Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 21:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
dpup remaster
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
sailorbrand

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 346
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 31 Dec 2009, 17:36    Post subject:  dpup remaster  

Hi
i have created a sail-puppy based on dpup 482 (downloaded dpup-477, but the sfs calls dpup-482.sfs Question ).

Now i was tryed to remaster this. An iso-file was created with near 500 MB.

But after boot with the new CD was only a "standard"-dpup to see.

Is there known a problem with the remaster-tool by dpup?

I was tryed for 2 times. 1st i used the way the remaster-windows say. 2nd i was copy my root-folder to the /tmp/root, Then i was copy the /etc/xdg to the /tmp/etc

Whats the problem?

_________________
Gruß Michael

Acer Aspire 5730ZG, 4GB Ram, 320 GiG HD, 2,0 Ghz Intel DualCore
nvidia Geforce 9300M GS TurboCache, Puppys & Ubuntu. Vista gelöscht!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3787
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 20:30    Post subject:  

Helllo, sailorbrand.

You say:

> But after boot with the new CD was only a "standard"-dpup to see.

Could you please give more precisions?

Do you mean that the LOGO screen of your remastered dpup is the same?

Or do you mean that NONE of your new programs or configurations, etc., were integrated in the new iso? Do you mean that the new iso is the same as the original dpup?

Obviously, only the second situation would be a real problem...

Since dpup is evolving very fast, it might not be a good idea to make a remaster of it until it is relatively stable. Only my opinion, of course.

As for me, for dpup beta 4, I used a frugal install with a BIG "dpupsave" file, and for dpup beta 5, I used the "save to DVD" option.

BFN and thanks in advance for your clarifications.
Happy New Year, too!

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sailorbrand

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 346
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 05:56    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Helllo, sailorbrand.


Or do you mean that NONE of your new programs or configurations, etc., were integrated in the new iso? Do you mean that the new iso is the same as the original dpup?



This is what i wont to say.
By the other hand: the new iso are more big then the original...
Happy New Year, too!

_________________
Gruß Michael

Acer Aspire 5730ZG, 4GB Ram, 320 GiG HD, 2,0 Ghz Intel DualCore
nvidia Geforce 9300M GS TurboCache, Puppys & Ubuntu. Vista gelöscht!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3787
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2010, 23:05    Post subject:  

sailorbrand wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Helllo, sailorbrand.


Or do you mean that NONE of your new programs or configurations, etc., were integrated in the new iso? Do you mean that the new iso is the same as the original dpup?



This is what i wont to say.
By the other hand: the new iso are more big then the original...
Happy New Year, too!


Do the programs in the new iso work?

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sailorbrand

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 346
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 05:48    Post subject:  

no ....
_________________
Gruß Michael

Acer Aspire 5730ZG, 4GB Ram, 320 GiG HD, 2,0 Ghz Intel DualCore
nvidia Geforce 9300M GS TurboCache, Puppys & Ubuntu. Vista gelöscht!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0442s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]