Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Apr 2014, 02:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Browserlinux EeePC Edition
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 13:48    Post subject:  

unfortunatelly ....
i think that browserlinux itself misses some important things....
package manager do not download pets or there's no mp3lame lib....
so i can not use it( only my case)

so i contunue experiments with boxpupeee

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jtouso

Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Barcelona, España

PostPosted: Mon 28 Dec 2009, 19:02    Post subject:  

how to install Opera webbrowser or Abiword text processor?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 28 Dec 2009, 23:47    Post subject:  

I got abiword running by installing "wv" http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/wv-1.2.5-pup4.pet.

Opera is looking for libaudio, but I can't figure out which pet provides that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2010, 13:08    Post subject:  

I've been using browserlinux-eee successfully, using wlan0 with no set-up or reliability problems. I'm trying to get dpup484b4 to work- can't get on line with wlan0 at all. So.... I thought to copy the wireless profile from browserlinux into dpup. BUT.... I know where the profiles live in dpup, but can't find it/them in browserlinux-eee. Can someone tell me where the wireless profile is? Please?

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2010, 13:31    Post subject:  

Which model Eee do you have? Ones with the rt2860 wireless probably aren't going to work with Pwireless2 on any kernel older than 2.6.31.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2010, 14:54    Post subject:  

Sorry, I'm an imposter- it's an Acer Aspire One.

I've found the problem with dpup- it's me. If one doesn't click on one of the coding keys, (WEP, WPA2, etc) then PWireless2 goes through the motions, and reports that it has failed. Maybe it needs a message saying "Oi! You didn't choose a coding system!!"

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2010, 15:12    Post subject:  

I'm a bit confused, since it shouldn't ask you for a coding system. (I'm the developer of Pwireless2, so this is the place to complain Smile ).

Can you post a screenshot so I can understand the problem you had? I haven't downloaded dpup lately, maybe I'll check out what they've done with networking in the new version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2010, 16:48    Post subject:  

@Jemima- It's the gui where you select a profile to load, and below that is the section for editing a profile. In the edit section are four buttons to select WEP, WPA, WPA2 etc. If I don't select one of those when setting up the first profile, then when I click "Use this profile" PWireless2 appears to go through its attempt to connect via wlan0, but then says it couldn't. It doesn't say why.

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2010, 16:55    Post subject:  

That is not Pwireless2, it's the old network wizard. That's probably the source of confusion. I wonder if dpup has both or maybe they took Pwireless2 out from the latest version. I'll have to take a look later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jan 2010, 05:54    Post subject:  

magerlab wrote:
unfortunatelly ....
i think that browserlinux itself misses some important things....
package manager do not download pets or there's no mp3lame lib....
so i can not use it( only my case)

so i contunue experiments with boxpupeee
Yes, Browserlinux is meant as a dedicated Browsing desktop & trimmed down as such. Brilliant I think but in your case fortuneately there are many good alternatives. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cAPSLOCK

Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 13:03    Post subject:  

Love this. It has finally replaced P on my 701. I prefer Linux but nothing booted as fast or was as compatible with the hardware as a stripped down XP. This one is both faster to boot and better running overall. With the one caveat that flash is still smoother in XP.

So thanks... I am glad to be home.

One question though. I like your little eee control panel in your other eeespecific remasters. It is not here in eeebrowser? Also (and related) I can find no way to make my brightness settings stick. I like the screen to be pretty dim and each boot it is up at glaring brightness again!

Is there a command line tool that will work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 19:00    Post subject:  

I really should release a new version to reflect the latest developments. I'll try to do that once I get puppeee beta 3.5 released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vk3cbo

Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 23:30    Post subject: Provision of an ISO  

Hi Jemimah,
I would once more request that you make an ISO of the Puppies that you have modified for the EEEPC, when they have reached 'release' status.
This would allow those of us with slow download speeds to purchase these EEEPC Puppies from the net.

cheers,
Rod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 11 Feb 2010, 02:44    Post subject:  

Version 2 has been posted. See the first post for details.

(I do plan on making an iso - I'm hoping to be ready for a stable release within the next month or two).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cAPSLOCK

Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 27 Feb 2010, 13:24    Post subject:  

Continues to be an excellent superlightweight OS for the Eeepc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0586s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]