Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 07:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
!!!!!FIXED!!!No audio from Dell Latitude CPI using Puppy 4.2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 08 Sep 2009, 07:17    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I downloaded the files and rebooted. Not sure what to do now. don't really notice any difference. still no sound. should I run the utility again?


Sit Heel Speak wrote:
cegil wrote:
...but I don't know what to do or which/what to run

Here's what works for me:

Download all three of the dot-pets provided above, then install them in the order shown below:

For each one, go

1. Right-click "Download" in the forum dialog box.

2. Open in New Tab.

3. A dialog box willl appear, titled "Opening alsa...pet"
--Left-click "Save it to disk," then "OK"

4. On the first one (choose ALSA-lib-1.0.12rc1.pet), do the following (not necessary on the two others):
--Click "Browse for other folders"
--Click "root" button, then "my-applications", then "Save" (if you are in 2.14 using the jwm windowmanager, you may have to drag the window up a bit to see the "Save" button).

5. On the second two (alsaconf-original.pet and ALSA-utils-1.0.12rc1.pet), just click Save, the dialog box will already point to /root/my-applications.

6. After you download all three, now open a Rox window, go to /root/my-applications, and left-click-and-install them in this order:

ALSA-lib-1.0.12rc1.pet
alsaconf-original.pet
ALSA-utils-1.0.12rc1.pet

7. Menu - Shutdown - Restart X Server.

8. Menu - Utility - rxvt and issue the command

fixmenus

9. Again do Menu - Shutdown - Restart X Server.

Now you can do Menu - Setup - ALSA sound wizard.

I've tried this on a P3 running 2.14 and a P4 running 2.15CE-Final (patched) and it works; the P3 had the can't-find-ESS1868-ISA-card issue, and this cures it. Please note that it does take a few seconds for the "Driver Selection" window to appear, if you don't have a PCI card and choose to "Probe ISA cards."

HTH,
SHS


thread

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=110400#110400


SHS had a different sound card, and the .pets maybe earlier?, but what he did, including 'fixmenus', should work for you.....

....then try the new alsa


If you run

Code:
lspci


in a console, it should list your devices to determine if the soundcard is getting recognised

soundcards can be notoriously tricky as many different chipsets were used on the same cards

we need to know exactly what is being seen, if any, as to why its trying to load SB driver - that's a legacy ISA device I think??

post the output of lspci here

did you try the 214x9 by ttuuxxx?

I had a reply from him, -I think he believes sound will be ok, but he's not familiar with your PC and doesn't have one for testing, so, you are his guineapig tester... Wink

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Tue 08 Sep 2009, 10:22    Post_subject: thanks  

I'm gonna try it after work. cool thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 00:21    Post_subject: followed directions, still no sound  

Okay, I followed the directions given to cecil, but no good. the alsaconfig behaved a little differently this time and went directly to asking if I wanted to probe legacy (as apposed to making me select it from a list), so it seems to know what it is now anyway, but still no sound.

I suppose I should ask, how long does it take to probe? It sat there for twenty minutes doing nothing, and the curser doesn't blink as if it were busy. It just seems to get stuck there. Is there a setting in the bios I need to change? there was talk of that in an earlier reply, but I didn't understand it.

Help! Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 00:32    Post_subject: Ispci  

All it said was:

bash: Ispci: command not found

I have no idea what that means.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 00:36    Post_subject: the 214's  

Yah, I tried those files. Those are the ones I had to ask you for the access codes. Didn't get anywhere, but the pet installer ran those instead of me like in the Cecil proceedure I just tried. Not getting anywhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 06:01    Post_subject:  

Ah yes lspci won't run in bash, I think

maybe try

Code:
LSPCI=`which lspci`
g++ -DLSPCI="$LSPCI" ...


don't know - something I found on a LQ fedora thread...supposed to search path/files for lspci location, I think

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/programming-9/c-lspci-path-342106/

Aitch wrote:
did you try the 214x9 by ttuuxxx?

I had a reply from him, -I think he believes sound will be ok, but he's not familiar with your PC and doesn't have one for testing, so, you are his guineapig tester... Wink


???

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 11:00    Post_subject: LSPCI nothing  

The only difference is that the number symbol changed to a greater-then symbol. It made no reply.

Also, I installed those two files from ttuuxxx, but nothing happened. However, it wasn't a manual install like the reply to Cegil showed. Pet installer prompted me on the install, so I let it. That's it. nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 14:22    Post_subject: discouraged  

Puppy doesn't like me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 19:20    Post_subject: bios audio controller  

The bios says that my audio controller is Crystal, even though I know the device is legacy with a soundblaster driver. Does that mean anything?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 19:59    Post_subject:  

Eathray

found this for the crystal cs4232 [though it was for a slightly different pc

Quote:
added "modprobe -v cs4232 io=0x530 irq=5 dma=1 dma2=0" to line 138 of /etc/rd.1/rc.local0 for full soundcard support. (yep!)


another possibilty is CS4237B

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=853

here's alsa info, bit deep though....

http://www.sabi.co.uk/Notes/linuxSoundALSA.html

Other than that, I'm pretty much out of ideas.....back to PM tempestuous, I'm afraid

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/privmsg.php?mode=post&u=217

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 20:39    Post_subject: Aitch: question about the code for 4232
Sub_title: Number sounds familiar, but where do I add it?
 

I have never added code to a program before. what would I be adding this code to? Just stick it in the consule? I see a rout that starts with etc. Where is that?

Remember, I'm a dunce when it comes to linux. This is my first serious attempt, and I probably need you to go ahead and state the obvious. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 22:30    Post_subject: found it /etc/  

Okay, I pasted some code into that local file and now I'll see...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 22:46    Post_subject: didn't work. Help please.  

I found the specified file, tried the two different bits of code, didn't work. Fudge. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bligh

Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 484
Location: California

PostPosted: Thu 10 Sep 2009, 02:40    Post_subject:  

I have one box with a 24bit sb card , sound only works on Lighthouse pup 301g which defaults to kde desktop. I haven't tried changing desktops to see if sound works in jwm.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Sep 2009, 21:04    Post_subject:  

Earthray

I overlooked an important tip from tempestuous, I saw in another thread
tempestuous wrote:
You may have overlooked the most important preparatory step: set your bios for "PnP OS = NO".
This is very very important for getting ISA devices to play well in Linux.


from that same thread, seems aclowery got sound working on a dell cpi d266xt, don't know if this is the same model you have?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=45234&start=30

HTH

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0768s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]