Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 11:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Pwireless2 (Version 1.0)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 17 [248 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jun 2010, 09:49    Post subject:  

Yes there are a few updates in Fluppy that aren't in this version. It's probably time to update the pet. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
player_one

Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jun 2010, 09:54    Post subject:  

Ok, thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jun 2010, 22:29    Post subject:  

I've posted an update. Most of the changes are minor bugfixes and enhancements.

I no longer consider this Beta, so enjoy!

(Keep in mind I only test on 4.3 so other Puplets may need to repackage it if it init.d scripts work in a different way or something.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jun 2010, 23:12    Post subject:  

Hi jemimah,

Couple of questions..

1) I plan to re-package this up for Lucid Puppy.. do you think it necessary to recompile wpa_supplicant and wpa_cli against the ubuntu libs for compatibility? If so, can you post your configure file please? Also the Lupu kernel is recompiled against gcc-4.4.3. Would that make a difference?

2) what about dhcpcd? It's already there, but in Lupu, there is a symlink in /usr/local/sbin/dhcpcd to /usr/sbin/dhcpcd. Can I use those and just add the extra stuff you have in /lib/dhcpcd/ ?

Thanks for this cool app, my wife's machine has been running an early beta for about four months or so without a problem.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jun 2010, 23:20    Post subject:  

You can probably use the native wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd as long a they are sufficiently recent (which I'm sure they are in LuPu). I only include binaries in the pet because in a lot of Puplets these are too old, and upgrading breaks the Network Wizard.

I'm attaching the .config for wpa_supplicant.

You can edit /usr/local/Pwireless2/config to tell it which wpa-supplicant and dhcpcd to use.

Let me know if you have any difficulty.
.config.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  .config.gz 
Filesize  5.14 KB 
Downloaded  601 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jun 2010, 23:38    Post subject:  

OK, thanks for speedy response Smile

Shall edit /usr/local/Pwireless2/config per your advice. The wpa_* execs are in /sbin in Lupu. ... dhcpcd should be ok as the symlink is already there on /usr/local/sbin.

These files are the extras in /lib/dhcpcd

    99-dhcpup
    99-down
    99-ifup
    99-release
    99-stop
    99-timeout
    99-up


I'll add those as well and let you know how it goes.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun 2010, 00:32    Post subject:  

One thing to check for is if your wpa_supplicant supports the -f option to write the log to a file. I think that's not on by default, but it is rather useful, and Pwireless2 needs it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun 2010, 01:01    Post subject:  

Code:
# wpa_supplicant -h   
wpa_supplicant v0.6.9
Copyright (c) 2003-2009, Jouni Malinen <j@w1.fi> and contributors

This program is free software. You can distribute it and/or modify it
under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2.

Alternatively, this software may be distributed under the terms of the
BSD license. See README and COPYING for more details.

This product includes software developed by the OpenSSL Project
for use in the OpenSSL Toolkit (http://www.openssl.org/)

usage:
  wpa_supplicant [-BddhKLqqstuvW] [-P<pid file>] [-g<global ctrl>] \
        -i<ifname> -c<config file> [-C<ctrl>] [-D<driver>] [-p<driver_param>] \
        [-b<br_ifname>] [-f<debug file>] \
        [-N -i<ifname> -c<conf> [-C<ctrl>] [-D<driver>] \
        [-p<driver_param>] [-b<br_ifname>] ...]

drivers:
  wext = Linux wireless extensions (generic)
  nl80211 = Linux nl80211/cfg80211
  atmel = ATMEL AT76C5XXx (USB, PCMCIA)
  wired = wpa_supplicant wired Ethernet driver
options:
  -b = optional bridge interface name
  -B = run daemon in the background
  -c = Configuration file
  -C = ctrl_interface parameter (only used if -c is not)
  -i = interface name
  -d = increase debugging verbosity (-dd even more)
  -D = driver name (can be multiple drivers: nl80211,wext)
  -f = log output to debug file instead of stdout
  -g = global ctrl_interface
  -K = include keys (passwords, etc.) in debug output
  -s = log output to syslog instead of stdout
  -t = include timestamp in debug messages
  -h = show this help text
  -L = show license (GPL and BSD)
  -p = driver parameters
  -P = PID file
  -q = decrease debugging verbosity (-qq even less)
  -u = enable DBus control interface
  -v = show version
  -W = wait for a control interface monitor before starting
  -N = start describing new interface
example:
  wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
#


Looks ok I think

Thanks

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun 2010, 01:08    Post subject:  

Yup looks good.

