kindly confirm? But there again I might only be holding off grub-2 for a while as perhaps grub4dos will be "embracing" the grub2 way soon?

Cheers
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8041

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 17:12    Post subject:  

Quote:
I'd have a look at Grub4dos but I'm unsure of one thing. Can I use it on a pc that doesn't have any trace of MS ie no Dos or Windows installed at all? mikeb perhaps you could kindly confirm? But there again I might only be holding off grub-2 for a while as perhaps grub4dos will be "embracing" the grub2 way soon?


in the grub4dos package there is bootlace.com

bootlace.com /dev/sda (it can be run from dos too!)

will write to the mbr so that grldr is booted so basically running just like normal grub (but on more file system types)..this is how I use it now and use chainloader for windows (bootsector is unaffected or chainload ntldr directly)

so ...bootlace, grldr to (any) partition root, make yer menu.lst...done

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2607
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 21:00    Post subject: grub4dos and ext4  

mikeb wrote:
so ...bootlace, grldr to (any) partition root, make yer menu.lst...done

my experience, grldr to an ext4 partition fails.
if the grldr on any other (ntfs/vfat/ext2/etx3) partiton, it can boot up Linux or Windows from any partion including ext4.

Last edited by shinobar on Sun 01 Nov 2009, 09:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8041

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 21:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
my experience, grldr to an ext4 partition fails.
if the grldr on any other (ntfs/vfat/etx3/ext3) partiton, it can boot up Linux or Windows from any partion including ext4.

thanks for the tip...I expect that will get incorporated soon. It's main target is multiboot with windows arrangements so to be expected.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2607
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 02 Nov 2009, 04:05    Post subject: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.4
Subject description: can boot from ext4
 

get and try grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.3.pet or grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.4.pet(2Nov updated) from here.
install on Puppy 4.3x.

it supports ntfs/vfat/ext2/ext3 and even ext4.
if you like to dual boot Puppy + Ubuntu 9.10, follow the next step.
  1. install ubuntu (can be ext4 file system).
  2. boot up Puppy 4.3x from live CD.
  3. install grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.3.pet.
  4. create a folder at the top layer of any partition, say '/mnt/sda1/puppy'.
  5. copy all contents of the live CD to the new folder.
  6. Menu > System > Grub4DosConfig
  7. Replay 'OK' to all dialog.
  8. Eject CD and reboot computor.

multiboot with Windows (9x/2000/XP/Vista/2008/7) also quite easy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0911s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]