Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 06:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firedog 1.2 - a smarter, faster, more stylish browser suite
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Mon 02 Nov 2009, 11:57    Post_subject: Re: New Firedog version available - Firedog 1.2  

sc0ttman wrote:

Your url about deleting Seamonkey will be added to the main post.


Ok. It didn't delete Seamonkey, just took over as default, so that when you click on the browser icon on the desktop, expecting Seamonkey to run, Firedog opens instead.

In any case, when I upgraded to Puppy 4.3.1 yesterday, Seamonkey ended up as the default browser again. So that's not a problem for me anymore, though it would be nice to have a separate desktop icon for Firedog.


Quote:
About future versions - 1.3:

I'll enable history by default, as a start...


Ok. In the meantime, how do I turn it on?

Quote:
If you disagree and have some feature requests


1. how can I import bookmarks and/or passwords from Seamonkey?

2. how can I get Google Translate to run by means of a taskbar icon, keystroke or easily reached drop-down menu (as in Seamonkey)?

Google Translate is something I use every day, and it's a must have in any browser I use.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 02 Nov 2009, 13:53    Post_subject: Re: New Firedog version available - Firedog 1.2  

otropogo wrote:
how do I turn it (history) on?

1. how can I import bookmarks and/or passwords from Seamonkey?

2. how can I get Google Translate to run by means of a taskbar icon, keystroke or easily reached drop-down menu (as in Seamonkey)?


Sorry if this sounds lazy, but I covered all this in my last reply to you, found here

But to very quickly summarise and clarify, if needed... Firedog does indeed replace Seamonkey as the default browser.
Firedog doesn't delete Seamonkey.
Google Translate can be added nearly anywhere you want to put it!!
To import bookmarks, go to 'Menu->File->Import'.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Mon 02 Nov 2009, 15:25    Post_subject: Re: New Firedog version available - Firedog 1.2  

sc0ttman wrote:


Sorry if this sounds lazy, but I covered all this in my last reply to you, .


MY BAD. No need for you to apologize, you have every right to be peeved.

It appears I went from my google mail link to the thread, didn't scroll the whole page, and mistakenly took your reply to sinc as a response to my post.

In short, I never saw your reply to me until now.

Thanks for your patience, and please accept my apology...

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 02 Nov 2009, 15:32    Post_subject: Re: New Firedog version available - Firedog 1.2  

otropogo wrote:
sc0ttman wrote:


Sorry if this sounds lazy, but I covered all this in my last reply to you, .


MY BAD. No need for you to apologize, you have every right to be peeved.

In short, I never saw your reply to me until now.

Thanks for your patience, and please accept my apology...

Haha.. No problem.. I thought that may be the case..
Also.. Not peeved.. Just didn't wanna re-post.. It's fine! Very Happy

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sprangalang


Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue 03 Nov 2009, 17:50    Post_subject:  

Thank you, it works great in 4.3, on my oldie pc. I like it much better than seamonkey, and man, did you pack some goodies on there!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Wed 04 Nov 2009, 14:09    Post_subject: Re: New Firedog version available - Firedog 1.2  

sc0ttman wrote:
otropogo wrote:
I don't see any option for importing bookmarks or passwords - is there one?

Yes, go to the Bookmarks Manager, found in 'Menu->Bookmarks->Organize Bookmarks'.
Then you should find 'File->Import'.. This is what you're looking for.


Nope. Can't find "file" and/or "import" at Menu/bookmarks/organize bookmarks...


Quote:
otropogo wrote:
More vexing is the lack of a built in Google Translate link.

Search the bookmarks, it's already in there, in 'Go->Tools'.


Not quite! The actual path is:

menu/tools/go/tools/google translate/"enter url here".

That's a long long way from Opera's single click on a "translate page" icon, or /tools/translate page in Seamonkey...

Is there a way I can get Firedog to translate a page with just one or two clicks?


I do have the browsers sorted out on the desktop now, although I wish I had a specific icon for firedog. Figuring out how to speed up page translate and how to import my bookmarks is a must though, if I'm even going to give Firedog a fair trial. Having to re-enter all my passwords manually is PIA enough.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Nov 2009, 16:15    Post_subject: Re: New Firedog version available - Firedog 1.2  

otropogo, open the bookmarks manager, then go to File->Import... It is there! I swear!
Or, just go to Menu->File->Import from the main menu.. That also works.

If you want quick and POWERFUL translation, add FoxLingo found here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2444

But I just type 'tra' in the address bar and hit down, then Enter! Fastest way for me!!

To get a unique desktop icon, drag /usr/share/application/firefox.desktop onto the desktop, right click on it, and choose 'set icon'.. Also rename it if you want!!! Smile

Hope that helps..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Wed 04 Nov 2009, 19:11    Post_subject: Re: New Firedog version available - Firedog 1.2  

sc0ttman wrote:
otropogo, open the bookmarks manager, then go to File->Import... It is there! I swear!


That may be. But I can't find it. I'm at Menu/Bookmarks/organize bookmarks, and the navigation field says "Bookmarks Manager

On the left sidebar, it I've got a directory tree that starts with:

Bookmark, Tool, Go, followed by 12 open Go subfolders, and another twenty or so sub-sub folders. I've looked through all the listings on the main page, and don't see "File" or "import" anywhere...

Quote:
Or, just go to Menu->File->Import from the main menu.. That also works.


OK - THAT I can find. It says:
Quote:

Import .... from Netscape 6,7 or Mozilla 1.x


Will that work for Seamonkey?


Quote:
If you want quick and POWERFUL translation, add FoxLingo found here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2444

But I just type 'tra' in the address bar and hit down, then Enter! Fastest way for me!!


