Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 01:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Dpup Synaptic Testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [91 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1321
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Mon 07 Dec 2009, 23:34    Post subject:  

Quote:
if you don't change the init setting Dpup will look for multi-runlevel boot, which is not set up yet.

Heh. So that's what that was...

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1321
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 00:03    Post subject:  

I've been futzing with this for several hours, I'm sure I just don't know enough to get this right, but here goes- I tried these instructions
Quote:
please start with a Fresh install or pfix=ram ... no need foe devx at this stage

1.) Download new synaptic
2.) Install synaptic
3.) do apt-get update or open synaptic and click reload
4.) if you did apt-get udate, open synaptic
5.) Then go to Libraries and install libc6

using pfix=ram and got weirdness upon rebooting, which was the runlevel issue addressed earlier. Then I rebooted with an earlier pupsave and tried just uninstalling the synaptic package in PPM. I grabbed the new synaptic and installed it, tried installing hydrogen drum machine and got
Quote:
E: Internal Error, Could not perform immediate configuration (2) on debconf
Then I booted into Windows and deleted all the pupsaves and did a fresh frugal install from my original dpup beta 5 disk. After rebooting and creating a fresh pupsave, I got the new synaptic again, did apt-get update, installed libc6 from within Synaptic, tried installing hydrogen again and got the familiar libc6 error.

I think for tonight I'm done. Sorry if this description is lacking, I was in a groove and didn't take the time to thoroughly document things, it's my best recollection of the way things happened.

I do have a question though regarding pfix=ram. I did all this on my old eMachine because I was scared of borking the setup on my laptop. Is using pfix=ram intended to preserve a current setup or intentionally start from scratch?

edit: first error description

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486

Last edited by tubeguy on Tue 08 Dec 2009, 00:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 00:03    Post subject:  

On a full hd installation of dpup482b5 including service patch on an ext4 partition. The only added software is synaptic and sfs installer which was used to install dpup_devx_482.

Tried to install Gramps with updated Synaptic, it downloaded OK, and stopped during installation with this error:
E: Internal Error, Could not perform immediate configuration (2) on debconf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5446
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 00:10    Post subject:  

Totally fresh full install. Installed the service pack, installed the Apt-Synaptic pet, reloaded ..........Synaptic froze up installing libc6.

See screenie.

I'm going to reinstall one last time tonight..... Smile
synaptic.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  synaptic.png 
Filesize  558.75 KB 
Downloaded  1115 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5446
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 01:58    Post subject:  

Good news.......Synaptic is running...... Smile

Bad news........unable to install anything........ Sad

Tried to install Kazehakase browser, downloaded 163 packages ,installation started and then error.

Tried Netsurf......downloaded 125 more packages and the same error occured. See screenie.
error-again.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  error-again.png 
Filesize  570.85 KB 
Downloaded  1044 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 02:15    Post subject:  

OK guys...thank you for the testing, now downloading is working correctly, but I still have work to do on the installed database...that is what is causing the current errors...I'll get there...I'm in the process of building a new database from scratch, based on a standard Woof Lenny build, then I will add the Dpup upgrades and changes in apt, so the database will update correctly...Possibly take a few more days, but it will be worth it.

Cheers
Guy

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5446
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 02:31    Post subject:  

At the moment I have a fresh install with only the service pack, the Synaptic pet and 7 packages installed by Synaptic......nothing else has been added so I think I will leave things alone until the next fix arrives.Looks like we are sneaking up on it...... Smile
installed-packages.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  installed-packages.png 
Filesize  579.41 KB 
Downloaded  1066 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 05:44    Post subject:  

By George I Think We've Done It................

I have finished the database and it works, I have installed and uninstalled about 40 packages without error....so here's hoping, I will have the new APT/Synaptic up tonight, and it should just run, out of the box.

Cheers
Guy

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 09:42    Post subject:  

The new hopefully, working out of the box Synaptic is now in addons at http://dpup.org/test/dpup482beta5-2.6.30.5/addons/

Remember guys, if you are installing an alien deb package, to have it register with APT/Synaptic you should install it like this

Quote:
dpkg -i filename.deb


My next little project will be a pet2deb converter so you can register pets with APT/Synaptic...

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 11:01    Post subject:  

gposil wrote:
By George I Think We've Done It................

I have finished the database and it works, I have installed and uninstalled about 40 packages without error....so here's hoping, I will have the new APT/Synaptic up tonight, and it should just run, out of the box.

Cheers
Guy
Did I see it well? Does it add another 63MB to dpup?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 11:07    Post subject:  

Béèm said:
Quote:
Did I see it well? Does it add another 63MB to dpup?


No Béèm its add nearly 200Mb to Dpup, why do you think Debian and Ubuntu are so big...all this sort of stuff adds great functionality but a huge cost, size wise. For those people who have the space and want the flexibility of installing Debian Packages simply, it is great.

Cheers
Guy

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 11:13    Post subject:  

gposil wrote:
Béèm said:
Quote:
Did I see it well? Does it add another 63MB to dpup?


No Béèm its add nearly 200Mb to Dpup, why do you think Debian and Ubuntu are so big...all this sort of stuff adds great functionality but a huge cost, size wise. For those people who have the space and want the flexibility of installing Debian Packages simply, it is great.

Cheers
Guy
Of coarse.
I didn't think about the fact that a pet grows much bigger once installed.
Thanks for the update.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 11:15    Post subject:  

BTW...i've had a few messages asking whether this will work in 4.3.1 or other Puppy versions, the quick answer is no, it will not, as Dpup has the underlying Gnome and Debian libs and structure. It can certainly be adapted to suit other Puppies, but at this stage it is Dpup only.
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5446
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 15:38    Post subject:  

Finally, Synaptic works.......I 've installed NetSurf and things went as expected.

I'll install a few more packages and report back later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 19:31    Post subject:  

On a new full hd installation of dpup482b5 including service patch on an ext4 partition. The only added software is synaptic and sfs installer which was used to install dpup_devx_482.

Sorry, still isn't there. Tried installing, Gramps, Alexandria, and Amsn. All appeared to download and install properly, all failed to complete the installation and all failed on trying to remove them completely. Error messages for Alexandria installation and removal are attached. Gramps and Amsn had similar errors.
alexandria.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  alexandria.zip 
Filesize  2.43 KB 
Downloaded  411 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [91 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0739s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]