CUPS won't start (Puppy 4.2)

Problems and successes with specific brands/models of printers
owend

CUPS won't start (Puppy 4.2)

#1 Post by owend »

Hi, I'm new to Puppy (4.2, Cups 1.3.11) with a hard-install to an Acer netbook a110; longterm Linux user on main machine (currently Mint 7) so not totally newb!

I can't get Puppy to print: CUPS won't start, with the error message "Failed to connect to localhost:631"; after that the internet connection usually dies, although email and browser run fine without CUPS's help.

What am I doing wrong (probably something simple :oops: !)

Patriot

Re: CUPS

#2 Post by Patriot »

Hmmm .....
owend wrote:........ CUPS won't start, with the error message "Failed to connect to localhost:631"; after that the internet connection usually dies, although email and browser run fine without CUPS's help.

What am I doing wrong (probably something simple :oops: !)
Actually, you didn't do anything wrong there ... The cups startup scripts are kinda borked in p420 ... it's noted here and here ... don't use the System -> Manage Printing ...

If you get the error message above, that means cups were gunned down by the startup scripts ... open a terminal and restart cups:

# /etc/init.d/cups start

Whenever you need to access your printer, open your browser and point to http://localhost:631/ ... I'll try to workout a suitable fix for those scripts in a while ...

Rgds

owend

CUPS and HP710C working! (Problem olved)

#3 Post by owend »

Thanks, Patriot! It all worked perfectly in about a minute - I said it was something simple! The big distros (eg my Mint 7) do have advantages with easy oob setup; I don't mind the fiddling, but I just couldn't work out why it wasn't working!