Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 03:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
NOP 431
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 12 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
adXok

Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu 22 Apr 2010, 12:33    Post_subject:  

With Barry's Original Puppy I seem to not have these problems with the Cyrillic letters (fonts aren't any problem at all)... strange! Or maybe not so strange. Very Happy

I just got one issue with Cyrillic letters with Geany text editor in barry's Original Puppy:
the name of the file (in Cyrillic) doesn't show up properly on the Geany's window panel and on the Tab of the same file also.

Other than that Cyrillic is properly shown and treated when browsing, naming a file, copy/paste to locations and so on.


-----------------

Seems the problem is with XFCE in NOP Pyppy and with a particular program like in Geany and maybe others. I suppose the issues could be easy fixed. At least the languages' characters must always be supported.

------------------

And onother question! I have installed Skype but I cannot make a Skype Icon on the desktop or in the top panel. How to do that?
I just want a simple Icon and to be able to change it's icon image with the Skype's one or some .png or .svg or whatever but not that gear-like icon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Apr 2010, 11:35    Post_subject:  

adXok wrote:
With Barry's Original Puppy I seem to not have these problems with the Cyrillic letters (fonts aren't any problem at all)... strange! Or maybe not so strange. Very Happy

I just got one issue with Cyrillic letters with Geany text editor in barry's Original Puppy:
the name of the file (in Cyrillic) doesn't show up properly on the Geany's window panel and on the Tab of the same file also.

Other than that Cyrillic is properly shown and treated when browsing, naming a file, copy/paste to locations and so on.


-----------------

Seems the problem is with XFCE in NOP Pyppy and with a particular program like in Geany and maybe others. I suppose the issues could be easy fixed. At least the languages' characters must always be supported.

------------------

And onother question! I have installed Skype but I cannot make a Skype Icon on the desktop or in the top panel. How to do that?
I just want a simple Icon and to be able to change it's icon image with the Skype's one or some .png or .svg or whatever but not that gear-like icon.


Does something like this help (refer to picture attached). It sets the keyboard layout. I see that us is the only default one...don't know if you've messed with that yet. Confused
keyboard.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  keyboard.png 
Filesize  434.34 KB 
Downloaded  435 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
adXok

Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sat 24 Apr 2010, 15:52    Post_subject:  

О, I have already set up that.
I loaded as a second layout the Bulgarian Phonetc as I usualy do.

It is not that the problem. It has something to do with UTF-8 UTF-16 or default ISO-8859-1 coding of symbols in XFCE and as a global setting in 'locale' file... wherever that may be.

Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Apr 2010, 17:57    Post_subject:  

How about this...from terminal run:
Code:

chooselocale


Have you done that already, adXok?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
adXok

Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 06:28    Post_subject:  

How could I miss that in a first place. Shocked

OMG, I wrote in Terminal: chooselocale
Then a window opened, i choose bg for Bulgarian and ticked the: UTF-8 coding

That simple!!! But it finaly worked!

I am happy and ashamed! Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ragaman

Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 06:39    Post_subject:  

Hi, Gray. Thanks for this wonderful puplet.

I encountered a problem in printing to a shared Windows printer though. When I print a test page, it displays a "Can't load /etc/opt/samba/smb.conf - run testparm to debug it" error.

My samba.conf is located in /etc/opt/samba/ and is the default of NOP 4.3.1. I have not touched it.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 09:15    Post_subject:  

adXok wrote:
How could I miss that in a first place. Shocked

OMG, I wrote in Terminal: chooselocale
Then a window opened, i choose bg for Bulgarian and ticked the: UTF-8 coding

That simple!!! But it finaly worked!

I am happy and ashamed! Embarassed


Ha! You're hardly the first to miss something simple...that's why I suggested it 'cause I know when I miss something it's usually the simple answer, and I've done it many, many times...glad it is working for you now! Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
adXok

Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Tue 27 Apr 2010, 14:24    Post_subject:  

Quote:

And onother question! I have installed Skype but I cannot make a Skype Icon on the desktop or in the top panel. How to do that?
I just want a simple Icon and to be able to change it's icon image with the Skype's one or some .png or .svg or whatever but not that gear-like icon.


