Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 20:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
MyWolfe-008 Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Thu 31 Dec 2009, 05:37    Post subject: missing libs  

Try adding these,i have included office ones as well add them if you want to.
libsgl.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  libsgl.tar.gz 
Filesize  548.72 KB 
Downloaded  264 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 23:49    Post subject: MyWolf-009 Final  

Using an older pentium III computer. MyWolfe does not want to shutdown completely when I invoke that command. I have to physically hold in the power button for 5 seconds. Other puppy's have shut down ok. I tried using poweroff from the command line and the same result occurred.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 00:08    Post subject: Re: MyWolf-009 Final  

ndujoe1 wrote:
Using an older pentium III computer. MyWolfe does not want to shutdown completely when I invoke that command. I have to physically hold in the power button for 5 seconds. Other puppy's have shut down ok. I tried using poweroff from the command line and the same result occurred.


I don't know which version My Wolfe is based on, but 4.3.1 on
my old hp pc needs "acpi=force" (no quotes) added to end of
grub kernel line to shut down properly.

Hope it helps.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 05:00    Post subject:  

MyWolfe is a complete T2-8rc build but close to a 4.31 so many of the same fixes should work in MyWolfe
_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 12:25    Post subject: MyWolf-009 Final  

On my Pentium III I tried the acpi-off setting and it still reverted to Systme Halted instead of shutting down completely.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 12:30    Post subject: DOSBOX work  

the Dosbox complains that there is not libGL.so.1. In the other puppy versions I used the LibSDL1.2-forDoom.pup that MU had in his repository. But I can't invoke this version for the new kernel and MyWolfe edition. Any conversion or compatible .pet available? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 13:06    Post subject: Skype install  

Skype requires qt
so look for qt4-4.3.2.pet install that.
go to
http://www.puppylinux.ca/tpp/ttuuxxx/Libs ( user name: puppy password : linux )

look for libXss-1.0.0tar.gz download that an untar these copy the four files into

/my-applications/lib

restart X and start Skype from the Internet menu


I searched for Skype-2.0.0.72.pet installed that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 18:13    Post subject:  

ndujoe1

I have not found the tools needed to open up the file LibSDL1.2-forDoom.pup so I am unable to be sure what is inside. I can make a lot of guesses but then you would be putting a lot on you system that is not needed. If you have a copy of an old utility called pup2pet and can send it to me I will try and put you a package together. for I can not find it.

Did some more looking around and my video card will not allow me to play it but yours mite here is a link to the files you need to get phboom working on MyWolfe

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=348810

Please let me know how it goes

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 22:42    Post subject: LibSDL1.2-forDoom.pup converted to .pet  

here is the converted file for you examination. I hope that I did it right.
LibSDL1.2-forDoom.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  LibSDL1.2-forDoom.pet 
Filesize  428.45 KB 
Downloaded  303 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 10:40    Post subject: Java SFS?  

Which java .sfs is compatible with MyWolfe?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 17:31    Post subject:  

ndujoe1

Go to this link
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=377125&sid=fbcd770a2b2721894d6320799081a391

Be sure and get the sfs4 version and you will still have to make a link from the /usr/jave/jre1.6.0_17/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins then restart browser,

I had rename the sfs to just java.sfs to get MyWolfe to load the sfs.

Have fun

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4336
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 00:22    Post subject:  

Good evening, GrumpyWolfe

Please find attached a little .desktop entry for your very useful control panel. Put the attached file in the top ("/") directory and it should unpack in /usr/share/applications. Your control panel will now have an entry in the "Setup" submenu. Although it is in the ROX panel, I thought it might be nice to have it also in the menu.

Maybe it's just me or my box, but I had a segmentation error in mywolfe's mtpaint: I could not load large pictures, mtpaint closed instantly. So I replaced it with BK's one for quirky at http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-quirky/mtpaint-3.31-patched-q1.pet. Barry's one works fine.

Also, for information, my latest wmx 7 pet package (the wmx window manager) works better in mywolfe than in dpup, in that it shows correctly the "x" in mywolfe when closing a program (in dpup it doesn't, which is confusing).

All in all, you did present a fine puplet: thank you and keep up the good work!

Sincerely,
mywolfe_control_panel.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  mywolfe_control_panel.tar.gz 
Filesize  345 Bytes 
Downloaded  254 Time(s) 

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 03:43    Post subject:  

Hi musher0

I did have a menu entry in the MyWolfe 6 but when I decided to try out the side bar I removed it to reduce reduce. I am trying to make a clean and clutter free distro for myself and anybody that likes it. Thank you for the complement on my puplet.

I am now working on ver 9 for while trying to get dos-box to work for someone I found that ver 8 does not have the full xserver in it and I am not sure how I did this for it only give me a versa driver and that does not let dos-box work for me so I will redo MyWolfe and then make a sfs of dos-box with some extra libs to make it work, for you see I have to keep my iso under 100 megs to host them where I am now.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 07:32    Post subject: Re: MyWolf-009 Final  

ndujoe1 wrote:
Using an older pentium III computer. MyWolfe does not want to shutdown completely when I invoke that command. I have to physically hold in the power button for 5 seconds. Other puppy's have shut down ok. I tried using poweroff from the command line and the same result occurred.

I'm finding current versions are halting the OS but not powering off
the MB. I saw quite a discussion in another thread, that this is a
known issue with some motherboards.
Try the command wmpoweroff and see whether that works
for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 10:54    Post subject: wmpoweroff  

Thanks for the suggestion but that didn't work either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0754s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]