Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 00:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
BaCon - Bash-based Basic-to-C converter/compiler
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 33 of 36 [526 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 Next
Author Message
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 12:38    Post subject:  

Dear Terry,

Glad to see youa re so busy Smile There is a link to UXP binaries on the forum:

http://208.109.22.214/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77793&sid=9977951c618ccb16cc4e27cb706abdd5

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 21:35    Post subject:  

Hey guys,

@ L18L

yea, isn't it funny how such a small mistake can make you look like such a big dummy Embarassed ! I went back and sure enough- no line after the end. I put one there and got a good run through. Thanks m8!
@ vovchik

I see what you mean. Tried the hug_imports just for 'grins & giggles' to see what would happen. what a mess! LOL Thanks for the fore-warning!


@ everyone

Now I have more questions.... Shocked Rolling Eyes

I need to incorporate a text-area on my window. Also, I will have a listbox to list the 'records' within a file (i.e. lines of data contained within). Very Happy

I've looked through the docs I have, but do not see any indication of a text area command. I'm sure it is probably something i am overlooking - like multiline or something - so I ask, is there a means of producing multi-lined entry?

As far as the second issue, I have the listbox set up. Question is what would be the best method of inserting data obtained from the read-in of a file? Can I simply create an array and print it to the listbox?

Exclamation You guys are the best! I have gained a lot of insight from you and appreciate it more than I can express. Exclamation

Thanks!

E

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5042
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 22:47    Post subject:  

If you`re using OPEN to read the file then it`s already in an array, correct?
If your using Txt$ = EXEC$(CONCAT$("cat ", $PathFile)) as I suggested then:
Code:
SPLIT Txt$ BY NL$ TO File$ Size fileSz

Now the file`s contents is in the array $File$[]

The MARK is Bacon`s "Label", it only shows text and can do multiple lines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 23:48    Post subject:  

Thanks sunburnt,

Yea, the info is already in an array, just not sure how to print it in the list box. assuming the 'MARK' attribute will do that? Confused

Also, the multi lined area is not the listbox. It will actually be a 'notes' area - for entering your personal notations. As an ENTRY box, i would assume there would be some sort of word-wrap or multi-line setting to use in order to accomplish this. Haven't found the code yet though.

Thanks!

E

[update] 022813 23:32 est

Looks like i figured out the print to listbox (finally Smile ):

TEXT(listbox,variable)

Still working on how to make a multi-line ENTRY box, so any help will be appreciated Very Happy

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 04:41    Post subject:  

Dear e_mattis,

This may or may not be what you are after, but HUG's EDIT box allows for multiple lines:

Code:

EDIT(xsize, ysize)
Type: directive
Defines a multiline text widget with a width of <xsize> and a height of <ysize>.
Returns the ID of the created text widget.


With kind regards,
vovchik

PS. For reading in text files, which I do often, I use my own hand-rolled CAT command:

Code:

' --------------------
FUNCTION CAT(STRING FILENAME$)
' --------------------
   LOCAL fileline$, txt$ TYPE STRING
   IF FILEEXISTS(FILENAME$) THEN
      OPEN FILENAME$ FOR READING AS catfile
      WHILE NOT(ENDFILE(catfile)) DO
         READLN fileline$ FROM catfile
         txt$ = CONCAT$(txt$, fileline$, NL$)
      WEND
      CLOSE FILE catfile
   END IF
   RETURN CHOP$(txt$)
END FUNCTION

x$ = CAT("/etc/profile")
PRINT x$


And, as sunburnt has said, if you use NL$ as your SPLIT delimiter, every separate line will be an array element. If you don't want to use arrays, you can always use my little GETWORD$ function:

Code:

' --------------
FUNCTION GETWORD$(STRING mystring$, NUMBER word_number, STRING delimiter$)
' --------------
   LOCAL  i, mypos, n TYPE NUMBER
   LOCAL string_temp$ TYPE STRING
   i = 0
   mypos  = 0
   n = 1
   string_temp$ = ""
   mystring$ = CONCAT$(mystring$, delimiter$)
   REPEAT
      mypos  = INSTR(mystring$, delimiter$, n)
      INCR i
      IF i = word_number THEN
         string_temp$ = MID$(mystring$, n, (mypos - n))
      END IF
      n = mypos + 1
   UNTIL mypos IS FALSE
   RETURN string_temp$
END FUNCTION

x$ = CAT("/etc/profile")
' grab first line
y$ = GETWORD$(x$, 1, NL$)
PRINT y$
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 06:22    Post subject: Peg Solitaire - BaCon version  

Hi guys,

This is a little game I programmed in Bacon durng the summer but revised it today to take into account the stricter type casting in newer BaCon versions. The excercise was interesting, at least to me, for a number of reasons:

The graphics are all internal to the source - they are generated internally and not loaded from disk.

