Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 06 Dec 2019, 04:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.3 Final -- bug reports and suggestions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 21 [301 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 2031
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 04:17    Post subject:  

I'm talking about a Woofed 4.3 (all defaults). The original, Barry's "big" 4.3 doesn't boot at all, even from my flash drive. Beta 3 booted only from my flash drive, too.

I tried (in psubdir):
- pup_430.sfs
- pup-430.sfs
- pup-430.sfs + pup_430.sfs
- pup-430.sfs + pup_430.sfs + copies in root

None worked with my ext4 partition. But booting from my flash drive found the SFS on my HD and loaded it (so it booted faster Wink ).

Something with 30.5's ext4?

EDIT: 430-small doesn't work too!
Currently testing:
- Woof- default 430, except changed themes and added Stardust icon theme, kernel 30.5, all modules (inc. SCSI, skipped all "cut-down" steps), zdrv, skipped stripping.
- Woof- same as above, kernel 2.6.25.16.

Last edited by Iguleder on Sun 20 Sep 2009, 06:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
plaguedogs


Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 05:01    Post subject:  

no sound on dell inspiron 1525. module loads. it shows after an "lsmod" and alsa mixer shows my card, and it shows in /proc///codec file. i thought it was just 2.6.30.5 kernell but i tried the older 2.6.25.16 still no sound.. i have woofed a few pups with 2.6.30.5, none have sound. but my spups made with 2.6.29.6 work fine. my sound card in a sigmatel, covered by the hda snd intel module. and im having problems with devx. my boot config gui says its loaded but i can not run make or gcc. i am aware of the sfs3 and sfs4 situation, i have the correct version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 06:39    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
If you followed this:

From the announcement thread:

Upgrading from an earlier puppy. If you have a "pup_save" file and you want to upgrade it, it has to be renamed. Say that you are booting from live-CD and you have 'pup_save-john.2fs' on the hard drive (or whatever) -- make a copy of it (to be on the safe side!) named 'pupsave.2fs', then boot or reboot Puppy 4.3. That's it, pup 4.3 only recognises save files of name 'pupsave*.2fs' (where '*' means wildcard).

.............then it's possibly a corrupted save file.

HTH


Those were the exact instructions I followed.
In the end I took the pupsave file from 421 off my hdd and did a clean install of 430 and it all seems to work fine now.
Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 246
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 07:22    Post subject: Testing pup-430 on an EeePC901  

Testing pup-430 on an EeePC901

ALSA
Still problems for me. There is no master volume control (I reported this both in b2 & b3 I think)l. The volume control on the task bar is permanently indicating muted. If I right click in the task-bar volume icon I get the window with a master slider but cannot move it (see screen shot). Ran the Alsa wizard but no joy in fixing the problem.

Samba
I cannot create any Samba shares within 430. In 412 I have a /shared folder with "Path = /shared" in my smb.conf. In 430 I just get errors in the log of pnethood which I can replicate from the command line using

smbmount //192.168.1.239/shared /mnt/network/PUPPY_EEE/SHARED (I manually added this mount point).

Output is:
"Error connecting to 192.168.1.239 (Connection refused)" etc

I have Googled a lot on this but only red herrings so far.

(BTW pnethood still works fine with 430 with samba shares on my LANDisk as it did with 412)

I decided to rather that start from scratch with 430 as I was doing and go for a 412 upgrade using my 412 save file. The upgrade went reasonable ok so tested samba mounting the /shared folder again. Lo and behold it works!!!!. But but I still want to solve doing this without an upgrade as there were several other issues with this which I won't bother you with now (except for one. No sign of my 412 installed pets in the 430 Package Manager).

Copy/Paste from rxvt to Geany
For the life of me I cannot get this to happen. Installed sakura but still cannot paste to Geany

Any clues welcome to solve these issues?

To leave on a +ve note Seamonkey is faster what in 412.

Rgds Mike
Sound_mixers.png
 Description   
 Filesize   62.63 KB
 Viewed   432 Time(s)

Sound_mixers.png


Last edited by mawebb88 on Sun 20 Sep 2009, 08:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 516
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 07:47    Post subject:  

Wifi not working on AAO (Acer Aspire One).
Was working fine on beta 1&2.
Module ath5k loaded instead of ath_pci.

Mouse still sluggish with wired or wireless mouse.
Works fine on a Futjitsu Siemens desktop.

