Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 18:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Want straight up access to all Ubuntu/Debian packages?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
shanali4

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 21 Dec 2009, 03:47    Post_subject:  

Apt-Get is not working on my puppy linux plz help
aptget.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   14.18 KB
 Viewed   1238 Time(s)

aptget.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tgp1994

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Location: C:/Documents and Settings/*******/My Documents/VMWare/Puppy Linux/Puppy Linux.vmdk//./root

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 01:20    Post_subject:  

Make sure you extracted it correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shanali4

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 02:07    Post_subject:  

tgp1994 wrote:
Make sure you extracted it correctly.

What should be extracted. I have extracted nothing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tgp1994

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Location: C:/Documents and Settings/*******/My Documents/VMWare/Puppy Linux/Puppy Linux.vmdk//./root

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 16:17    Post_subject:  

Well, then that poses the question; "What did you do?"

Did you install it by double clicking on the debian package? (
That actually isn't the proper way to do it, you can find some instructions on the first post or the wiki page I created.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tgp1994

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Location: C:/Documents and Settings/*******/My Documents/VMWare/Puppy Linux/Puppy Linux.vmdk//./root

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 23:02    Post_subject:  

Ok, I figured out the answer to the problem of "Cannot detect suitable environment."

The reason the error is coming up is because dpkg is not installed. I will update the wiki page right away.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cprivers

Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat 04 Dec 2010, 05:27    Post_subject:  

I got it installed with Synaptic, but when I run Synapyic, there is nothing on the page. How to I get the repositories?

Thanks,

Chuck

_________________
It's always easy when you know how!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tgp1994

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Location: C:/Documents and Settings/*******/My Documents/VMWare/Puppy Linux/Puppy Linux.vmdk//./root

PostPosted: Sat 04 Dec 2010, 11:38    Post_subject:  

Chuck,

Are the repositories added in your sources.list file? Check the file in /etc/apt/sources.list, and if you wouldn't mind pasting it here, that would help Smile

If you need a list of repositories, take a look at my article here, then in the Steps section, scroll down to part 12. Make sure you follow the steps all the way though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cprivers

Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat 04 Dec 2010, 16:02    Post_subject:  

tgp1994 wrote:
Chuck,

Are the repositories added in your sources.list file? Check the file in /etc/apt/sources.list, and if you wouldn't mind pasting it here, that would help Smile

If you need a list of repositories, take a look at my article here, then in the Steps section, scroll down to part 12. Make sure you follow the steps all the way though.


There was no file in my computer, so I grabbed one from my Ubuntu install & changed Karmic to Lucid, then did an update. Right now Synaptic is missing the icons that show what is installed, etc. I read that I have to install the hicolor icons and found a link to download them, but I am supposed to run MAKE to install them on the computer, and MAKE does not appear to be in the installation. Apt-get seems to be working, but I sure would like to have Synaptic so I can see what is there! Have you tried it?

If it ain't one thing, it's another!
------------------------------------
If it was easy, anybody could do it, and you would be out of a job!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Sun 05 Dec 2010, 00:26    Post_subject:  

It's been so long since I have used a .deb based system,
I have forgotten exactly where it is,
but there is a file(s) that keeps track of what packages are installed.
... something like /var/cache/apt-cache ??

in woof based puppies the corresponding files are in
$HOME/.packages/woof-installed-packages
(for 99.9% of puppy users $HOME is /root)

... has anyone tried mapping the latter to the former yet?
seems like a waste of time/bandwidth to download a deb for something that you already have (and potential for breakage)

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tgp1994

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Location: C:/Documents and Settings/*******/My Documents/VMWare/Puppy Linux/Puppy Linux.vmdk//./root

PostPosted: Sun 05 Dec 2010, 11:46    Post_subject:  

cprivers wrote:

If it ain't one thing, it's another!


Oh, I hear ya Smile

Unfortunately, I was more intending my tutorial towards debian than ubuntu, and I thought it would be much of the same process.
However, you should be able to run apt-get install make, which should get you what you need.

@technosaurus:
You're right, I think that's where apt-get stores what it downloads. You're also right, it would make sense to symlink one directory to other. I would symlink the home based cache folder to the /var/cache folder, since puppy is more of a single user system anyways. (Would make more sense to store the cache in /var/cache folder.)

Whoops, completely misinterpreted your post.

I know for sure that there's some sort of database, although I still have no clue where it is. You're right though, it would be a good idea to link one to the other.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Sun 05 Dec 2010, 20:41    Post_subject:  

if someone could upload a tarball of their apt-cache right after installing apt and then after installing a simple package (like dash maybe?),
I may be able to figure something out?

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cprivers

Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun 05 Dec 2010, 21:33    Post_subject:  

I have already run apt several times, so I may not be of much help. However, if I can help, and if you can tell me exactly how to get you what you want, I'll do it. I would need step-by step instructions because I don't even remember how to make a tarball!

Chuck

_________________
It's always easy when you know how!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Sun 05 Dec 2010, 21:54    Post_subject:  

Code:
tar -cf tarball.tar /var/cache/apt-cache   #(<--if that is the directory?)
gzip -9 tarball.tar

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cprivers

Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon 06 Dec 2010, 01:32    Post_subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
Code:
tar -cf tarball.tar /var/cache/apt-cache   #(<--if that is the directory?)
gzip -9 tarball.tar


OK, so make the tarball, install Dash, then make another tarball?

Chuck

_________________
It's always easy when you know how!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tgp1994

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Location: C:/Documents and Settings/*******/My Documents/VMWare/Puppy Linux/Puppy Linux.vmdk//./root

PostPosted: Mon 06 Dec 2010, 16:40    Post_subject:  

cprivers wrote:
technosaurus wrote:
Code:
tar -cf tarball.tar /var/cache/apt-cache   #(<--if that is the directory?)
gzip -9 tarball.tar


OK, so make the tarball, install Dash, then make another tarball?

Chuck


Dash??

What he's going to have you do is first compress /var/cache/apt-cache with tar, then compress that with gzip at the highest possible compression, giving you a .tar.gz file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0816s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0115s) ][ GZIP on ]