Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 14:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Pwireless2 (Version 1.0)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 17 [248 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 03:25    Post subject:  

Forget all that BS I posted earlier! While I disabled the network wizard i did not delete the profile (fine print... do please make it larger for idiots... er .. like.. no..)

It is working now.. Sorry to cause you grief.

I owe you one Wink

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 03:30    Post subject:  

Well see that's the problem and where I need the most help. It would be nice to figure out how to integrate it, or at least make it play nice with network wizard. But figuring out other people's gtkdialog code is headache-inducing to say the least! (and I thought Perl was the only write-only language) Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 03:36    Post subject:  

You'll get there. There's a couple of Bash/gtkdialog gurus around here... just shoot them a PM if you get stuck, I've only been coding in bash for less than 12 months and that's what I do.

Testers are the hard ones to snag!

Cheers and thanks.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 04:26    Post subject:  

I've tried it on 3 Puppies. Using full installs.
4.1.1 and 4.1.2 with the 2.6.25.16 kernel and 4.3.1 with 2.6.30.5
kernel.
Tried with both Atheros cards in my signature and a Belkin
f5d7050 with zd1211rw module.
The Atheros cards use ath5k in the latest kernel and have a
difficult time with wpa in the network wizard, but connect
easily with Pwireless2. Belkin works fine also.
It worked with 4.1.2 and 4.3.1 but not with 4.1.1.
When I deleted it from 4.1.1 it seems to have taken some
necessary wpa files from the standard wizard along with it.
I restored the files with a live 4.1.1 cd and the wizard works
again.
I could only get the gtray icon to show up on 4.3.1.

Pwireless2 can make connection much easier for new
Puppy users. I like it a lot.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 11:40    Post subject:  

rjbrewer, thanks for testing! Which files did you need to restore to fix 4.1.1? I suspect the libgio dependency is why the applet doesn't show up on earlier versions. Maybe I'll add a link to it in the original post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 13:37    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
rjbrewer, thanks for testing! Which files did you need to restore to fix 4.1.1?


Looks like I removed more than profiles when I initially tried it.
Did the pwireless2 install again, deleted it from package manager
and ran netwizard and it worked okay. False alarm.
With 4.1.1, pwireless2 window doesn't show a scan.
There were a lot of changes to wireless in the 4.xx series development,
some having to do with wpa. Mostly fixed by 4.1.2.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 15:06    Post subject: Am I missing something?  

jemimah. 01micko mentioned disabling the network manager, maybe that's why I've had problems with pwireless2. I'd removed the profiles from /etc/network-wizard/profiles and wpa_profiles but couldn't see how to disable network manager.
BTW for information, my wireless is Edimax EW7608Pg, pcmcia using the rt61pci driver and I'm using it in Puppy 4.2.1 with 2.6.25.16 kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 00:27    Post subject:  

To make sure it's absolutely and completely disabled, you can move or rename the file /etc/rc.d/rc.network and reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hayagix

Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 16:08    Post subject:  

Pwireless2 is a tremendous tool! Love the quick connect/disconnect and readout at top of screen. This certainly rivals gnome network manager and wicd which seem to be the best tools for managing wireless in linux.
I use network wizard to setup the card. I've switched back to ndiswrapper from the included rt2500usb linux drivers. Ndiswrapper is much, much faster darn it. Set ndiswrapper to load at boot time with the boot manager. Do not create any profiles with network wizard and rename it in rc.d to prevent a conflict. Exit to a prompt seemed to do the trick to get pwireless2 to detect the network card for those of us running live.
Thanks again for developing this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DapperMe17

Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 17:08    Post subject:  

Hello,

Sounds like a nice tool!

Does anyone know if it will work with the Broadcom BCM4306 chip? The PC uses WPA encryption. (HP laptops)

Neither stock wireless managers pick up my network in Puppy. Wireless connectivity is the only thing preventing use of Puppy.

In Ubuntu, it's runs as WLAN0...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 19:47    Post subject:  

DapperMe17, I'd say it's worth a shot. If your hardware is detected, and supported by wpa_supplicant (which it is if it works on Ubuntu) this should work for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 20:10    Post subject:  

DapperMe17 wrote:
Does anyone know if it will work with the Broadcom BCM4306 chip? ...
(HP laptops)

Broadcom and HP; a Linux-unfriendly combination.
You probably need the proprietary Broadcom wifi driver -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=346454#346454

DapperMe17 wrote:
The PC uses WPA encryption.

The type of encryption is determined by the wifi router, not by the computers connected to it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 01:53    Post subject:  

I've posted an updated version that should make Pwireless2 more helpful and less buggy. Please test it and let me know how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 04:50    Post subject:  

I did a new install of Puppy - in case I'd corrupted anything with my previous efforts - and with /etc/rc.d/rc.network disabled and profiles removed pwireless tries to connect. It gets as far as 4-way handshake, but then stops, I'm wondering if it's because I'm using WPA2 encryption, as to connect using Network manager I have to select the WPA2 button and change 'security' from ' open ' to ' restricted '. These settings show up in my network profile ( line 3: WPA_TYPE="2" and line 9: SECURE=" restricted " ) but there is no provision to set them in pwireless, although wpa_supplicant supports WPA2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 06:11    Post subject:  

@ jemimah

I have tried out Pwireless Beta 2 with BrowserLinux v355 built on Puppy 413 with the following hardware:

3Com 3CRUSB10075 ( built in driver with Puppy )
Netgear WPN111 ( Atheros Comms ) with NDISWrapper

Both are unable to detect any wireless networks and I am told at the top of the screen that WLAN0 is down.

However if I use PWireless 0.8.4 it does detect the networks.

I do not have any 'saved' profiles so the option to load them in PW beta 2 is not available to me.

Am I simply overlooking something here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 17 [248 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0658s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]