Will give FoxLingo a try later

But. I tried your shortcut just now, and it took me to the Google Translate page alright (so that IS faster than stepping through all the menus), but it didn't translate the page.

To do that, I'd have to first highlight and copy the page's URL, then do the tra thing, then paste URL into the translate window, hit the "translate" button. And...after all that, it didn't work.


Quote:
To get a unique desktop icon, drag /usr/share/application/firefox.desktop onto the desktop, right click on it, and choose 'set icon'.. Also rename it if you want!!! Smile


Naw. I'd already tried that. All I can find there is the default browser Icon. Which is what I'm using for Firedog already, and which apparently makes it the default browser, which I really want Seamonkey to remain.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Nov 2009, 20:03    Post_subject: Re: New Firedog version available - Firedog 1.2  

otropogo wrote:
...I'm at Menu/Bookmarks/organize bookmarks...

OK, now click the text that says 'Organize Bookmarks'.. This opens the Bookmark Manager. That is what you want. Forget the sidebar on the left, this only shows your bookmarks, not manages them!

But a quick note about the Bookmarks sidebar - don't browse it, just search it, using the search box at the top!

Visiting Google Translate does not automatically translate a page. You can just click the 'translate this page' link in the Google results, or (and this will be what you want) go to http://translate.google.com/translate_buttons

Now add a bookmark (a 'button' on your Bookmarks Toolbar) that translates the current page into your chosen language.

About the icons:

Quote:
sc0ttman wrote:
To get a unique desktop icon, drag /usr/share/application/firefox.desktop onto the desktop, right click on it, and choose 'set icon'.. Also rename it if you want!!! Smile

otropogo wrote:
I'd already tried that. All I can find there is the default browser Icon. Which is what I'm using for Firedog already, and which apparently makes it the default browser, which I really want Seamonkey to remain.


Drag firefox.desktop to the desktop THEN you can change its icon on the desktop very easily by right clicking on it, going to 'File 'firefox.desktop'->Set Icon..'

Using the default icon for Firedog does not make it the default browser...

You must edit '/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser' to change the default browser!

They are separate settings! Hope this helps.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2009, 00:35    Post_subject: Re: New Firedog version available - Firedog 1.2  

sc0ttman wrote:
..
Visiting Google Translate does not automatically translate a page. You can just click the 'translate this page' link in the Google results


Yea, but I'm never in Google search results, I'm always on the page with the foreign language...

Quote:
, or (and this will be what you want) go to http://translate.google.com/translate_buttons

Now add a bookmark (a 'button' on your Bookmarks Toolbar) that translates the current page into your chosen language.


OK. That works, thanks. Is there a way I can move the button to someplace more accessible, like the taskbar where the live chat icon sits?


Quote:
Drag firefox.desktop to the desktop THEN you can change its icon on the desktop very easily by right clicking on it, going to 'File 'firefox.desktop'->Set Icon..'


The problem is that the 'firefox.desktop' icon in htat folder is the one that's supposed to represent the default browser (the earth with an arrow). I haven't found any firefox icon to use.


Quote:
Using the default icon for Firedog does not make it the default browser...

You must edit '/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser' to change the default browser!

They are separate settings! Hope this helps.


Gotcha! Just one little detail - how do I 'edit' /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser to make seamonkey the default again?

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2009, 01:01    Post_subject:  

Forgot to mention a couple of other vexing problems.

History is not keeping any sites I type in, only the ones that were already there when I downloaded it.

When I enter a URL in the navigation field, it only stays there while the browser is open. When I close and reopen it, it's not there anymore. Not much use...

And I can't figure out how to add a bookmark either. I tried it just now with a URL that won't stay in history.Edit bookmarks gave me an option to add it to the Bookmarks toolbar, which I accepted. But don't see it there. No idea where it went...

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2009, 04:59    Post_subject:  

Addons to be included in the next release:

- Translator (fixed) (121kb)
- Google Any to Eng (added to search bar) (2kb)

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2009, 14:50    Post_subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
Addons to be included in the next release:

- Translator (fixed) (121kb)
- Google Any to Eng (added to search bar) (2kb)


Looking forward to it.

Re: saving bookmarks. Still haven't figured out how to do it via the "add bookmark" tab, but it works with the
Code:
CTL+ D
keystroke alternative. Slight hitch, it puts everything in the Google folder of the bookmarks menu, but maybe I can figure out how to rearrange the bookmarks.

History and the navigation field: typing into the navigation field has improved since I set the default web page to "blank". But no history is saved, and I haven't been able to find a way to enable history. The'res a long list of URLs that came with the installation, but nothing since.

Still haven't figured out how to make Seamonkey default browser again, or to get a distinctive icon for Firedog.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2009, 04:46    Post_subject:  

have boxpup413(firepup) and installed firedog. Missing libs/dependencies and firedog won't start from menu. Firedog doesn't start from menu (or Wbar)now and an attempt to start FirePup from menu says components not compatible with new version of FirePup "you have just installed".

Had FirePup check for these components (that's a loooong check!)......ok I'll update when its done.


Assuming puppy considered the install an "upgrade" I'm sure I just need to change execute config for menu & wbar; just need a little hint in the right direction Wink Change "default browser file" exec to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2009, 05:16    Post_subject:  
Sub_title: Still trying to execute FireDog from menu and Wbar
 

omskates wrote:
Had FirePup check for these components (that's a loooong check!)......ok I'll update when its done.


Could not find updates. Allows me to open FirePup and release notes say FireFox 1.5.0.12.
FireDog won't open from usr/share/applications either, even when right clicked and select execute.
Wbar browser command is
Quote:
/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
which is an execute; seen as text its
Quote:
#!/bin/sh
exec firefox "$@"

Not sure what to change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1149s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]