I cannot make a desktop icon... Embarassed

P.S. Oh, i make a symlink of the skype app but cannot change the icon and most badly the settings are the default ones (it didnt start with bulgarian menus and etc.)!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Wed 28 Apr 2010, 07:23    Post_subject:  

adXok wrote:
Quote:

And onother question! I have installed Skype but I cannot make a Skype Icon on the desktop or in the top panel. How to do that?
I just want a simple Icon and to be able to change it's icon image with the Skype's one or some .png or .svg or whatever but not that gear-like icon.


I cannot make a desktop icon... Embarassed

P.S. Oh, i make a symlink of the skype app but cannot change the icon and most badly the settings are the default ones (it didnt start with bulgarian menus and etc.)!


Try this: here
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
adXok

Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu 29 Apr 2010, 14:48    Post_subject:  

Ok, another problem I just had.

I cannot setup a PPPOE connection!!! Puppy only gives me the DHCP connection setup by default.
I tried at lest 5 or 6 suggested threads here but with no success. Sad

My Internet Provider told me that my IP is dynamic (fo ra first time in my life I use that type of IP). The connection is PPPOE with login (username and pass). Under Windows XP Pro SP3 the settings passed smooth, no problems but in Puppy NOP I cannot find the right way to setup it right (and it is important as I use 99% of my Internet surfing with Puppy!!!).

So could someone help me set up the PPPOE right and from where to do that in Puppy NOP? Thanks in advance! Embarassed


P.S. Please tell me if it is bad to connect via PPPOE and what (dis)advantages it offers me over DHCP as I had NO problems for at lest 5 years with DHCP.


EDIT:
I do not know what I did specificaly but I messed around with the pppoe-setup and after some tweaking and multiple times commanding it: pppoe-start
I t finaly ran! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
itachikun

Joined: 06 May 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 15:47    Post_subject:  xfce panel
Sub_title: disable/remove right click on panel
 

hi there,

i'm new to linux and get interested in NOP. i'm going to use it in my internet caffe.

i need some help :

    how to disable right click on panel so user can't edit panel setting (moreover can't delete the panel) ?

    is there any software or application or tool or trick that works as "Deep freeze" like in Micr*s*ft Wind**s ?

thanks

PS : Sorry, my English is bad, so i write it just to the point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 187
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 17:01    Post_subject: Hey Gray
Sub_title: G'day Gray...
 

Hey G'day Gray Do U have any Plans 2 Do Y'r Magic w/ Quirky + Xfce + Opera Mate?

Ps Go the Crusaders!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 187
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Wed 19 May 2010, 08:23    Post_subject: Please SumBody AnyBody Help Save Me Network Settings
Sub_title: Please SumBody AnyBody Help Save Me Network Settings
 

Question Please SumBody AnyBody Help Save Me Network Configuration.

Despite Answering Yes Keep the Configuration 4 Next Boot it Forgets Like an aLzheimer's Sufferer Crying or Very sad , So I have 2 Manually Re - eNter Me IP Address & Gateway Ev'ryTime Mad ,

Please Wot's the File & File / Path I Need 2 Fix & How...

Also I Wunder if this Related 2 Opera Not Loading Pages Properly, Altho I've installed SeaMunky 4 Me Wife & it seems 2 be Working OK Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun 2010, 14:50    Post_subject: Nop 431r2 Report& Inquiry
Sub_title: In case gray reads this thread
 

It's been ages since gray ventured onto the forum. I do wish him well and thanks. No one could fault him for lying low, if he is. He left us a real gift in Nop.

Maybe he will surprise us with a great new version, but right now things are a bit scattered. Maybe it's just as well, as Nop is a very serviceable, finished product, which I have adapted extensively for my working machine and used for years, as described at http://www.henrystrobel.com/linux.htm

Naturally, I test various new puppies from time to time, but am never tempted away from my custom Nop. First - it would mean a lot of work. Second - they don't have Xfce!

Honorable mention goes to Iguleder's 432, aka 4 Forward. Available with the same kernel as Nop, it can easily upgrade my ancient evolved pup-save. Adds lots of good (non essential to me working stuff) But to replace my Nop? Hardly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun 2010, 14:50    Post_subject: Double post removed, sorry.  

-
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1029s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0179s) ][ GZIP on ]