Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 07:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Stardust 005
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 05:13    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
if I want to launch a file loaded into an application, or maybe launch rox with a particular folder opened.
Heck, we have the 'Favorites' for that Very Happy

I see what you mean, but you couldn't do that in the old Ptray either. I could add an option to open config-file in geany as in the old ptray. Integrating such a feature in the Ptray gui, I fear it would end up really confusing. It could possible be a unique gui - 'add custom item'........not on my priority list. - Hopefully someone will grab the idea.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 05:14    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Startmount is up to 0.1.5
Updated
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 08:31    Post subject:  

OK, using 'favourites' Didnt even know it exosted. Very nice, a great addition.............
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 09:12    Post subject:  

Really liking Stardust now. Startmount is def sketchy. It mounts the drive, then a few seconds after, unmounts it.
Here is a nice little .jwm theme
Blackgrad.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Blackgrad.pet 
Filesize  702 Bytes 
Downloaded  280 Time(s) 

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 09:19    Post subject:  

Where would I look to remove this secondary main menu spacer?
menu.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.67 KB
 Viewed   1063 Time(s)

menu.png


_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5231
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 19:20    Post subject: Pburn not working  

Quote:
bigpup wrote:
Pburn will not burn to CD or DVD. I go through all the steps and when the burn info screen comes on, nothing happens. All the steps seem to work, except the final burn operation.

This was used with a fresh run from CD, no saves on system, running from the disc only.
Is this working in Puppy 4.3.1



Zigbert,

Yes it does work in Puppy 4.3.1

In Stardust 005:
I tried it on two different computers. On one it works ok, on the other it does not. Best I can figure, it has to do with the CD/DVD burner that I am using. The two computers have different brand burners.

Could allso have something to do with Pburns temp file location?

Last edited by bigpup on Tue 19 Jan 2010, 13:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 06:16    Post subject:  

How does Ptray determine which icon to use please?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 10:37    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
How does Ptray determine which icon to use please?

/usr/sbin/fixmenus generates a list ($HOME/.stardust/tmp/iconlist). Here is the Icon-chooser code.
- first check if file is linked to a icon in globicons
- if not, check /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps
- if not, check $HOME/.icons
- if not, check /usr/share/pixmaps
- if not, check /usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons
- if not, set it to star48.png
Code:
#ptray and favorites grabs icon and executable from this list
 ICON="`grep -A 1 "$TMP" $HOME/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/globicons | cut -d '>' -f 2 | cut -d '<' -f 1 | grep -v "^$" | tail -n1`" #use icon in globicons if exist
 ICONNAME="`cat $APP | grep -m 1 ^Icon= | cut -d ' ' -f 1 | cut -d '=' -f 2`" #as it is in .desktop file
 [ ! -f "$ICON" ] && ICON="$ICONNAME"
 [ ! -f "$ICON" ] && ICON="/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/$ICONNAME"
 [ ! -f "$ICON" ] && ICON="$HOME/.icons/$ICONNAME"
 [ ! -f "$ICON" ] && ICON="/usr/share/pixmaps/$ICONNAME"
 [ ! -f "$ICON" ] && ICON="/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/$ICONNAME"
 [ ! -f "$ICON" ] && ICON=star48.png
 [ ! -d $HOME/.stardust/tmp ] && mkdir -p $HOME/.stardust/tmp
 echo "$EXEC,$ICON" >> $HOME/.stardust/tmp/iconlist

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 10:50    Post subject:  

Ok, got it thanks. jwm -p is throwing up a few errors
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5231
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 13:48    Post subject: middle mouse button menu not working
Subject description: wiil not bring up menu by pressing middle button
 

I have two different Logitech mice with middle buttons.
One will bring up a menu when the middle button is pressed the other one nothing happens.

Nice feature when it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 15:08    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Where would I look to remove this secondary main menu spacer?
I missed your question, Sorry.
Look in /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 15:12    Post subject: Re: middle mouse button menu not working
Subject description: wiil not bring up menu by pressing middle button
 

bigpup wrote:
I have two different Logitech mice with middle buttons.
One will bring up a menu when the middle button is pressed the other one nothing happens.

Nice feature when it works.
You will like the new feature in 006:


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 15:18    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Where would I look to remove this secondary main menu spacer?
I missed your question, Sorry.
Look in /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc

Sigmund


Thanks........... done

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 15:22    Post subject:  

jwm -p currently throwing up these errors:
Code:
# jwm -p
grep: this: No such file or directory
grep: menu,: No such file or directory
find: /root/.jwm/menuitems/Edit: No such file or directory
find: this: No such file or directory
find: menu: No such file or directory
JWM: warning: /root/.jwmrc[246]: could not open included file exec:fixmenus_favorites
JWM: warning: /root/.jwmrc[269]: invalid tag in Active: Corner
JWM: warning: /root/.jwmrc[275]: invalid tag in Inactive: Corner


I think I am right in saying the 'Corner' tag is no longer supported in the current jwm?

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 20:57    Post subject:  

Apologies in advance if this is already posted ( I just skimmed through the thread). I had to load the devx_431.sfs for the 3 menus to work.

edit; I see the problem; I need to run pfix=ram. I was trying to just update the pup-431.sfs file in my grub folder, using my previous pupsave.2fs. Guess that doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0786s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]