xterm in programs

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

xterm in programs

#1 Post by 8-bit »

If you have both xterm and rxvt installed, try this.
Open a rxvt terminal and then in it, type rxvt to open another.
No errors are displayed in the first terminal window.

Now, Open a xterm window and then in it type xterm to open another.
An error will be displayed in the first window.

This is reproducible.
So is there a bug with using xterm if more than one instance of it is opened?
I should mention that even when xterm is run multiple times by a script, the bug appears.
And that makes me wonder if xterm was called to run an external program, would that error be passed back to the calling program.

amigo
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 06:52

#2 Post by amigo »

What is the error which is shown?

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#3 Post by 8-bit »

Actually, it is not an error shown but a warning.
And it only happens with xterm, which I installed from a pet.
The warning is:
Warning: Cannot convert string "nil2" to type FontStruct

This is with no program starting xterm.
It is with xterm starting another instance of itself.
But....
An example program that pertains to forks in the gtkdialog-tips thread that opens multiple instances of xterm when a button is pressed also display this warning if the program is started from xterm or rxvt.
You will not see the warning if you do not have xterm installed.
I think that before you install xterm, it is a system link to rxvt.

amigo
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 06:52

#4 Post by amigo »

Sounds like an error from maybe fontconfig... Where did you get the xterm from?

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#5 Post by 8-bit »

amigo wrote:Sounds like an error from maybe fontconfig... Where did you get the xterm from?
I got xterm from ibiblio from the pets directory.
Maybe it doesn't play well with puppy.
Anyway to save you searching, I will attach the pet.
Attachments
xterm-229-1.pet
Xterm for Puppy
(107.76 KiB) Downloaded 1099 times

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#6 Post by aragon »

8bit,

this is a problem with the xterm-config. nil2 is a font that is missing in puppy but is defined for xterm.

open /etc/X11/app-defaults/Xterm and look for line 72ff

Code: Select all

*fontMenu*font1*Label:	Unreadable
*VT100.font1:		nil2
*IconFont:		nil2
*fontMenu*font2*Label:	Tiny
*VT100.font2:		5x7
*fontMenu*font3*Label:	Small
*VT100.font3:		6x10
*fontMenu*font4*Label:	Medium
*VT100.font4:		7x13
*fontMenu*font5*Label:	Large
*VT100.font5:		9x15
*fontMenu*font6*Label:	Huge
*VT100.font6:		10x20
change them to

Code: Select all

*fontMenu*font1*Label:	Unreadable
*VT100.font1:		5x7
*fontMenu*font2*Label:	Small
*VT100.font2:		6x10
*fontMenu*font3*Label:	Medium
*VT100.font3:		7x13
*fontMenu*font4*Label:	Large
*VT100.font4:		9x15
*fontMenu*font5*Label:	Huge
*VT100.font5:		10x20
and the message should be gone.

aragon

Post Reply