Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 00:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Stardust 005
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 16:47    Post subject:  

OK forget that, downloaded after a reboot and this time success.

Posting from 005 now.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 22:04    Post subject:  

CPU Freq Scaling Ondemand is Updated to v. 1.3-2: bugfix - sorting min frequencies not always from smallest
_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
outtaspam

Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 23:43    Post subject: Re: Failed to boot via CD or USB - "attempted to kill init"  

zigbert wrote:
outtaspam wrote:
Hi Zigbert,

I checked the MD5 and then burned a CD-RW and made a USB (formatted to FAT) install using unetbootin (windows) of Stardust 005.

I tried to boot on my sisters' Gateway MA7 laptop with Vistsux and no puppy installed. The boot stopped with "attempted to kill init" whether the CD or USB version was used.

What is going on?

Outtaspam
Does Puppy 4.3.1 boot on the same machine?


Yes Puppy 4.3.1 boots fine, as do Lighthouse Pup 4.43 D, MacPup 3, and Boxpup 4.3.1. Very puzzling.

Outtaspam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 01:47    Post subject:  

pupRadio is now at version 0.5

I added command line support.

It plays the last played radio station when invoked with "-p" option.

Useful for new Startmount (coming soon), Pschedule.. Precord (if installed)

Very Happy

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 07:26    Post subject: Initial tests on 005  

I have jumped from 002 to 005 such is your speed!

I started however from a blank save file to give a clean install (frugal).

I copied my /root/.gftp and /root/.mozilla folders over from my production 431 frugal install to save time. I have lots of other pets to install eventually as well particularly a full Samba server.

I like the appearance and menus.

However a major requirement for me is connections to a Samba LANDisk and in this respect I can not get the new lameSMBexplorer to work. My shares have no username or password. It finds the shares after several refreshes but I cannot connect. It says to check my username/password..

Pnethood in 431 works great. Barry make some changes in 431 to do with CIFs (reported in his blog at the 431 time) which in previous puppies did not work (although I had a workaround) so I don't think there is a pet for the 431 Pnethood which I could install in Stardust005. Pity but this is a must for me. It looks to me like lameSMBexplorer is too alpha (0.1.1 alpha.!) at the moment (I have been following its thread so see there are still ongoing work being done by Patriot ) particularly in Stardust which I got the impression was to be conservative and not bleading edge?

Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 11:40    Post subject:  

Been getting to grips with Stardust, but Oh Dear Lord, Ptray REALLY needs an 'add/change icon' option. It is currently a nightmare trying to add a button to activate a script.................. unless I am doing it all wrong of course Smile
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 17:34    Post subject:  

Trio
CPU Freq Scaling Ondemand is Updated to v. 1.3-2

Mick
pupRadio is now at version 0.5

mawebb88
I will return to Pnethood, else there comes new lame-code Smile Yes, it is a balance - keep the good old, or support upcoming improvements........


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 18:11    Post subject: Re: Failed to boot via CD or USB - "attempted to kill init"  

outtaspam wrote:
zigbert wrote:
outtaspam wrote:
Hi Zigbert,

I checked the MD5 and then burned a CD-RW and made a USB (formatted to FAT) install using unetbootin (windows) of Stardust 005.

I tried to boot on my sisters' Gateway MA7 laptop with Vistsux and no puppy installed. The boot stopped with "attempted to kill init" whether the CD or USB version was used.

What is going on?

Outtaspam
Does Puppy 4.3.1 boot on the same machine?


Yes Puppy 4.3.1 boots fine, as do Lighthouse Pup 4.43 D, MacPup 3, and Boxpup 4.3.1. Very puzzling.

Outtaspam
I am puzzled. I don't know what I have touched. I don't know anything about unetbootin.....Will I get the same error if I install Puppy to a usb-dongle via Puppy universal installer? Is this the same error that Trio reported?


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 18:20    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Been getting to grips with Stardust, but Oh Dear Lord, Ptray REALLY needs an 'add/change icon' option. It is currently a nightmare trying to add a button to activate a script.................. unless I am doing it all wrong of course Smile
Hmmm, I thought I had built a damn good gui, but now both you and prehisotic have reported the same issue. Have you expected it to be similar to the earlier versions of Ptray, or is this simply crappy code. The picture shows how to add galculator as a new icon in utility tray. It will appear at bottom of list (at right in the utility tray). To remove one, click mouse-right-click on item at once (or the remove-button for info). Change position by dragging items up/down in list. Ptray helps you to freely build all your trays exactly the you want them.


Smile Sigmund


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 20:16    Post subject:  

Sigmund,

Pls don't forget to update sfs converter too, because it's an important upgrade, I added sfs compatibilty check.

Thx

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4609
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 01:36    Post subject: Pburn not working
Subject description: Will not do a burn
 

Pburn will not burn to CD or DVD. I go through all the steps and when the burn info screen comes on, nothing happens. All the steps seem to work, except the final burn operation.

This was used with a fresh run from CD, no saves on system, running from the disc only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 04:25    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Hmmm, I thought I had built a damn good gui,


Agreed. Everything is fine as long as all you want to do is use the bar as a program launcher, but heck, we have a menu for that. It is much more problematic if I want to launch a file loaded into an application, or maybe launch rox with a particular folder opened. Usually to do this I just write a script, put it in /my-applications/bin and add it to the top bar for easy access. Using the gui in Stardust, it is easy to add the script, but I have no option to add an icon, so the button does not appear. To solve this, I have to create a .desktop file for the script, or edit the tray file by hand. A select icon option would solve it.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 04:26    Post subject:  

Startmount is up to 0.1.5

You can now type a command in the entry widget, it is forked by default. Options are accepted.

Also added a new feature showing drive space, and fixed usb install drive detection (hopefully).

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 05:06    Post subject:  

trio wrote:
Sigmund,

Pls don't forget to update sfs converter too, because it's an important upgrade, I added sfs compatibilty check.

Thx
Not forgotten
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 05:06    Post subject: Re: Pburn not working
Subject description: Will not do a burn
 

bigpup wrote:
Pburn will not burn to CD or DVD. I go through all the steps and when the burn info screen comes on, nothing happens. All the steps seem to work, except the final burn operation.

This was used with a fresh run from CD, no saves on system, running from the disc only.
Is this working in Puppy 4.3.1
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0727s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]