Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 12:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Strange Puppy 1.0.2 boot behavior
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Fri 03 Jun 2005, 23:54    Post_subject:  Strange Puppy 1.0.2 boot behavior  

Hi,

Ah, I have a slightly different puppy boot method, I use the grub boot loader that came with my Mandrake load at boot vmlinuz and image.gz (Puppy 1.0.2) from an ext partition, and then load a pup001 (512Mb) from a Fat32 partition, and my usr_cram.fs is inside the pup001 file.

This normally works quite nicely, but just 20mins ago I booted my machine, and inside the CD drive was a 'multisession open' cdrom disk, and I think this broke my setup somehow, as puppy booted to command line screen saying it could not start X in red text.

The only partition I had mounted at that time was the root directory, tmpfs and rootfs, also unionfs was mounted at /usr.

Luckilly for me I know how to manually mount all the partitions, along with unionfs for my setup, but when I started X, my usb mouse was not working, so deleted /etc/mousedevice, and started xwin, then Mozilla would not start as it did not have its home directory in the path to look for its .so files.

Does anyone know or strongly suspect what happened to my Puppy?

How can I put it back to working by itself for booting?

Any advice appreciated Smile

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11081
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 03 Jun 2005, 23:59    Post_subject:  

I'm pretty sure that setup voided your warranty. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11109
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 00:39    Post_subject:  

About the same thing happens to me if I have a music cd in the drive.

My workaround is make sure I don't have a music cd inserted when I boot.

System Info.

Puppy v1.0.2
Type 1 installation on FAT32
Grub boot manager
384 MB RAM
Linux swap file
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 08:08    Post_subject:  

Hi,

I've been poking around in the boot scripts and I've got a patch, one that Bruce B might be interested in:

find the image.gz file that your boot loader loads into memory, and change the rc.sysinit script file, for me that was:

cd /mnt/hda2/boot/puppy102m/
gunzip image.gz
mkdir mnt
mount ./image ./mnt -o loop
leafpad mnt/root0/.etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

modify like this from line number 136 (leafpad has line numbers from Options menu):
--------------8<--------------8<--------------8<--------------8<
for ONECD in $TALLYCD
do
ONECD="/dev/$ONECD" #see dmesg note above
GETDISKINFO="`disktype $ONECD 2>&1`"
#having trouble testing for multisession cd here, but can test if more than one track...
if [ ! "`echo "$GETDISKINFO" | grep "Track 1: Data"`" = "" ];then

DORCSYSINITCD="FALSE"
mkdir /mnt/ms_cd_test
if [ "`mount /dev/$ONECD /mnt/ms_cd_test -t iso9660`" = ""];then
if [ -e /mnt/ms_cd_test/usr_cram.fs ];then
DORCSYSINITCD="TRUE"
fi
fi
umount /mnt/ms_cd_test
rmdir /mnt/ms_cd_test

if [ $DORCSYSINITCD = "TRUE" ];then
#well this would be the one we are booting off hence is the burner.
echo -n "$ONECD" | cut -f 3 -d '/' > /etc/cdburnerdevice #in /root0/.etc
cp -f /etc/rc.d/rc.reboot-cd /tmp/rc.reboot
sync
exec /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit-cd
fi
fi
done

fi
fi
--------------8<--------------8<--------------8<--------------8<

Then save the file.
Don't forget to zip things up properly!

umount mnt
rmdir mnt
gzip image

Ok, time to reboot (cross fingers) Smile
So now only when a Data CD that contains usr_cram.fs file, will we assume that we were booting off CD.

This is unofficial patch to the 1.0.2 Official mozilla Puppy Linux.
It works on my computer.

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11109
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun 2005, 14:35    Post_subject:  

Jesse, that was a very impressive fix. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun 2005, 21:01    Post_subject:  

See announcement about this on News page.
I coded the solution slightly differently, same end result!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0621s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0144s) ][ GZIP on ]