Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 13:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Retrovol 0.13.1 (Volume mixer)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Mar 2010, 17:10    Post subject:  

Well that's not good. The method I used to position it is a bit of a hack, so I was planning to eventually change that anyway. I'll check on that next time I work on it. Though I probably won't be working on Retrovol for the next couple weeks as I focus on getting CheesyRamHog to the point where I can use it as my main OS. (I just finished automating the first half of the compile-from-source process this morning and am testing that in the background right now.)

For the record, that positioning problem and the need for balance control are the next items on my list for when I come back to working on this, unless any serious bugs are noticed.


I prefer cold pizza for breakfast, and sometimes for lunch if it's an early lunch. But I usually prefer it hot the rest of the time, especially for supper.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6438
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 13 Mar 2010, 18:08    Post subject:  

If you're looking at positioning stuff again, it would also be nice if there was an option to make the mixer come up in the corner of the screen instead of the centre, or alternatively it could remember its location instead of always moving back to the centre Smile
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 06:03    Post subject:  

I have to stay with 0.2 as 0.4 does not work properly for me.

I have the icon in the tray, which is fine.

There is a menu entry in the Multimedia menu to run the mixer. If I do that (or type "retrovol" in a terminal), then I see two menu entries "Quit" and "Exit" -- I chose the latter, which killed the tray icon as well.

I then tried to rerun the mixer, by typing "retrovol" in a terminal, but it won't start -- nothing happens, just returns to the prompt.

0.2 works fine, except for that little taskbar problem.

Can you separate the tray icon and the mixer to separate applications? That might make things much cleaner.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 17:27    Post subject:  

Seems to be that instead of properly closing it sometimes becomes a zombie. Then the PID check when you try to rerun it thinks it's still running, so it sends the popup signal and exits.

The quick fix is to remove the leftover PID file (/var/run/retrovol.pid) before trying to relaunch it.

Taking a quick look at the code, I'm not sure how this situation can even happen, because it should remove the PID file before it tries to exit, and it shouldn't be able to become a zombie until after it tries to exit. I suspect maybe the code handling the tray icon might not be being told to close properly, causing the program to try exiting before it has a chance to finish cleaning up.

I'm not a big fan of the idea of breaking it apart, so I'll try to fix the actual problem first. I'll also learn how to access the process list from C in order to make the PID check more robust so that it can survive the times when there are zombie uprisings. (It can already handle stale files by virtue of that sending the popup signal via kill() returns an error code when the process does not exist. But when the process is a zombie it does still exists and receives signals happily.)

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3203
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 18:48    Post subject:  

Hello,
I like it.. Very Happy
It is configurable, easy, and slick...
And it scrolls... Cool
Very nice..
I`ll be getting a lot of use from this pet..

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 21:40    Post subject:  

Pizzasgood,
I don't want the mixer to have an "Exit" menu entry that kills the tray icon. People will see two entries in the mixer "Quit" and "Exit" and that will cause confusion, then they will try the latter and be surprised when the tray icon disappears (as I was).

You are thinking in terms of the mixer only being launched from the tray icon perhaps, while I also want it to launch separately from the main Multimedia menu -- in the latter case, exiting the mixer should definitely not have any affect on the tray icon.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 21:50    Post subject:  

Good point. I think I'll change the right-click behavior to show a menu instead of immediately bringing up the main window. That would also leave room for having an option to have it launch a different program as the main one while still allowing access to the configuration GUI.

That way I could justify removing the exit option from the main window entirely. Exiting the tray icon would be done from the tray icon itself. More obvious => less room for Murphy's Law to take effect.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6438
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 19 Mar 2010, 02:36    Post subject:  

Just my 2 cents: right-click to bring up the mixer is the best feature. Maybe it could be configurable, or a command-line option for keen people?

The other option would be to relabel "Exit" to make the behaviour clear. This wouldn't let people use another mixer... but do they really want to?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Mar 2010, 00:40    Post subject:  

So I'm clear, I meant that the menu it brings up would have an entry to launch the main window. So you could still access it from the icon. It would just be either two clicks, or a down-click + drag-to-entry + release, instead of the current immediate down-click-only.

If there is demand for no menu even after the clarification, I will add a configuration option.

I'll probably add a separate tab especially for the tray-related options like that (and of course move the applicable ones into that tab). There's already more than I'd like in the Main tab.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6438
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 20 Mar 2010, 04:43    Post subject:  

Quote:
It would just be either two clicks, or a down-click + drag-to-entry + release, instead of the current immediate down-click-only

Yes, I did realise what you meant, but two clicks is so much less efficient than one Smile

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Mar 2010, 11:15    Post subject:  

Okay, no problem.
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mill0001

Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 375
Location: "People's Republik of Kalifornia"

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 18:28    Post subject:  

Hi Pizza,
I posted this on another thread, but it looks like you may be able to help me. I'm using pup 4.31, "Stardust v.13". When I click on volume control in my tray my slider opens up on left of screen at the top instead of under the volume icon. (see screenshot). I uninstalled the original version that came with the ISO and installed your latest pet, but still does the same thing. It behaves like it should when I run the live cd. This happened after I did frugal install.
My_DT.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  My_DT.jpg 
Filesize  168.25 KB 
Downloaded  627 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 20:21    Post subject:  

That sounds related to the problem magerlab posted about in the previous page. When I wrote this I didn't think of the possibility of the tray being on the top, so I'm pretty sure that that's at least part of the problem. It's trying to render it above the taskbar, which puts it off the screen, and then depending on the window manager it could wind up in strange places.

I'll try to work on it later this week.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mill0001

Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 375
Location: "People's Republik of Kalifornia"

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 22:57    Post subject:  

Hi Pizza,
No big rush. I have a full install of 4.21 that I'm using as my main op sys. I just hate it when lil things don't work properly and I don't know how to fix it. Thanks for your attention. Lee on the Left Coast. (People's Soviet Socialist Republic of California, Amerika)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WarMocK


Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Fri 26 Mar 2010, 17:10    Post subject:  

Hey Pizzasgood,
being a "victim" of a CM6501 audio chip, I am unable to use the current volume control on Puppy, so I gave retrovol a try - and it partially worked. Very Happy
The problem is: the usb audio I need to select for volume control is listed as "Speaker1" in both alsamixer and retrovol. I know that I can chose what audio channel can be controlled over the desktop slider, but I have no idea which one to chose, as the dropdown list offers TWO "Speaker" channels (but no Speaker1), and none of them seem to work (I already tested them both). Do you have any idea what else I could try? Or is there probably a way to alter retrovol to provide better usb audio support? It would be nice if I didn't have to open retrovol's volume control window to change the volume level but could use the slider instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0860s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]