Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 17:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Retrovol 0.13.1 (Volume mixer)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1846
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jan 2012, 13:27    Post subject:  

Hello,
Question: What is the option "Segment spacing" used for? I don't see any changes when trying to set a new value through the configuration window! This value don't stay anyway...

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 17:03    Post subject:  

It is supposed to set the spacing between the segments, e.g. the dark bits between the parts that light up. Another thing to fix. Sad
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1846
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2012, 11:43    Post subject: Translation
Subject description: French
 

Hello,
Here are the French UTF-8 po and mo files for retrovol.
=> This thread should be useful to know/solve encountered issues with UTF-8 mo files!
Something else: While running retrovol in console, I get:
Quote:
(retrovol:29010): Gtk-WARNING **: GtkSpinButton: setting an adjustment with non-zero page size is deprecated
This is probably not important but perhaps this may be solved at the same time?

Cordialement.
retrovol_0.11_po_mo_utf8_fr.tar
Description 
tar

 Download 
Filename  retrovol_0.11_po_mo_utf8_fr.tar 
Filesize  18.5 KB 
Downloaded  308 Time(s) 

_________________


Last edited by Argolance on Sun 29 Jan 2012, 11:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2574
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2012, 14:38    Post subject: Translation
Subject description: German
 

attached.

We have a C coded gettexted app now Very Happy

Thank you

__________________________
edited:

Note, you can see another language in action
without having to install the other locale
I have done it with French:

1- right click the icon and stop retrovol
2- start it in the other language from command line
LANGUAGE=fr retrovol

Have fun Wink
retrovol-fr.png
 Description   
 Filesize   2.11 KB
 Viewed   869 Time(s)

retrovol-fr.png

retrovol.mo.gz
Description  move it to:
/usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES/retrovol.mo
gz

 Download 
Filename  retrovol.mo.gz 
Filesize  6.42 KB 
Downloaded  295 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2012, 22:54    Post subject:  

The problem with the segment thickness is now fixed in SVN, as well as the warning about deprecated page values.

Having an option to set margins in the windows would be nice I guess. I really hate GUI programming though, so I'll put that off until next time Smile

Argolance wrote:
I noticed that theme background colors using equivalent for Hex value as 'grey 30' for #333333, or "red", "yellow"... are not working and make the icon not to be loaded at startup...

So you mean, you're trying to use the string "grey 30" instead of "#333333"? That is not supported, and frankly I don't care enough to figure out how to do it myself. Retrovol is open source for a reason though - if you or anybody else sends me a patch that makes it happen, I'd be glad to include it. There should exist a GTK or Cairo function already that provides the functionality, so it would just need to be identified and the source for retrovol adjusted to use it.

Argolance wrote:
I noticed that something seems working wrong when choosing which sliders to enable or disable... Sliders actually displayed in the main menu are shown in the field "Inactive sliders" of the config window Shocked. If I choose to deactivate one of them, then the main window just shows that one and all others are hidden... Strange indeed!

If you're talking about how when no sliders are enabled, it shows them all instead of not showing any, that is intentional. If you're talking about something else, then there may be a bug and I'd like more information.

Oh, and thanks for the translations!

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1846
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Fri 03 Feb 2012, 06:23    Post subject:  

Hello pizzasgood,
Quote:
The problem with the segment thickness is now fixed in SVN, as well as the warning about deprecated page values.
Great! Thank you!
Quote:
If you're talking about how when no sliders are enabled, it shows them all instead of not showing any, that is intentional. If you're talking about something else, then there may be a bug and I'd like more information.

Not sure what I noticed and tried to explain is intentional. Again: the first time user runs retrovol,
    - 'full window' (picture above):displays available sliders and they are all enabled.
    - Third tab of the 'configuration window' (hardware tab): the left column which is supposed to show enabled sliders list is emply and the right one, which is supposed to show disabled sliders is full.
Shouldn't it be the opposite?

Now, if user, with green arrow, make any slider going from disabled sliders list to enabled sliders list, this slider will be the only one to be displayed in the 'full window' and all the others will disappear!
To make this coherent, user has to make all sliders going from disabled sliders list to enabled sliders list. So, they are all shown as enabled sliders in the left column, and all displayed inside the 'full window'.

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1846
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Fri 03 Feb 2012, 06:28    Post subject:  

I guess I have some difficulties to make the difference between active sliders and enabled sliders. Perhaps is it here I am wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Fri 03 Feb 2012, 10:17    Post subject:  

Okay, yes, that is intentional. This has to do with the config file, which only stores the enabled sliders, not the disabled sliders. If no sliders are enabled - such as on a fresh empty config file - then it defaults to showing all of the sliders, because not showing any sliders wouldn't make any sense. Once a person enables some specific sliders, then it stops showing the others and only shows the enabled ones.

Another factor to consider is that some people use Puppy on a USB or multisession DVD, and run it on more than one computer using the same save, and therefor the same .retrovolrc file. Different computers have different volume controls, which could cause problems if they enable specific sliders and then try booting on a different machine that doesn't have those sliders. Instead, they can just leave it with no sliders enabled, so that it will automatically use all of them that it finds, whatever the hardware.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1846
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Fri 03 Feb 2012, 10:37    Post subject:  

Hello,
... Ok, this is clear now: Thank you for replying!

Best regards.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Feb 2012, 20:22    Post subject:  

Okay, 0.12 is uploaded.

Warning: The gtk in the puppies I tested on (4.1.2 and 5.25) doesn't seem to like the localization files. Not sure if it's just a fonts issue or what. Works fine in my Arch install, where I originally tested everything. Looks like it's a UTF-8 issue of some sort. Probably something you guys with the non-English Puppies already fixed ages ago? Spits out messages like this:

Code:
(retrovol:5747): Gtk-WARNING **: Failed to set text from markup due to error parsing markup: Error on line 1 char 24: Invalid UTF-8 encoded text in name - not valid 'Lautst\x34rke: 21%'


Anyway, it looks like it still runs just fine, only some of the text gets goofed.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1846
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2012, 06:54    Post subject:  

Hello pizzasgood,
Did you have a look at this thread (given above in my previous post)? => This thread should be useful to know/solve encountered issues with UTF-8 mo files!

Regards.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2012, 10:20    Post subject:  

Ah, I see. Yeah, that made them behave. Thanks.
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 491
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 01:30    Post subject:  

Hmm - problem here. Using 5.2.8 in my trust old Toshiba 64-bit AMD. IDK why, but I lost my volume applet -- poking around I found retrovol and installed. In terminal, I get:
Code:
retrovol: hcontrol.c:573: snd_hctl_load: Assertion `hctl->count == 0' failed.
Aborted

Also of interest:
Code:
sh-4.1# alsamixer
cannot open mixer: Input/output error
sh-4.1# amixer
amixer: Mixer attach default error: Input/output error

I already tried pfix=clean option (but not purge)...any ideas what's wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6455
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 04:13    Post subject:  

Is your sound actually working otherwise?
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1846
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 06:58    Post subject:  

Hello,
Sorry, did not succeed in compiling this 0.12 release:
Error message:
Quote:
/usr/lib/gcc/i486-t2-linux-gnu/4.2.2/../../../../i486-t2-linux-gnu/bin/ld: cannot find -lX11
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [retrovol] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/mnt/sdb2/my-documents/Telechargements/retrovol-0.12 /src'
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1

Regards.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0917s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]