Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 16:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
pup-431.sfs not found
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 7 [103 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 22:55    Post subject:  

Can he do a full install if he can't run from CD? I guess it depends on the drives and partitioning he already has... or maybe boot something else to do the preliminary partitioning. Maybe SystemRescueCD....if that one will boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 23:08    Post subject:  

He said that 4.21 booted and he is "using it now";

Am I missing something?

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 23:39    Post subject:  

no rj, I just didn't know if you could do a full install from a frugal. I've never done a Puppy full install. By booting, I took it to mean booting from manually installed HD frugal, not CD, which I assume still can't be booted from. I thought there might be problems in partitioning etc from the working drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2009, 00:15    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
Can he do a full install if he can't run from CD? I guess it depends on the drives and partitioning he already has... or maybe boot something else to do the preliminary partitioning. Maybe SystemRescueCD....if that one will boot?


Yes; full installs can be done from a frugal: but he needs the ability
to create partitions (as you said). I assumed he got a cd to boot, but his explanation of "installing the sfs files to the root of the hard drive"
leaves me perplexed.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2009, 00:55    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:

Yes; full installs can be done from a frugal: but he needs the ability
to create partitions (as you said). I assumed he got a cd to boot, but his explanation of "installing the sfs files to the root of the hard drive"
leaves me perplexed.


Probably just did a manual frugal install. Copy the puppyxxx,sfs, vmlinuz and initrd.gz from CD to a top level directory ("root" he said -- probably did the copy from another linux), then make a grub menu.lst entry to point to it.

That's what he was able to boot 4.2 from, as a guess, rather than the CD. Or, that's what I thought he was saying anyway.

That's also why I was inquiring about how the CD was working after he was running 4.2 -- are there still issues with it --possible timing problems-- particularly burning if it's a burner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2009, 01:27    Post subject:  

Well; if he had a previous other linux it must have been very old
or small.
I once got redhat 9 (2.4 kernel) to install on my pc with 96 mb ram;
but it took 256 to get fedora 7 or a later ubuntu to load.

How I was doing full installs before I bought a rewriteable cd:

Downloaded 4.2rc2 to my existing 4.1.1 install.
Created a directory (Puppy420rc2) on partition
Sda4. Clicked the 4.2rc2 iso file and extracted pup-
420_sfs, initrd.gz, vmlinuz, to Puppy420rc2 on Sda4.

Went to Boot-Grub-Menu-Lst and made an entry for
Puppy 420rc2 frugal. Rebooted to Sda4. Rebooted
again and made a small pup-save file. (necessary!)

Booted back to Sda4. Clicked on Universal Installer
in Menu. Began process for full-install on Sda3.
When it reaches the point of asking where the files
are located, (cd or directory) choose directory.
In the 2 column box, hard-drive will be in the left
list; click it. Then click 420sfs in the right list.
Begin the install. When it reaches the part about
installing grub, just close the rest of the windows.
Go to Boot-Grub-Menu-Lst again and make an entry for
a full install. All done. Reboot.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2348
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2009, 05:29    Post subject: I've been drinking too much coffee  

rjbrewer wrote:
mcewanw,

The hda you refer to is on the title line of grub and doesn't have
an effect on booting.

I have tried many versions of puppy using titles similar to this
and they all boot fine: :)

title Boot you lazy fleabitten hound on hdplanet pluto
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro vga=normal pfix=fsck


Thank goodness you spotted that! :-)

Yes, I must have been hallucinating when I wrote my post. I was actually thinking about hd0,0 (grub nomenclature) when I wrote hda, but now that you mention it, that's what grub uses for sda or hda. I was particularly in dreamland because I didn't consider full-installs as per your stanza above (my installation is a frugal one)... sigh.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2009, 09:40    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
Well; if he had a previous other linux it must have been very old
or small.
I once got redhat 9 (2.4 kernel) to install on my pc with 96 mb ram;
but it took 256 to get fedora 7 or a later ubuntu to load.


Very useful guide to full install with minimal resources, rj.

I think DSL claims it runs on a 486 w 16 megs. If I remember correctly 1Micko got puppy running on a 486 awhile back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2009, 10:20    Post subject:  

Oops!

He did mention Kubuntu, Xubuntu 7.10. The alternate 'cli' versions
will load with very little ram.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxgeoff

Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2009, 14:19    Post subject: booting on tosh 3110ct  

Sorry to leave you all guessing - been on a plane all day.

So, answers: current install was fluxbuntu running on ubuntu 7.1. With that running, I just copied the pup_421.sfs to / on hda1. This allowed me to boot puppy from the CD

I do recognize that I'll need a full install with my 128MB. However, After boot, HDA1 is not unmountable, so the full install falls over trying to write the grub files. I'm assuming that I'm going to need to manually partition the drives and install - except that I think I may now have lost the .sfs file on /, so maybe will struggle to boot.

I'm away all week, so won't get to work on this again till next weekend. Meanwhile, I appreciate all the suggestions and if anyone has better ideas than what I'm doing, fee free to share. Also, if this is a timeout issue on the CD drive and a fix is possible, that would be loverly to see!

Thnaks, Geoff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2009, 14:53    Post subject:  

Using a g-parted cd should let you work on the drive partitions.
_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2009, 21:12    Post subject:  

As I mentioned earlier. I've used SystemRescueCD in the past for doing partitioning -- it has gparted and is a minimal linux LiveCD.

http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 00:30    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
As I mentioned earlier. I've used SystemRescueCD in the past for doing partitioning -- it has gparted and is a minimal linux LiveCD.

http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page


My old g-parted cd was having problems any way; so I burned
a system rescue disk. Very nice!

thanks

Edit;

There are potential problems with the system rescue disk.
The Gparted on the disk is apparently the same one used by
the latest Ubuntus and the latest Puppy with 2.6.30.5 kernel.

It creates partitions with 256 inodes.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 22:11    Post subject:  

Hi RJBrewer, I actually haven't downloaded that one in quite awhile, so I have an older version -- would it be any use to you if I could find a way to get it to you?

Also, how would I tell if it is the proper gparted version for you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 23:26    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
Hi RJBrewer, I actually haven't downloaded that one in quite awhile, so I have an older version -- would it be any use to you if I could find a way to get it to you?

Also, how would I tell if it is the proper gparted version for you?


I was not actually in need of it.....just preparing for eventualities.

Both Grub and Gparted on 4.3.1 (new kernel) are different now and
adjustments have to be made if using them on a drive with older
puppies.
The new Grub2 will add to the confusion.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 7 [103 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 2.5050s ][ Queries: 12 (2.4296s) ][ GZIP on ]