Booting, installing, newbie
vek

pup-431.sfs not found

#1 Post by vek »

My IBM Thinkpad :
Pentium III 933 MHZ
129,968 KB RAM
MS Windows 2000 SP3

I recently bought a Puppy Linux live CD from LinuxCd.org but when I try to run the live CD, I get this error message: "pup-431.sfs not found...dropping out to initial-ramdisk console...#.

Please help...I am a complete newbie to Linux.

Thank you.

T_Hobbit

#2 Post by T_Hobbit »

On Windows, if you access the CD, which files does you see on the CD?
T_Hobbit
:idea: Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy :!: Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested :?:

vek

#3 Post by vek »

the files on the CD:
BOOT
BOOT
HELP
INITRD
ISOLINUX
ISOLINUX.CFG
LOGO.16
PUP 431.SFS
VMLINUZ

T_Hobbit

#4 Post by T_Hobbit »

T_Hobbit
:idea: Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy :!: Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested :?:

Béèm
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

#5 Post by Béèm »

vek wrote:the files on the CD:
BOOT
BOOT
HELP
INITRD
ISOLINUX
ISOLINUX.CFG
LOGO.16
PUP 431.SFS
VMLINUZ
Unless you types it on purpose, file names should be in lower case.
Also it isn't PUP 431.SFS but pup-431.sfs (unless it's a typo as well)
Last edited by Béèm on Thu 05 Nov 2009, 23:30, edited 1 time in total.
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
[url=http://puppylinux.org/wikka/HomePage]Consult Wikka[/url]
Use peppyy's [url=http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html]puppysearch[/url]

Jim1911

#6 Post by Jim1911 »

Hi vek,

Welcome to puppy.

Unfortunately, it looks like LinuxCd.org sent you a defective CD unless you made some typos in your post. Files should be: boot.cat, boot.msg, help.msg, intrd.gz, isolinux.bin, isolinux.cfg, logo.16, pup-431.sfs, and vmlinuz.