Bash script for installing Puppy to USB

Promote Puppy !
raffy

Bash script for installing Puppy to USB

#1 Post by raffy »

Here's from the mailbox - an auto-installer to USB using Bash. Are there changes needed to make this work in Puppy?
Abhay Chinivar wrote:I'm an engineering student from India, I use Ubuntu as my main linux OS. I have tried Puppy linux on a CD, and also on a USB and I liked it a lot, esp. cos of it's small size and "amazing speed", it's a really good work by you people (my old outdated 128 mb usb device suddenly was in demand, thanks to Puppy :-) ). And when many of my friends started to come with their USBs to have puppy installed, I thought of writing a bash script to do the installation right from my host OS (ubuntu) so that I don't have to insert the Puppy Linux CD and restart my computer every time just to have Puppy installed on a friend's USB. So this motivated me to learn and write my first bash script - "a script which would install Puppy Linux on a USB flash drive from a host linux OS" (something like the one which the SLAX distro has). This is my first bash script, so it might not be the most efficient way of doing the job, but it definitely works and I guess it's quite simple to use it too (I've tested it on Puppy 4.2.1 release). Later I shared this script on our college lug site (linux users group) for college students to download and run. Now I thought of posting it to you people hoping it will be of some use on the site. Hope to hear from you soon, thank you.
I couldn't find a place on the site to upload the file, so i'm copying the code below, here it is:
* Snip * ---> See the corrected code below.
Last edited by raffy on Wed 09 Dec 2009, 23:01, edited 1 time in total.
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? [url=http://puppylinux.info/topic/freeoffice-2012-sfs]Get the sfs (English only)[/url].

Abhay

Bash script to install Puppy on usb without a cd..

#2 Post by Abhay »