Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 20:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Startmount-0.5.5 Drive automount and program starter
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 11 [152 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 19:01    Post subject:  

ahhhh, you are running puppy 3 too, that may be the problem.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 19:04    Post subject:  

No 431 the latest version!

Flash drive install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 19:09    Post subject:  

hmmm, different shell? just the "sh-3.00#" prompt threw me, never saw that one on any puppy after 4.0.

Ok seems the usb install may be the cause, it is experimental, well seems experiment returned negative results, ok we will find a solution, hopefully for the next version.

Thanks

One more thing, do you get the splash screen warning that you are running a usb install?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 19:13    Post subject:  

Yes.

I ran it in LxTerminal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 10:19    Post subject:  

Version 0.1.5 released, better support for usb drive install.
_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 04:31    Post subject:  

abushcrafter,

Could you please test this latest version?

USB installs should work now.

Thank you,

01micko

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 07:43    Post subject:  

Sorry. Yes I have tested 0.1.5. The drives now appears in the list but the drives that are selected are not mounted at boot Sad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 07:46    Post subject:  

Ok, thanks for persisting,

I will look into this further... stay tuned over the coming days.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 08:33    Post subject:  

abushcrafter

I think I found the bug.

If you get time could you please test this experimental release which should fix the usb bug.

Anyone else with a usb install is welcome to test this release.

Cheers

EDIT: Bugfix ver removed, get the latest version...See main post.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 22 Jan 2010, 16:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 12:31    Post subject:  

Mounting now works Very Happy! I did set 2 drives to be mounted for the test. The run custom app on startup does not work though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:00    Post subject:  

Here is a better .desktop file:

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Startmount (mount & run @ boot)
Comment=Mount drives & run apps at boot.
Icon=/usr/local/Startmount/startmount.xpm
Exec=/usr/local/Startmount/Startmount
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=X-Desktop;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:04    Post subject:  

Why better ?

The desktop file is generated from input when petting.

Don't you like the entry, it's descriptive. It's not a desktop app but a filesystem app.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:26    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
The desktop file is generated from input when petting
You can replace the one in your "files to go into a pet" and it will use that one instead when you make the pet again.

tasmod wrote:
Don't you like the entry, it's descriptive.

Its ok. Yes it does have a better description for cases like someone who is not a English speaking native, but it does take up a lot of screen state.

tasmod wrote:

It's not a desktop app but a filesystem app.

I thought X-Desktop was for configuration and filesystem for file managers, search apps, rename apps ,ect. Not for file system configuration?


So maybe "better" was the wrong word, "alternative" is probably a better description.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:28    Post subject:  

OK, I've cleared my test machine and loaded 0.1.5-1

Set a drive and entered pmusic in the program entry field.

Checked Startup and they are there as entries.

Rebooted, drive mounted , then 2 seconds pause and pmusic opened.

So, I'm unable to replicate the problem.

What program were you entering to start at boot ?

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:30    Post subject:  

artha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 11 [152 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0706s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]