Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 10:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Dpup 484beta Testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 41 of 44 [656 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44 Next
Author Message
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Thu 11 Mar 2010, 22:22    Post subject:  

I can't seem to download the synaptic pet. Is there another location I can get it from? I tried the dpup.org site.


Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shankargopal

Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Fri 12 Mar 2010, 03:48    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:

But what a palaver to set up wlan0 again!! I had to go through the process over and over, before eventually getting a connection set up. How can a scan show no networks available, then another scan a few seconds later show five?

gerry


Gerry - you probably have an atheros wifi card, in fact I think we discussed this earlier. [after a search] Yes, we did. See this post by me and this one here for tempestuous' updated atheros driver (which may help) and one other kludge that might work as well.

Why, incidentally, does the forum keep failing to notify me of replies in this thread? Damn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shankargopal

Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Fri 12 Mar 2010, 03:52    Post subject:  

iscraigh wrote:
I can't seem to download the synaptic pet. Is there another location I can get it from? I tried the dpup.org site.


Craig


The synaptic dotpet was made for 477beta1 - rather out of date now. If you have that, you can find it under additions in the 477beta1 directory here. I really doubt it will work in the later dpup's. Incidentally, it has a lot of caveats - see this thread for some experiences with it. Two basic caveats - do not use it with a frugal install; and dependency resolution will leave out one or two dependencies in most cases, but installing them manually will fix it.

NB: Has anyone seen gposil recently? I tried shouting for him from the rooftop, but as I live in Delhi and he lives in Australia, it is unlikely that he heard. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1320
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Mar 2010, 14:23    Post subject:  

shankargopal wrote:
NB: Has anyone seen gposil recently? I tried shouting for him from the rooftop, but as I live in Delhi and he lives in Australia, it is unlikely that he heard. Smile

See this post. Supposed to be back in April after taking care of life things.

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 14 Mar 2010, 03:52    Post subject:  

@Shankar- thanks for the reminder, but I'm keeping a big "Do not disturb" sign on it until next time I need to connect.

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1320
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 11:35    Post subject: Eject CD tray icon  

I just found out why it's a Good Thing- sometimes the button doesn't work on my laptop, but the taskbar eject still does. Cool!
_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 12:43    Post subject:  

Does any one else have missing Lenny repos in package manager after updating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yvonne

Joined: 27 Jan 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun 21 Mar 2010, 19:45    Post subject:  

- - Can't save internet connect settings.


Sorry to ask. Looked though couldn't find solution.

Using latest dpup which is really working for me. One issue: doesn't remember my connect setting after I do a wired dhcpcd configurating. That's a simple connect internet setup of course. Then browse, which all works though upon reboot I gotta do it all again.

So, how can I get dpup to remember and save the connect setting for a simple eth0 wired setting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1320
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Mar 2010, 21:36    Post subject:  Monitor refresh rate too low  

I just spent a half hour searching with wellminded and the forum search and can't find an answer, looking for a way to up my refresh rate on an old IBM crt. Seems like I should be able to modify xorg.conf. It that possible? I get 60hz, looking for anything higher. (I know it can do at least 1600x1200@75hz under Windows)

#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this section is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

Load "dbe" # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga" # don't initialise the DGA extension
EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
# Load "type1"
Load "freetype"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
Load "xtrap"

# This loads the GLX module (if present)
Load "glx"

# This loads dri module (if present). 7.4 loads it by default, have to disable...
Load "dri"
# Disable "dri"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section. This allows default font paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12). This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

# Option "DontVTSwitch"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

Option "RandR" "on"

# With this, Xorg won't talk to HAL to add evdev devices and you'll be back
# with the old Xorg behavior (pre-7.4)...

Option "AutoAddDevices" "false"

# For no-Hal, kirk also suggests this...

# Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "true"

# Xorg 7.4, Ubuntu Jaunty, CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE is disabled by default...

Option "DontZap" "false"

EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
Option "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2" #mouse0protocol
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
#Option "Emulate3Buttons"
#Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 31.5-79
VertRefresh 50-85
#UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
Option "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
EndSection

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes0"
#modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "HWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
#Option "UseFBDev" # [<bool>]
#Option "Rotate" # [<str>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "FlatPanel" # [<bool>]
#Option "FPDither" # [<bool>]
#Option "CrtcNumber" # <i>
#Option "FPScale" # [<bool>]
#Option "FPTweak" # <i>
#Option "DualHead" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nv" #card0driver
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NV18 [GeForce4 MX - nForce GPU]"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubsection
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=NVIDIA

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Hesse James


Joined: 08 Feb 2010
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 04:38    Post subject:  

Good morning tubeguy
It looks like you are using the nv driver for your Nvidia-graphics card. Did you try the driver available by Nvidia ? This might solve your refresh issue. Description how to do was given by gposil some pages earlier. Otherwize try one of the PETs available by gray.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=456614663&t=46686
Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1320
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 06:41    Post subject:  

Hesse James wrote:
Good morning tubeguy
It looks like you are using the nv driver for your Nvidia-graphics card. Did you try the driver available by Nvidia ? This might solve your refresh issue. Description how to do was given by gposil some pages earlier. Otherwize try one of the PETs available by gray.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=456614663&t=46686
Good luck.

You. Are. Awesome.

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1320
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Apr 2010, 09:48    Post subject: Aqualung trials  

Just a few points on running Aqualung, I spent some time trying to get it right, so to speak. The Aqualung deb from the Debian-Lenny-Main repo in PPM installed fine but I had to go looking for a few libs afterward. Only problem is that it doesn't "idle"- that is, when a playlist finishes playing the program locks up and has to be killed. That is the only issue there is for me, I even got the LADSPA plugins working with no real fuss. Awesome. But I saw another thread about Aqualung pets, so I tried them hoping they would not have that bug, and they didn't. But the pets did not come with LADSPA support, so I, for the first time ever, somehow managed to compile and install the sucker from source. Awesome again, but still no LADSPA support. Not sure what I missed but I don't have it in me to do it all over again to find out. So I'm back to the debian version from PPM, and it works fine as long as I remember to catch the player before it finishes out the playlist and stop it before it locks up.
aqualungdpup.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  aqualungdpup.jpg 
Filesize  92.36 KB 
Downloaded  465 Time(s) 

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2590
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 04 Apr 2010, 10:40    Post subject:  

I may try to install aqualung, will tell you how it works
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2590
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 04 Apr 2010, 14:42    Post subject:  

Took this from squeeze repos, haven't tested on fresh boot with pfix=ram though, I might throw together package /w dependencies maybe.


_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2590
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 04 Apr 2010, 16:01    Post subject:  

Here's the aqualung from squeeze repo with all dependencies and tap plugins and jack driver, it doesn't lock up for me but I haven't tested it that much though. Use at your own risk Razz

Tested with pfix=ram

aqualng_0.9b11-i386-dpup.pet 4.53 MB

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 41 of 44 [656 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0887s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0128s) ][ GZIP on ]