The program shows how to change mouse cursors and how to create a unique taskbar icon.

My implementation, after some long and hard thought, avoids any real movement of objects. They are simply hidden or shown, and I keep track of thier status.

The rsvg lib is put to good use, and gtk and gkd imports are used because native HUG did not have them.

The program demostrates how to REGISTER new widgets in HUG.

I compiled the binary in lucid (using Bacon beta 1.30 and hug 0.83) and then UPX'd it, so it is not large (23k).

The compile line was:

Code:

bacon -o -s -o -Os -o -fdata-sections -o -ffunction-sections -o -Wl,--gc-sections psol-1


Have fun.... Smile

With kind regards,
vovchik

PS. The game is winnable, but it ain't easy. Press the Help button for instructions on how to play. The archive contains a compiled binary and the source.
psol1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.92 KB
 Viewed   632 Time(s)

psol1.png

psol1.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  psol1.tar.gz 
Filesize  27.72 KB 
Downloaded  186 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 12:02    Post subject:  

@ Vovchik

That was exactly what I have been searching for! Very Happy Never thought it would be listed as 'edit'. Thanks so much!

Also like the 'getword function'. may make it easier to accomplish what I will need. I will give it a shot!

Nice game, too! Haven't gotten to play it much yet, no wins Sad but it may just replace my old "time-killer" solitaire card game at this rate!

You, my friend, are awsome! Cool

@everyone

I really appreciate all your inputs. It is important to me that I learn how to make a 'program' for Puppy as I intend for this OS to be my goto in the future. Thank you so much!

Thanks!

E

PS: So you guys will get an idea, here is a screen of what I'm working on.
man_db.png
 Description   GUI for manufacturer database
 Filesize   18.83 KB
 Viewed   606 Time(s)

man_db.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2578
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 13:48    Post subject:  

e_mattis wrote:
PS: So you guys will get an idea, here is a screen of what I'm working on.
No country, no internationalization.
Globalisation disabled. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5042
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 13:58    Post subject:  

The commands are:
Code:
TEXT for entering or changing text in a widget.
GRAB$ for getting text from a widget.

This transfers text from widget to widget by widget`s index ( List or Combo ):
Code:
TEXT(widget, GET(index))

Transfer text from widget to widget by widget`s text ( Button, Mark, List, Combo, etc.):
Code:
TEXT(widget, GRAB$(widget))


It sounded like you were looking for a Label widget, sorry...

Looking at your GUI, it looks like it could be for both display and entry.
To enter or edit an item use a ENTRY, to display text only use a MARK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 22:20    Post subject:  

@L18L

Yea, sorry bud, haven't gotten to putting in the internationalization yet. Gotta get my coding right first for the basis, then I can get 'fancy' Very Happy

@sunburnt

Thanks m8, that should help make my coding a little prettier when I feel comfortable that I understand it properly. Smile And you are correct, it will be used to both enter and view information. Figure editing can be done by changing displayed info and then saving.

Thanks you guys - all the help has made it possible for me to actually write stuff! I know I will need your inputs as I trudge through on this journey. It is great to know I can count on some assistance along the way!

Thanks!

E

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 23:44    Post subject:
Subject description: opening web page via variable
 

Hey guys,

Well, i'm back again Very Happy I have run into a situation I can't resolve with my limited knowledge.

I have an ENTRY box t input a web address. When the entry is reviewed, if desired, I have a button to launch the web browser to the address listed in the ENTRY box.

Here is how I have it set up at the present. it opens the browser but instead of the web page I get the 'FILE:///' index:

Code:

webz$=GRAB$(webaddy)
IF LEFT$(webz$,7) = "http://" THEN doit
   webz$=CONCAT$("http://",webz$)
END IF

LABEL doit

SYSTEM "exec defaultbrowser webz$ &"




would it work better to just use the GRAB$ in the SYSTEM cmd? If the http:// is not included in webaddy, would this disrupt the flow?