I had an extra Pwireless2.old script in /etc/init.d. I have removed it and uploaded a fixed pet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun 2010, 03:09    Post subject:  

Well it works, Very Happy but there is a bug in the Lupu /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit script Sad
Code:
#100227 choose default network tool...
NETCHOICE='other' #100304
DEFAULTCONNECT="`cat /usr/local/bin/defaultconnect | tail -n 1 | tr -s " " | cut -f 2 -d " "`"
[ "`grep 'gprs' /usr/local/bin/defaultconnect`" != "" ] && DEFAULTCONNECT='pgprs-connect'
[ "$DEFAULTCONNECT" = "gkdial" ] && DEFAULTCONNECT="pupdial" #for older pups.
case $DEFAULTCONNECT in
 Pwireless2)
  NETCHOICE='Pwireless2'
 ;;
 net-setup.sh)
  NETCHOICE='net-setup.sh'
 ;;
 net_wiz_classic)
  NETCHOICE='net_wiz_classic'
 ;;
 sns)
  NETCHOICE='sns'
 ;;
 *) #try determine which tool was used to setup networking...
  if [ -s /etc/simple_network_setup/connections ];then #100306
   NETCHOICE='sns'
  else
   CHECKOLDWIZ="`ls -1 /etc/*[0-9]mode 2>/dev/null`" #ex: eth0mode, wlan0mode.
   if [ "$CHECKOLDWIZ" != "" -a -d /usr/local/net_setup ];then
    NETCHOICE='net_wiz_classic'
   else
    CHECKNEWWIZ="`ls -1 /etc/network-wizard/network/interfaces 2>/dev/null`"
    if [ "$CHECKNEWWIZ" != "" ];then
     NETCHOICE='net-setup.sh'
    else
     [ -f /usr/local/Pwireless2/interface ] && NETCHOICE='Pwireless2' #100304
    fi
   fi
  fi
 ;;
esac
[ -f /etc/init.d/Pwireless2 ] && chmod 644 /etc/init.d/Pwireless2 #prevent jemimah's script from running. 100304 100513


I tried Pwireless2 pfix=ram and rebooted, but the permissions on /etc/init.d/Pwireless2 were 644 ... why? ....So I dug up where they get changed. That's all well and good if you chose something beforehand, but probably not good for Pwireless2. I think this is the same script in Quirky.

So, what did I do? Yeah, one of my gross hacks Rolling Eyes
Code:
set -x

if [ -f /usr/local/Pwireless2/interface ];then echo true
   else chmod 755 /etc/init.d/Pwireless2 2>/dev/null
   exec /etc/init.d/Pwireless2
fi

. /usr/local/Pwireless2/config

WIFI_IF=`cat /usr/local/Pwireless2/interface`

[ -z $WIFI_IF ] && exit




gtrayicon --activate="/usr/local/Pwireless2/connect" --activate-icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/network-offline.png --deactivate="/usr/local/Pwireless2/disconnect" --deactivate-icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/network-transmit-receive.png --menu-file=/usr/local/Pwireless2/network.menu --tooltip='Click to connect or disconnect Pwireless2'&
$WPA_CLI -i $WIFI_IF status|grep COMPLETED
if [[ $? == 0 ]] ; then
   sleep 1
        killall -SIGCONT gtrayicon
   $DHCPCD -n $WIFI_IF
   exit
fi

pidof dhcpcd
if [[ $? != 0  ]] ; then
   /usr/local/Pwireless2/start-dhcp
fi


Far from perfect, but will do for me until woof is fixed.

Thanks for all your help.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun 2010, 10:44    Post subject:  

@Jemima- I'm using the beta version, how do I upgrade to 1.0? Just install the new one and overwrite the beta, or uninstall/reinstall, or....

thanks- gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun 2010, 11:02    Post subject:  

Uninstall the old version, then install the new version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jun 2010, 08:46    Post subject:  

Been using PWireless2 for a few days on my Acer Aspire One, first on Puppy 431, then Fluppy 003. Works beautifully- until today. Neither Puppy would detect any networks. I tried reconfiguring again and again, deleting old profiles here and there, tried live usb without a save file- nada.

So I woke Windows XP from it's hibernation, to check that the computer itself was ok, and that worked. Gave Puppy 431 a last chance before I wiped it and re-re-re-re-installed Ubuntu NBR, and it made it's wireless connection on boot-up with no intervention. Haven't tried Fluppy yet, but I expect it to work. EDIT: yes, it does.

So....if your Puppy won't see any wireless networks, just run Windows XP to straighten things out.

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 418
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jun 2010, 11:55    Post subject:  

Just downloaded Pwireless2, and tried to use it, to configure a second ethernet interface.
Situation:
eth0, auto dhcp, UP, connected to Internet.
eth1, not configured.

Trying to achieve, eth1 configured as 192.168.3.1/24, nothing more.
Gateway for machine is already defined, so should not be specified again.
DNS servers are already defined.

Run Pwireless2, select "DHCP" tab. Three interfaces are listed, lo, eth0, and eth1.
I click on eth1, then unset the "auto" box so static boxes become available.
Enter 192.168.3.1 and 255.255.255.0, leave rest blank.
Pwireless2 complains with "invalid gateway" error message, does nothing.

Run network wizard, specify only IP address and network mask, no problem, done and dusted.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jun 2010, 14:16    Post subject:  

gyro wrote:

Trying to achieve, eth1 configured as 192.168.3.1/24, nothing more.
Gateway for machine is already defined, so should not be specified again.
DNS servers are already defined.


How are these already defined?

I could remove the error checking but I don't understand why I should do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 17 [248 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0895s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]