Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 22:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Precord mp3,wav,ogg,aac,flac recorder/player.
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 12 [177 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 11:46    Post subject: Precord 3.0.0 uploaded  

Precord 3.0.0 uploaded to first post in thread.

Changes: user can input duration (in seconds).
i.e. simple timed record and playback (no progress indicator as of now though - and I may or may not ever bother implementing one...:-)

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
Odd one I know but can this be used to record audio from a Youtube playback?

I would say yes if you can select pcm or master as a capture input in alsamixer..I tried a web radio station on beep and it worked just fine.


Note: I can't select pcm or master for Capture in alsamixer on my system, but I have an input called "Mono Mix" and another called "Mix" and either of these work fine for capturing pcm stuff coming through my soundcard (I can even record in precord from precord playing an audio file if you see what I mean!)

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 13:14    Post subject:  

Wow more updates....and I haven't even tracked down that app yet but I did fill some draughts in the kitchen.

As for recording sound from vids and such the simple answer is if you can get the vu meter to jiggle then you can

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 13:36    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:

There was a small mp3 splicing program on here a while ago but the name escapes me....could work on the mp3 without making wav files.


Maybe you mean this:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=342544

or more likely, mpgedit, further down the same page:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=342561#342561

These look very interesting. Mind you mpgedit seems to be quite a few hundred kBytes in size, so maybe not so much more useful than mhwaveedit. However, might indeed provide some useful tips for cutting out the blanks at the beginning and end of a recording.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 14:16    Post subject:  

Oh was just looking and getting nowhere......and you beat me to it...mpcut seems closer to the mark...as I said there may be some clues in the code

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 17:32    Post subject:  

Hmm, hadn't actually tested it out properly. I have now and it won't work for me at all. I had been fooled by trying to record and playback the resultant file, which was always zero bytes.

I've attached a screenshot of the alsamixer, precord and what should be a VU meter I suspect.
I get a very fast scrolling arecord mini window.

Alsamixer window is a mystery to me as to what means what with the capture etc.
precalsa.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  precalsa.jpg 
Filesize  144.83 KB 
Downloaded  304 Time(s) 

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 18:59    Post subject:  

hmm assuming vu meter was not running when recording as that makes blank files I would try setting capture to mix (spacebar)

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 22 Dec 2009, 19:04    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
Hmm, hadn't actually tested it out properly. I have now and it won't work for me at all. I had been fooled by trying to record and playback the resultant file, which was always zero bytes.

I've attached a screenshot of the alsamixer, precord and what should be a VU meter I suspect.
I get a very fast scrolling arecord mini window.

Alsamixer window is a mystery to me as to what means what with the capture etc.


[In the screenshot tasmod posted, neither his Mic nor Mix controls are currently activated mikeb]

Hello tasmod

Yes, it wouldn't work at all with the settings shown in your screenshot.

According to that, neither your microphone (Mic) or Mixer (Mix) is activated. Which are you trying to use?

The screenshot you sent is for the default 'All' controls being shown in alsamixer. For simplicity, whilst in alsamixer, I suggest you press your keyboard Tab key until you come to the alsamixer 'Capture' window, though the following can also be done in the 'All' window.

Either way, assuming you want to record from your computer's Microphone: whilst in alsamixer move along using your keyboard cursor keys to the Mic control and press the space bar to activate it (sometimes you need to press it twice to activate (L)eft and (R)ight channels). The fast scrolling mini-window is the VU meter and, all going well, once you have activated the Mic, that mini-window should now show that your Mic is now working (but remember to close that VU meter window before actually trying to record since it conflicts with the actual recording process otherwise and prevents that working).
For higher volume recording, go back to alsamixer 'All' screen, move along to the Mic Boost control and press keyboard key 'M' to activate it: that provides a lot of onboard amplification.


If you are trying to record from Youtube sound, then you should move to your Mix control instead and press space bar to activate it instead of Mic.

Finally, if recording from Microphone you shouldn't have your Mic control volume turned up the way you have or whatever comes out of your speakers whilst recording will feedback into the recording and that gives very bad quality. Also, for best recording quality, I suggest trying mono (which only effects record; playback will use whatever channels the source provides anyway).

Hope that helps. The help button on precord brings up similar information albeit necessarily in brief.

NOTE that is doesn't matter which of the uploaded pcrecord versions you use, but I recommend you try the latest newly uploaded 3.0.0 version because that is what I do my own testing on now.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 04:21    Post subject: Version 4.0.0 uploaded
Subject description: Now can run from GUI and/or commandline and/or other script
 

This Version 4.0.0 brings the ultimate in flexibility.

You can run it from the GUI, as before, or...

run it or control its main functions from the commandline or another script/program or from all at the same time!

I designed it with that in mind so that I could use it with the likes of motion detection security software such as Zonealarm or Motion (so that a recording can be started on the detection of motion). i.e. precord becomes a utility for other programs as well as standalone.

Before running its functions from the commandline or another script, you can use the GUI to configure it (or edit its config file $HOME/.precordrc directly).

Using on the commandline (or calling precord functions from another script):

In a console window, enter:
Code:
precord --help

for brief usage instructions.

You can actually control it from the GUI and from the commandline or script in parallel with each other.

If you use it from outside the GUI though, remember to shut it down cleanly by using the command:

Code:

precord quit


I'm not actually planning to add a lot more to this program in its bash/gtkdialog form - though I may still investigate a few small possible additions. I think Precord is close to being pretty much complex and full-featured enough now for an application based on a shell script. Anyway, it has now become a building block for other utilities to call up as and when so desired...

