Fix the Help in Abiword and Homebank

How to do things, solutions, recipes, tutorials
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

Fix the Help in Abiword and Homebank

#1 Post by playdayz »

Fix the Help in Abiword and Homebank and the web links in many programs Help -> About

1. Gvfs should be installed

2. The weird part: FF seems to be the only browser that “sets itself as default browser

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#2 Post by jemimah »

This glib patch fixes it without the need for gvfs or gconf.

Code: Select all

--- gappinfo.c.orig	2012-04-04 17:37:12.279994165 -0400
+++ gappinfo.c	2012-04-04 17:49:07.356656534 -0400
@@ -660,8 +660,12 @@
   file = g_file_new_for_uri (uri);
   app_info = g_file_query_default_handler (file, NULL, error);
   g_object_unref (file);
-  if (app_info == NULL)
-    return FALSE;
+  if (app_info == NULL){
+	   gchar *cCommand = g_strdup_printf (" xdg-open %s", uri );  
+       system(cCommand);
+       g_free (cCommand);
+	   return TRUE;
+  }
 
   /* Use the uri, not the GFile, as the GFile roundtrip may
    * affect the uri which we don't want (for instance for a

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#3 Post by RSH »

This script

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
# If Firefox is installed by a pet in the default location, this script will be covered up
# The script is necessary if FF is installed by an sfs in the default location or in a different location, ,
# in order to make gvfs default browser work in apps that use it to display Help
BROWSINSTALLED=`grep "exec" /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser|awk '{print $2}'`
if [[ $BROWSINSTALLED = firefox ]];then
   if [-a /usr/lib/firefox/firefox-bin];then
   USEBROWSER="/usr/lib/firefox/run-mozilla.sh /usr/lib/firefox/firefox-bin"
   fi
   else USEBROWSER="/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser"
fi

exec $USEBROWSER "$@"
i can run in the terminal.

Where can i run this script?

Code: Select all

--- gappinfo.c.orig   2012-04-04 17:37:12.279994165 -0400
+++ gappinfo.c   2012-04-04 17:49:07.356656534 -0400
@@ -660,8 +660,12 @@
   file = g_file_new_for_uri (uri);
   app_info = g_file_query_default_handler (file, NULL, error);
   g_object_unref (file);
-  if (app_info == NULL)
-    return FALSE;
+  if (app_info == NULL){
+      gchar *cCommand = g_strdup_printf (" xdg-open %s", uri ); 
+       system(cCommand);
+       g_free (cCommand);
+      return TRUE;
+  }
 
   /* Use the uri, not the GFile, as the GFile roundtrip may
    * affect the uri which we don't want (for instance for a
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#4 Post by 01micko »

RSH

The second "script" to which you refer is not a script but a patch for C code. It is applied to the C source code with the "patch" program then the source code needs to be compiled.

-

Interesting jemimah, I might try it.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#5 Post by jemimah »

While you're patching glib, you might as well appy this patch too.

This makes mounted drives show up in file open dialogs.

Code: Select all

diff -ur glib-2.31.6/gio/gunixmounts.c glib-2.31.6-patched//gio/gunixmounts.c
--- glib-2.31.6/gio/gunixmounts.c	2011-12-07 20:10:26.000000000 -0500
+++ glib-2.31.6-patched//gio/gunixmounts.c	2011-12-20 21:22:17.000000000 -0500
@@ -2089,7 +2089,7 @@
       if (g_getenv ("XDG_RUNTIME_DIR") != NULL && g_str_has_prefix (mount_path, g_get_user_runtime_dir ()))
         is_in_runtime_dir = TRUE;
 
-      if (is_in_runtime_dir || g_str_has_prefix (mount_path, "/media/"))
+      if (is_in_runtime_dir || g_str_has_prefix (mount_path, "/mnt/"))
         {
           char *path;
           /* Avoid displaying mounts that are not accessible to the user.
@@ -2099,7 +2099,7 @@
            * block or fail stat()'ing, such as network mounts.
            */
           path = g_path_get_dirname (mount_path);
-          if (g_str_has_prefix (path, "/media/"))
+          if (g_str_has_prefix (path, "/mnt/"))
             {
               if (g_access (path, R_OK|X_OK) != 0) 
                 {

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#6 Post by 01micko »

Well it works! Abiword help, partial gnumeric help and partial homebank. I'm about to recompile homebank-4.4 so I'll see if I can hack away at the source and get it working. EDIT- yep, got it working in Homebank.

Thanks :)

BTW, the patch I modded for Slacko, it has a slightly older glib..

Code: Select all

diff -rupN glib-2.28.6-orig/gio/gappinfo.c glib-2.28.6/gio/gappinfo.c
--- glib-2.28.6-orig/gio/gappinfo.c	2011-01-06 07:44:06.000000000 +1000
+++ glib-2.28.6/gio/gappinfo.c	2012-04-05 20:29:29.752403887 +1000
@@ -655,8 +655,12 @@ g_app_info_launch_default_for_uri (const
   file = g_file_new_for_uri (uri);
   app_info = g_file_query_default_handler (file, NULL, error);
   g_object_unref (file);
-  if (app_info == NULL)
-    return FALSE;
+  if (app_info == NULL){ 
+      gchar *cCommand = g_strdup_printf (" xdg-open %s", uri ); 
+       system(cCommand); 
+       g_free (cCommand); 
+      return TRUE; 
+  }
 
   /* Use the uri, not the GFile, as the GFile roundtrip may
    * affect the uri which we don't want (for instance for a
diff -rupN glib-2.28.6-orig/gio/gunixmounts.c glib-2.28.6/gio/gunixmounts.c
--- glib-2.28.6-orig/gio/gunixmounts.c	2011-01-18 06:54:00.000000000 +1000
+++ glib-2.28.6/gio/gunixmounts.c	2012-04-05 20:34:00.299083904 +1000
@@ -1950,7 +1950,7 @@ g_unix_mount_guess_should_display (GUnix
       if (g_strstr_len (mount_path, -1, "/.") != NULL)
         return FALSE;
 
-      if (g_str_has_prefix (mount_path, "/media/")) 
+      if (g_str_has_prefix (mount_path, "/mnt/")) 
         {
           char *path;
           /* Avoid displaying mounts that are not accessible to the user.
@@ -1960,7 +1960,7 @@ g_unix_mount_guess_should_display (GUnix
            * block or fail stat()'ing, such as network mounts.
            */
           path = g_path_get_dirname (mount_path);
-          if (g_str_has_prefix (path, "/media/"))
+          if (g_str_has_prefix (path, "/mnt/"))
             {
               if (g_access (path, R_OK|X_OK) != 0) 
                 {
applies with patch -p0 <glib_slacko.patch outside the src dir for anyone curious, official slackware-13.37 source package.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#7 Post by pemasu »

Seems to work in Dpup Exprimo also. Thanks.

Pelo

Homebank help

#8 Post by Pelo »

Will explain to you how works this Homebank for your food accounts

homebank help : to remember solutions already found and refresh information regarding new versions
Comment faire que l'aide s'ouvre dans seamonkey ? fonctionne avec Firefox. (fr Help translator)
I am using seamonkey, I try to make help work.
Click on contents goes to the right place, so i think the problem is seamonkey. (Firefox works)
Attachments
help.jpg
use Firefox.
(33.06 KiB) Downloaded 115 times
Last edited by Pelo on Sun 01 Feb 2015, 08:37, edited 2 times in total.

Pelo

The life preserver takes you towards the help

#9 Post by Pelo »

Help homebank ok with Firefox when clicking the Life Preserver. Help in english especially for british citizen.

Post Reply