Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 05:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Pwireless2 (Version 1.0)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 17 [248 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
swiatmar


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 239
Location: Danube, AT

PostPosted: Tue 16 Mar 2010, 13:14    Post subject:  

thank you jemimah Smile it works now
I didn't had to put the pwireless in to startup folder. I went to the etc/init.d directory and click it once and since then it work.
But anoter one question. Can I slow down the starting process of pwireless2? It startup to fast- so it doesn't get the connection and it shows me IP adress failed. so I have to start pwireless manually on every start. I tried to set sleep in the startup folder - but it change only the startup of the trace icon but not pwireless.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 16 Mar 2010, 14:21    Post subject:  

If you move /etc/init.d/Pwireless2 to the startup folder, I think it will fix it. That will make it run later and make sure it actually runs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1051
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 17:10    Post subject:  

Hey Jemimah,

Just wanna say I've got all the laptops in house using Pwireless2 and it's awesome! The autoconnect for me is the best thing about it, and second best thing is probably the one click connect/disconnect. Thanks so much Jemimah.

Wireless settings are pretty boring, just mac filtering with no encryption. I should try and set up some form of encryption though...

Battleshooter

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 17:21    Post subject:  

Thanks for the encouragement. I'm hoping I'll get around to updating this soon. I need to see what Barry's doing with SNS and maybe learn a few things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 17:37    Post subject:  

Thanks jemimah

I just wish to second that on the pwireless2 I have is as the only way to connect with my new MyWolfe-012 and like is very much. You di d a great job on it.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ahm

Joined: 28 Mar 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 28 Mar 2010, 11:15    Post subject: Bug in Pwireless2 Beta 2.9 Scanned AP Display
Subject description: Bug in Pwireless2 Beta 2.9 Scanned AP Display
 

First of all, Pwireless2 is great. Much better than the old Network Wizard. I use Browser Linux on my Asus netbook and Pwireless2 makes connecting easy. At least that was the case. I recently got a new router - a Netgear WGR614v10 - just a basic G router really. Imagine my surprise when my Ubuntu laptop, my Windows 7 netbook and my old HP XP laptop would see and connect to my AP but my little Asus netbook with Browser Linux 362 wouldn't. What I found most amusing was that it would see all the many APs that exist in my condo complex but not mine. Quite baffling. After some futzing around with router settings I finally went to the code for Pwireless2. In the directory where the scripts are located I found "get_scan_results". Here wpa_cli is used to get a list of APs and then that list is filtered and sent to the main program for display. One part of the pipeline is:
Code:
egrep ^[0123456789]

which essentially gets rid of the line of text put out by the wpa_cli command. The only problem with this is that not every wireless AP MAC starts with a number. Mine starts with a "c03f" which is assigned to Netgear. I "fixed" the problem by just adding a "c" to the expression. Again, Pwireless2 is a great little program for Puppy Linux. Keep at it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4275

PostPosted: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 00:29    Post subject:  

should it then be [a-f0-9] ??? to cover all hex values
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drongo


Joined: 10 Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 02:38    Post subject: hex values  

Yes, MAC addresses can contain any hex value, as can WEP and WPA passwords!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 22:53    Post subject:  

Yep, my bad. I'll fix that for the next version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scrappy


Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 14:09    Post subject:  

hello all, i am new on this forum and i am using puppy linux 4.3.1 beta 2 startdust. This version uses the pwireless2 program.

I have a toshiba laptop with a realtek 8192 wifi card and have installed the linux driver for it : r8192se_pci-14.0115.2010-k2.6.30.5.pet.

I have an internet connection but it is verry poor. The speed is so slow that a programm like pidgin loses its connection verry often. I have tryed this laptop on a cable and that worked perfect, lan card was nicely picked up by puppy.

ndiswrapper i no solution because i have tryed different window drivers and had no succes at all.

Can someone help me ?? My knolledge on linux is poor so please be patient with me Smile

ps, i am sorry if this post is posted on the wronge tread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 14:37    Post subject:  

That driver is still "experimental," so you may be stuck waiting until a stable driver is developed.

If it's only the wpa-supplicant support that's flaky, you might find that the traditional network wizard works better for you.

You can try posting in the hardware forum and see if anyone else has had success with that card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scrappy


Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 15:18    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
That driver is still "experimental," so you may be stuck waiting until a stable driver is developed.

If it's only the wpa-supplicant support that's flaky, you might find that the traditional network wizard works better for you.

You can try posting in the hardware forum and see if anyone else has had success with that card.


....thx for the rappid reply. I will try the traditional network wizzard and see if that helps. I have looked around on this forum but didn't find any usefull info other than the posted linux driver. Will try the hardware forum if this doesn't work.....

thx again jemimah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scrappy


Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 01:07    Post subject:  

Sorry to say that the traditional wizzard had no effect at all, it doesn't see any interface at all. Will try to get some info on the hardware form.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
husker_pick

Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 21 Apr 2010, 03:18    Post subject:  

I found Pwireless2 when checking out different puplets (Wolfpup) and it said no wireless adapters found. It worked in 4.3.1 and other Distros like Zenwalk. Trying to find a very simple mother-in-law distro for an ancient slow notebook.

I have a very old orinoco pcmcia Lucent Wavelan Silver 802.11b card that shows up as eth0 in iwconfig.

YOUR ADVICE BELOW SOLVED THE PROBLEM. (After deleting profiles and disabeling rc.network per above posts)

Try running /etc/init.d/Pwireless2 (from command line or clicking it should work) and see if that fixes it. If it does, you should be able to move it to /root/Startup and it should get run from there.

Thanks so much for a good wireless gui for puppy maybe this should be the default launch location.

pick
EDIT P.S. You're getting very close to wicd!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
player_one

Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jun 2010, 09:42    Post subject: Pwireless2 and fluppy  

Hello Jemimah, one of our users (italianpuppy.org) is experiencing problems with Pwireless2 in puppy 4.3.1 (doesn't find any wireless connection), while on fluppy with the same notebook it works fine. So I was wondering: is there any difference between the 2 Pwireless2? Maybe the one on fluppy is the most updated? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 17 [248 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0885s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]