I don't plan to turn it into a full-featured audio editor!

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 11:13    Post subject:  

Neat stuff Smile ..and fast too..

As an aside...since you mentioned security at one place I worked this guy had made a security system...started with the motion detectors but apart from calling up the police it flashed spot lights on and off every second..ie darkened room to full light to totally disorientate intruders...plus some nice mega decibel peizo alarms.....and every time the spotlights were on a camera took a really nice full color photo for the police when they arrived....seemed a neat system Smile

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 17:54    Post subject: ver 4.0.1 uploaded  

Ver 4.0.1 changes:

# Added the optional commandline argument [duration] for record or playback time-limit.

Duration should be entered in seconds.
Duration of 0 means: no time limit

Note that you can leave out the duration if you wish. You can also leave out both the filename and the duration (the pre-configured values of previous GUI operation will be used). However, if you want to include duration you must also include filename.

i.e. precord rec filename duration
precord play filename duration

For example:

Code:

precord rec /anywhere/mynewfile.mp3 0

will record until commanded to recstop

and

precord rec /anywhere/mynewfile.mp3 5

will record for 5 seconds only


Note that since precord can now be started and controlled from the commandline, you can also use it in conjunction with "Pschedule task on time" (or cron) for full time control of when precord operates (or drive it from your own script) - provides a powerful time-controlled recording facility!

Pschedule task on time is in JWM start menu -> System, on Puppy Linux 4.3.1. Good chance/time for you to practice using that/cron more generally - cron is a very powerful facility that many people probably haven't heard of.

EDIT: NOTE further, that with cron (or Pschedule task on time, which is very easy to use) the command[s] above will cause precord to start up invisibly and work away in the background. Your family may not appreciate that if you play that trick on them, which I do not recommend!

Last edited by mcewanw on Wed 23 Dec 2009, 18:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 18:14    Post subject:  

You are storming Smile

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 06:36    Post subject:  

Well I've tried and tried to get it to just playback a mp3 but no joy. Record just doesn't work for me at all.

It will playback for approx. 2-3 secs of a 3 minute mp3 and then goes silent.

I understand the VU now and it shows playback and then a tail off at 3 secs.

I'm using 4.2.1 by the way, hope that doesn't mean there's any difference.

I'll try it in Quirky.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 08:56    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:

I'm using 4.2.1 by the way, hope that doesn't mean there's any difference.


I installed 4.2.1 to find out! In short, precord works fine on Puppy 4.2.1 on my old machine. Alsa itself wasn't working correctly by default though, on my machine. Details below including how I fixed that:

Apart from 4.2.1 being slow to boot (and generally) on my old machine the installation and boot went fine.

I then installed Precord version 4.0.1 and tried to start up the VU meter and alsamixer by pressing MIX, but they wouldn't stay up.

Not a fault in precord though, just that alsa wasn't working. However, I got alsa working by opening an rxvt console and entering the command:

[code]
alsaconf
[/conf]

and letting the system detect my sound card.

Precord then worked fine for both recording and playback. I had none of the problems you describe. I did of course need to set up alsamixer (using the VU meter as a help) as I have previously described to you. And, as I mentioned previously, you have to close the VU meter window before trying to record (or you'll get a blank recording).

Playback worked fine too. I can't imagine why your system starts playing back but then cuts out after 3 seconds unless you have entered the value "3" in your playback duration window, in which case 3 seconds is what you would get! Duration is in seconds, and a value of 0 gives no time-limit. i.e. continuous playback (or record), which is what you probably want.

So I suggest running alsaconf to make sure your soundcard has been detected properly, and then double check your alsamixer controls are as described to you in my last post (and make sure you close the VU meter window when trying to record). And make sure you have Duration windows = 0

If you still have problems, post up a new screenshot of all your alsamixer settings.

Also, try gxine to make sure mp3 playback is working generally. The problem is something to do with your system setup since precord just controls some underlying audio utilities (arecord, lame, ffmpeg and aplay) and these all work fine in Puppy 4.2.1 on my system (and thus, so does precord).

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 09:35    Post subject: alsaconf  

Refer to my previous post for background to this:

On further testing I've discovered that Puppy version 4.2.1 fails to store alsa configuration between boots on my system (Puppy 4.3.1 doesn't have that problem). i.e. I need to run alsaconf every time I reboot the Puppy 4.2.1 system .... Precord (all functions) works fine though, once you've set up alsa using alsaconf .

So, although Precord works fine on Puppy 4.2.1, once your sound system has been set up using alsaconf, nevertheless, at least on my machine: alsa doesn't work out of the box. Nor does alsa's configuration survive reboots. You may have better luck with Quirky (and, as I've indicated, I have no such problems with Puppy 4.3.1 - just with Puppy version 4.2.1).

None of the above is a problem with Precord itself though, so I'd advice you to search any/all Puppy 4.2.1 threads to see if anyone else has had a sound problem with that system and have posted any fix.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 09:50    Post subject:  

4.2x did unfortunately have some system bugs in there ...there may even be fixes for it. I have built on 4.12 for now as that behaves well.

Indeed I have mostly tested on 2.12 on the basis of if it works on there it should work on anything (plus its my day to day system) ...

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 12 [177 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0970s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]