Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 19:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Retrovol 0.13.1 (Volume mixer)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 04:30    Post subject:  

Oh, I think I see what you mean about the mute. If you slide the volume down to zero it just turns the volume down, even though the tooltip says it is muted. To get a true mute you need to middle click on the tray icon, or uncheck the check box in the "full window".
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 04:40    Post subject:  

Hey, has anyone else noticed this?:
If the volume is at 0% or 100%, scrolling the mouse wheel over the tray icon often does not have any effect. After left clicking on the icon and then clicking again to close the slider, scrolling over the icon always works. Also, if the volume is not at 0% or 100%, I think it always works.
It looks like a way to reliably trigger the problem is to disable the context menu and right-click twice on the icon to bring up the "full window" and close it again...
I'm wondering if it is anything to do with my tray or my GTK version or something - I'll see if I can investigate further.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 07:30    Post subject:  

disciple wrote:
Hey, has anyone else noticed this?:
If the volume is at 0% or 100%, scrolling the mouse wheel over the tray icon often does not have any effect. After left clicking on the icon and then clicking again to close the slider, scrolling over the icon always works. Also, if the volume is not at 0% or 100%, I think it always works.
It looks like a way to reliably trigger the problem is to disable the context menu and right-click twice on the icon to bring up the "full window" and close it again...
I'm wondering if it is anything to do with my tray or my GTK version or something - I'll see if I can investigate further.

I booted a version of slacko that I have around, and the problem didn't seem to occur with its retrovol. So I tried running my Arch retrovol in slacko and it did have the problem. So I think the problem is not the GTK version it is running against.
I thought maybe the retrovol in slacko was build long ago and therefore used eggtrayicon rather than gtkstatusicon. So I hacked the gtkstatusicon code out to force it to use eggtrayicon, and built it in Arch, and the problem still occurred.
I'm puzzled now. Could the problem somehow be the gtk version it was compiled against?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1086

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 08:17    Post subject:  

Retrovol has never worked on my computer, does it work for others? Laughing From Lucid Puppy to the very latest development versions of Precise, Retrovol doesn't do anything to the volume level -- or at least not in the Intel- or AMD-powered desktop computers I've used. I always rely on the volume control of Gnome MPlayer and DeaDBeeF, who wants to make a scientific investigation to rise/low volume when all they wish at the moment is to enjoy a video or their favourite music? Laughing Now seriously, this is the kind of bugs that make some windoze users say "aahhh, LINUX is crappy!" It'd be great to find a solution.
_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 11:28    Post subject:  

error
Last edited by Henry on Sat 23 Feb 2013, 11:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1635
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 11:33    Post subject:  

vicmz wrote:
Retrovol has never worked on my computer, does it work for others? Laughing From Lucid Puppy to the very latest development versions of Precise, Retrovol doesn't do anything to the volume level -- or at least not in the Intel- or AMD-powered desktop computers I've used. I always rely on the volume control of Gnome MPlayer and DeaDBeeF, who wants to make a scientific investigation to rise/low volume when all they wish at the moment is to enjoy a video or their favourite music? Laughing Now seriously, this is the kind of bugs that make some windoze users say "aahhh, LINUX is crappy!" It'd be great to find a solution.


hi vicmz

right click on the retrovol tray icon and choose 'config window' then click on the 'hardware' tab and try changeing hw:0 to hw:1 or visa versa.....

any luck?

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 11:35    Post subject:  

error
Last edited by Henry on Sat 23 Feb 2013, 11:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 11:49    Post subject: Re: Volume control curve
Subject description: Hoping for fix
 

Forum seems to be not working right. Anyway, I have no comment for disciple.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1086

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 11:59    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:

hi vicmz

right click on the retrovol tray icon and choose 'config window' then click on the 'hardware' tab and try changeing hw:0 to hw:1 or visa versa.....

any luck?


Nope. Everytime I do it Retrovol crashes and exits.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 12:28    Post subject: Retrovol 0.12 (Volume mixer)
Subject description: config Volume
 

vicmz wrote:
Retrovol has never worked on my computer, does it work for others? Laughing...

Sometimes but not always.

aplay /usr/share/audio/2barks.au
Clicking up and down there is no difference in Volume
aplay /usr/share/audio/2barks.au

Right klick > Config window > tab between main and hardware (don't see it in English at the moment) > 3rd row

change from wrong
32: Master Playback Volume
to
9:PCM Playback Volume
Apply

and sound volume becomes different

Glad for being able to control sound volume now Laughing

hi vicmz
using that
any luck?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 19:03    Post subject: Re: Retrovol 0.12 (Volume mixer)
Subject description: Retrovol overview
 

L18L wrote:
Glad for being able to control sound volume now Laughing

Some of us are easily pleased, happy to have the thing work. Then there's me. . . I just reread this thread through from the beginning. It's been an interesting and arduous path with seemingly most everyone chipping in with pizzasgood to get here. Well, we're not there yet.

In response to a recent question given me by disciple:
Quote:
Henry wrote:
"That the curve is so crowded at the top is perhaps not so bad as the lack of a true mute."

It has a "true mute" as far as I can tell. Am I missing something, or are you?

As I see it there are two things still wrong with retrovol:

1. It has a linear "taper," not logarithmic. Nearly every volume control has a curve such that it "gives an approximately equal change in perceived volume for each equal slider increment."

