Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 21:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Seamonkey-2.0 Final
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Wed 11 Nov 2009, 02:55    Post subject: search bar  

no way to get a search bar in seamonkey 2.0 huh? like how opera and firefox has one integrated off to the side of the address bar...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 11 Nov 2009, 02:59    Post subject: Re: search bar  

stifiling wrote:
no way to get a search bar in seamonkey 2.0 huh? like how opera and firefox has one integrated off to the side of the address bar...


Just type your search criteria into the normal Seamonkey 2 address bar and hit 'enter'. Provided you have set up a default search engine (Google by default I think), Seamonkey will return a list of results

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gary_m

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 13 Nov 2009, 11:55    Post subject:  

Rupp wrote:
gary_m wrote:
Also, how do I start it. It's not in the menu, I have no clue how to start it from the command line.

Yup, a Linux noob here. I'd be using it more if installing a program would be easier....


open the terminal or the thing that looks like a TV Razz and type this:

"seamonkey" without the quotes
Thanks but no.. That starts the old version (1.1.15)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri 13 Nov 2009, 12:41    Post subject:  

Dear Puppians,

It is possible to get a Firefox-like search bar into Seamonkey2 (using the pet in question). I installed MonkeyMenu (an extension) and it does provide the expected search bar. I did this with some fiddling, however, and I can't remember exactly what I did. I probably unpacked the monkeymenu.xpi (it is a zip, after all), modified the RDF file to include seamonkey, repacked and installed it locally using "Mr. Tech's Toolkitl" (copied over from Firefox with changed RDF). Or something equally not-straightforward. I will try to reconstruct my actions and report back. Here is the monkeymenu xpi (archived).

With kind regards,
vovchik
monkeymenu-xpi.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  monkeymenu-xpi.tar.gz 
Filesize  75.69 KB 
Downloaded  327 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 13 Nov 2009, 18:35    Post subject:  

Quote:
I did this with some fiddling

Monkeymenu was an excellent addition to Puppy 4.2.1
Sadly it is not directly available for SeaMonkey 2
and your fiddling would be of interest to at least one Puppy (me)

Thanks Vovchik

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7834
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 01:56    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Quote:
I did this with some fiddling

Monkeymenu was an excellent addition to Puppy 4.2.1
Sadly it is not directly available for SeaMonkey 2
and your fiddling would be of interest to at least one Puppy (me)

Thanks Vovchik


.. and of course WhoDo loves his Monkeymenu..

Thanks for your work vovchik, much appreciated.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 187
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 02:41    Post subject: G'day I Heard U Missed Me, I'm Back!  

A Fresh Frugal install of NOP 4.31 r1 ( But Alas I'm having a Head Ache getting Compiz Fusion Going But that's a whole Different issue! ), Anyway Now Seamonkey 2.0 installs OK, But the Suckses Message Declares: Menu eNtry: Nun. Please How can I Create One, or @ Least a Desktop ShortCut, Beering in Mind This is XFCE, Thanx Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7834
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 07:30    Post subject:  

in /usr/bin there should be a symlink to /usr/lib/seamonkey-2.0/seamonkey which executes the browser. It should run fine from a prompt. I don't know about xfce so that's all I can tell you. You could possibly drag that shortcut to the desktop and assign it an icon.

Hope that helps.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 187
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 07:39    Post subject: Thanx 01micko
Subject description: Thanx 01micko
 

Smile Thanx 01micko, that Did the Trick Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7834
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 07:56    Post subject:  

That method should work for any Puppy if SM2 doesn't take over the menu entry or there is no SM.

Glad it works.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2006
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 09:51    Post subject:  

Monkeymenu for seamonkey 2.0
Seems to be working well for me.
Thank you vovchik for making me dig

Download and save locally
Open with seamonkey menu "File/Open File"
It will ask to restart seamonkey
Monkeymenu will be found under "Tools" menu.

I do not know why it will not automatically install when clicking on it like other addons.

Monkeymenu

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 187
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 14:11    Post subject: One More Thing Please...  

Also I Discovered the Old Original Seamonkey 1.1.18 in the given path /usr/lib/seamonkey, is it OK 2 Delete this since it's Not removable from the Puppy Package Manager or might I Break sumthing that Depends on it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 14:18    Post subject: Re: One More Thing Please...  

Max Headroom wrote:
Also I Discovered the Old Original Seamonkey 1.1.18 in the given path /usr/lib/seamonkey, is it OK 2 Delete this since it's Not removable from the Puppy Package Manager or might I Break sumthing that Depends on it?


Some packages like gxine depend on seamonkey libs. There is no point in deleting it unless you re-master as it wont save any space. Also, CUPS uses 1.1.18. You have to edit defaultbrowser and cups_shell to make it use SM2, and I have never tried making that work.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 187
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 15:00    Post subject: Thanx DaveS 4 Y'r Prompt Reply
Subject description: Thanx DaveS 4 Y'r Prompt Reply
 

Thanx DaveS 4 Y'r Prompt Reply

I Don't have a Working Printer Connected @Home Yet, But I'll take Y'r Advice & Play it Safe, Perhaps that issue will come out in the wash of Dingo 4.4 Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
edl

Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 12:03    Post subject:  

sorry
but the pet package not function on puppy 4.20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0778s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]