_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 08:18    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
Rickrandom wrote:
I changed the file name from pup_430.sfs to pup-430.sfs, and it worked, so it seems to be a typo bug in the frugal install.

which 430 are you talking about?
in the iso itself, is it pup_430.sfs or pup-430.sfs?

in 430 small.iso it is correct at pup-430.sfs,.
I have the pup-430-small.iso (downloaded 18 Sept, 17:42 UK time) which Isobuster shows contains PUP_430.SFS (dated 16 Sept 09, 18:51:58)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 08:20    Post subject: Re: Testing pup-430 on an EeePC901  

Mike--

Re: samba--have you tried a variant of this? This is what I use to with 4.3 final, wifi, Samba, eee900-Dell e5500:

mkdir -p /mnt/network/BEAR/efile
mount-FULL -t cifs //192.168.***.***/efile /mnt/network/BEAR/efile -o username=guest,password=guest

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 08:20    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
everyone is saying how fast 430 is but mine, 430small, is noticeably slower than anything puppy i have used recently.


I have totally the same feeling by using 430small. 412 that I was using before was feeling much much faster.


Bug1: Whenever I try to connect to msn using default ayttm always crashes and can only hard reset the system. Have you compiled it with the option --enable-posix-dlopen ? If yes that must be the reason and is a known bug at version 0.6.0 and there is a fix for it at the latest cvs 0.6.0-1. More informations here


Bug2: How many official repositories are suppose to be for any version of puppy? I'm asking it because I have 3 for every version and comparing them with the help of Xdiff they are identical. Maybe that happened when I chosen to update them, but that means that every time someone updates will get more and more?
Also it seems that when I select puppy-woof-official is not being added at the first page, even when restarting ppm.
I have attached also a picture with the repositories.


Also I have a tiny request (less than 5kb) for future puppies and as I read in the forum also others too. Can we have numlock on by default? That needs numlockx and to add one line to .xinitrc --> "nulockx on".
many reposytories.png
 Description   ppm bug?
 Filesize   46.38 KB
 Viewed   416 Time(s)

many reposytories.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 516
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 09:10    Post subject:  

Version 423 uses ath5k module too and it works fine with wlan0. Question
_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 10:09    Post subject:  

Yasou Michalis,
I saw the same Bug 2 in ttuuxxx's Puppy 2.20 which also uses the new PPM. So seems like a bug in the new PPM rather than just specifiic to 430.
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 10:31    Post subject:  

Rickrandom wrote:
I have the pup-430-small.iso (downloaded 18 Sept, 17:42 UK time) which Isobuster shows contains PUP_430.SFS (dated 16 Sept 09, 18:51:5Cool
must have been the leprechauns.
small.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.51 KB
 Viewed   1444 Time(s)

small.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 10:37    Post subject: Temperature Rise in 4.3 Final?  

Does anybody monitor the temperature of their machine? If so, does anybody else notice a spike of two-to-three degrees celsius in 4.3 Final?

I'm using an eee 900, and see a decided rise in temperature, which could be many things, new kernel, some weird process happening in my own specs, or whatever.

I'm interested if anybody else can replicate this.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 11:31    Post subject: Re: Temperature Rise in 4.3 Final?  

jakfish wrote:
Does anybody monitor the temperature of their machine? If so, does anybody else notice a spike of two-to-three degrees celsius in 4.3 Final?

I'm using an eee 900, and see a decided rise in temperature, which could be many things, new kernel, some weird process happening in my own specs, or whatever.

I'm interested if anybody else can replicate this.

Jake
used to have temperature, calendar and wifi signal in 421, so where is the widget download.pet because i cant see it in the 430's package manager?
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 246
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 11:45    Post subject: Re: Temperature Rise in 4.3 Final?  

jakfish wrote:
Does anybody monitor the temperature of their machine? If so, does anybody else notice a spike of two-to-three degrees celsius in 4.3 Final?

I'm using an eee 900, and see a decided rise in temperature, which could be many things, new kernel, some weird process happening in my own specs, or whatever.

I'm interested if anybody else can replicate this.

Jake


Same for me. Used to run at ~54 with 412 but now sometimes hits 60 and above on my EeePC901. I think we are missing the special drivers for this latest kernel to control he Eee's fan speed etc?

Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 246
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 11:53    Post subject: Package Manger problems  

Earlier in this thread I reported I had upgraded from 412 to 430. None of my 412 installed apps appear in PM.

I just re-installed samba-3.0.25b from a pet file and bizarrely PM reported it as pstreamvid-1.3!

So I did it again and this time PM listed samba-3.0.25b (as well as pstream...)

In both cases PM after reporting successful installation just exited without returning to the main PM window.

Rgds Mike

Nb this is part of my quest to get the folder /shared to samba mount as reported earlier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 21 [301 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0725s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0156s) ][ GZIP on ]