Thanks!

E

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 04:30    Post subject:  

Dear e_mattis,

Just a little mod to your code:

Code:

SUB LAUNCH_BROWSER(STRING my_url$)
  SYSTEM CONCAT$("exec defaultbrowser ",  my_url$, " &")
END SUB

webz$=GRAB$(webaddy)
IF LEFT$(webz$, 7) = "http://" AND LEN(CHOP$(webz)) > 7 THEN
  LAUNCH_BROWSER(webz$)
ELIF LEN(CHOP$(webz$)) > 1 THEN
  webz$ = CONCAT$("http://", webz$)
  LAUNCH_BROWSER(webz$)
ELSE
  PRINT "Bad URL. Try again."
END IF


I am assuming you want to make sure that you include the "http://" before you pass the URL to the browser, so you want a properly formatted URL. The tests for validity above are, of course, not good or exhaustive. You could "ping" the site to ensure that it exists first - or use BaCon's networking function - to see that it is responding before launching your browser.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 18:34    Post subject:  

Thanks Vovchik!

That was exactly what I needed Very Happy You are AWSOME!

Now all that is left is to construct the 'remove record', 'edit record', and add internationalization. Cool

Almost there! Wink

Thanks!

E

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 23:48    Post subject:  

Evil or Very Mad ok, so i've been working on this like the past 5 hours....

I have created the SUB to remove the unwanted record. The flow I am following is this:

clear gui workarea
find the record selected in list
confirm removal of record
find record in database file
remove record from database file and list
tidy up

I am at the 'confirm removal of record' task. Here is the code I have thus far for this section:

Code:

  killmsg$=CONCAT$("You are about to delete ",kilme$," !")
  kilme_dlg= MSGDIALOG(killmsg$,350,110,1,1)
  SHOW(kilme_dlg)
  CALLBACK(kilme_dlg,killme_btn)
  PRINT kmv


I have the 'killme_btn' FUNCTION outside the above SUB.
Code:

  FUNCTION killme_btn( NUMBER value)
     HIDE (kilme_dlg)
     IF value = GTK_RESPONSE_OK THEN
         kmv = 0
     ELIF value = GTK_REPONSE_DELETE_EVENT THEN
         kmv=1
    END IF
    RETURN kmv
  END FUNCTION


My problem is two-fold; 1. KMV shows '0' as soon as the selection is made in the listbox and does not change after the MSGDIALOG FUCTION Sad (value kmv not being returned?) and 2. - this is most likely why there is a problem #1 Embarassed - I cannot figure out the process of using buttons with MSGDIALOG (ie how they react/respond or how to manipulate the result of the button being pushed).

I have also tried CALLBACKX(kilme_dlg,killme_btn,dmv) which gave compile errors because dmv is not assigned yet (?) - even when I set it to 0 (dmv=0) beforehand.

In the Winbloze basic i'm familiar with, the code would be :
Code:
CONFIRM"Delete this file?";a$
LOWERCASE$(a$)
  IF a$ = "y" OR a$ = 'yes" THEN dmv=0:GOTO next
  dmv=1
[next]


this would send kmv to the PRINT line as '0' if OK_BTN was pushed or as '1' if the window were closed without the button being pushed.

I would prefer that the yes/no buttons be used in the dialog and want to set it up so that only the 'yes' button would go through to find the selected file in the database.

I have consulted these references for help:

http://www.basic-converter.org/documentation.html

http://www.basic-converter.org/hugdoc.html

http://basic-converter.proboards.com

I still cannot seem to put it all together Crying or Very sad Can someone, anyone, please explain how I might get this to work and how to use the MSGDIALOG buttons? All help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

E

.

Last edited by e_mattis on Mon 04 Mar 2013, 00:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mobeus


Joined: 26 Aug 2010
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 00:18    Post subject:  

E
Could this be the problem? From http://www.basic-converter.org/hugdoc.html#MSGDIALOG
Quote:
The dialog can be connected to a callback function which should have two arguments, the first for the dialog and the second for the button.
SUB HandleError(NUMBER dialog, int button)
Your function def is
Code:
FUNCTION killme_btn( NUMBER value)


Regards,
Mobeus

_________________
/root for the home team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 33 of 36 [526 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1187s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0138s) ][ GZIP on ]