2. It has a false mute indication, the red x popping up at the lowest visual segment, but not at zero volume.

When I pointed this out to pizzasgood in Feb 2012 he said:
Quote:
"If anybody is interested in having it changed right now, there are only two lines of source code that would need adjusting. Otherwise, you'll have to wait until I get around to adding it proper, which is more work since I want it to be optional - I'm kind of busy lately so I might not work on it for a week or two. Also, this hasn't been tested thoroughly - it is possible that in some situations near the maximum and minimum volume levels you might have trouble getting it to completely max (or min) out. I will test that more rigorously when I implement it for real.

Anyway, the changes are to the alsa_classes.cpp file. The lines to change are 161 and 167, in the scale_out and scale_in functions.

Here is the original code: Code:
//this is used internally to scale a number to be from 0-100
int Element::scale_out(int num){
if(max-min==0){ return(num); }
return(ceil(100.0*(num-min)/(max-min)));
}
//this is the inverse of scale_out; it's used to take a 0-100 number and put it
//into the proper scale for the element to understand
int Element::scale_in(int num){
if(max-min==0){ return(num); }
return(floor((num*(max-min)/(100))+min));
}


And here is the modified code: Code:
//this is used internally to scale a number to be from 0-100
int Element::scale_out(int num){
if(max-min==0){ return(num); }
return(ceil(pow(100.0, (num-min)/(double)(max-min))));
}
//this is the inverse of scale_out; it's used to take a 0-100 number and put it
//into the proper scale for the element to understand
int Element::scale_in(int num){
if(max-min==0){ return(num); }
return(round((log(num)/log(100)*(max-min))+min));
}



And here is the diff, if you prefer that format: Code:
--- src/alsa_classes.cpp (revision 181)
+++ src/alsa_classes.cpp (working copy)
@@ -158,13 +158,13 @@
//this is used internally to scale a number to be from 0-100
int Element::scale_out(int num){
if(max-min==0){ return(num); }
- return(ceil(100.0*(num-min)/(max-min)));
+ return(ceil(pow(100.0, (num-min)/(double)(max-min))));
}
//this is the inverse of scale_out; it's used to take a 0-100 number and put it
//into the proper scale for the element to understand
int Element::scale_in(int num){
if(max-min==0){ return(num); }
- return(floor((num*(max-min)/(100))+min));
+ return(round((log(num)/log(100)*(max-min))+min));
}
//this will grab the highest value in the element
int Element::get(){

If you wanted some other scaling formula, these two functions are where you'd define it.

Too bad he didn't do it if it was so simple. (I am not a coder, sorry.)

In the screen slider it's desirable for the end limits to represent zero (mute) and maximum sound level. If it's not possible we shouldn't say so.

Last edited by Henry on Mon 25 Feb 2013, 07:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1086

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 20:42    Post subject: Re: Retrovol 0.12 (Volume mixer)
Subject description: config Volume
 

L18L wrote:

Right klick > Config window > tab between main and hardware (don't see it in English at the moment) > 3rd row

change from wrong
32: Master Playback Volume
to
9:PCM Playback Volume
Apply

and sound volume becomes different

Glad for being able to control sound volume now Laughing

hi vicmz
using that
any luck?


Wow Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Thank you Laughing Laughing Laughing

Now the BIG question is: if this is how Retrovol is supposed to work, why is Puppy using another setting as default? Or different CPUs have different settings? Question Question Question Question Question Question

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 12:38    Post subject: Re: Retrovol 0.12 (Volume mixer)
Subject description: config Volume
 

vicmz wrote:
Wow Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Thank you Laughing Laughing Laughing

Now the BIG question is: if this is how Retrovol is supposed to work, why is Puppy using another setting as default? Or different CPUs have different settings? Question Question Question Question Question Question

It's not as serious as that. Retrovol works well except for these human factors considerations. I use it a lot.

Pizzasgood has been with puppy since the beginning and has done some great stuff, including retrovol. He has not been on the forum for about a year. I keep hoping he will check in again.

Hint: The retrovol source is available at the begining of this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 16:52    Post subject: Re: Retrovol 0.12 (Volume mixer)
Subject description: config Volume
 

vicmz wrote:
L18L wrote:

Right klick > Config window > tab between main and hardware (don't see it in English at the moment) > 3rd row

change from wrong
32: Master Playback Volume
to
9:PCM Playback Volume
Apply

and sound volume becomes different

Glad for being able to control sound volume now Laughing

hi vicmz
using that
any luck?


Wow Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Thank you Laughing Laughing Laughing

Now the BIG question is: if this is how Retrovol is supposed to work, why is Puppy using another setting as default? Or different CPUs have different settings? Question Question Question Question Question Question

I think you have a weird sound card, or something is weird about your system - maybe the linux driver that is used for your chip doesn't quite know enough about it and thinks that it has controls that it really hasn't. With most cards "master playback" is the best choice.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6426
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 19:41    Post subject:  

BTW, if you don't use your Line/Mic/CD inputs etc., using the PCM volume control should be fine. Otherwise you might want to set up a "Master" software volume control (the normal volume controls are hardware volume controls) - there is a howto for this on the alsa wiki. Or you might not Wink

Incidentally, Henry might also want to try configuring retrovol to control "PCM" rather than "Master". I have read that on many sound cards the master playback control is logarithmic but the PCM control is linear (or the other way around, depending on how you interpret that statement).

Also, Henry, I'll post back again when I have time - I think you have some misunderstandings/misconceptions which we should clear up.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1200s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0204s) ][ GZIP on ]