Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 19:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
Please Fix autoconnect for wlan, easier access to dev tools
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
simulant

Joined: 11 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 11 Sep 2009, 11:20    Post subject:  Please Fix autoconnect for wlan, easier access to dev tools  

WLAN autoconnect is not working in 4.2.1 on three different laptops (all with prism2 mini-pci cards)

I must use the connect wizard and load a saved profile on every reboot.

Having links to saved wlan profiles on the mail Connect app page for 1 click connects would also be helpful. (esp for those of us who roam alot)


Easier (or better explained) access to make/compile tools would also be appreciated. Is a .pet possible? After 30 minutes of searching I still can't figure out where to get the so called "devx module".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simulant

Joined: 11 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 11 Sep 2009, 11:21    Post subject: oops  

sorry, previous post was meant for feedback thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8035

PostPosted: Fri 11 Sep 2009, 12:50    Post subject:  

devx source...
http://puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles/sfs_modules-4/

wlan setup 'should' save and autoconnect...but I'm not the one with an answer to that one unfortunately.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
QBall2U


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 65
Location: Somewhere, USA

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 01:14    Post subject: Please Fix autoconnect for wlan, easier access to dev tools  

I have the same problem as simulant, using a prism2 mini-pci card, in my IBM Thinkpad R32.

After bootup, to access the internet, I have to click on the 'Connect' icon and go through all the rigamarol to be able to access the internet! It 'discovers' several different wireless networks (I have a BUSY neighborhood with at least 3 to 7 different wireless networks up at any given time! Wink). Yet when it 'discovers' mine, I cannot connect to it and it is just below me in the 'den'! It can see the neighbors on either of the four sides of me (and beyond?) and access any that are not encrypted but not mine!? Granted, it is a (wireless) Linksys router...does that make any difference...do I need a Linksys USB wireless adapter to connect to it? One network shows NETGEAR and I'm sure another showed as BELKIN.

Thanks,
QBall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8035

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 09:17    Post subject:  

As for autoconnect the connection wizard has been as is going through updating all the time and is available as a pet I believe...pwireless2 or something similar...your problem may have already been fixed.

@QBall2U
I would start a fresh thread as your problem is different and may get overlooked here.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0500s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]