Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 14 Dec 2017, 20:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Puppy On Laptops
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 23 of 23 [342 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23
Author Message
Fossil


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 1120
Location: Gloucestershire, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2017, 10:56    Post subject:  

Creativian Welcome. A simple question to kick-off and get the ball rolling - How much memory is available?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Creativian

Joined: 24 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2017, 11:17    Post subject:  

Thanks for the welcome, Semme and Fossil.

Semme wrote:
Welcome Mate.

Are you saying 605 won't boot with Xvesa?

How about your card? Forward these specs using Wary's PupSysInfo.


I don't even get the chance to select Xvesa. I don't see the xorgwizard at all. Boom, straight to black screen.

I'm not familiar with PupSysInfo. Where do I find that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Creativian

Joined: 24 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2017, 12:19    Post subject:  

Fossil wrote:
Creativian Welcome. A simple question to kick-off and get the ball rolling - How much memory is available?


Hi Fossil,

506MB (220MB used), according to HardInfo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2017, 12:30    Post subject:  

Tahr may be a bit much for that amount of RAM.

I suggest you dwnld and try the retro version here..

ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/precise-5.7.1/

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2017, 22:24    Post subject:  

My main laptop is a 2010 HP Pavilion G6:
* Processor - AMD Phenom(tm) II P960 Quad-Core
* Architecture - x86_64 *64-bit*
* RAM - 6 Gig
* * Hard Drive - 700 Gig
* WiFi /Lan
ANY 64-bit Puppy I try with USB stick works and works well.

My little computer is a 2009 HP MINI 210-1000 NETBOOK:
* Processor - Intel Atom
* Architecture - i686 *64-bit*
* RAM - maxed out at 2 Gig
* Hard Drive - 230 GB
* WiFi /Lan
I have Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.5 frugal installed to the hard drive. Also I have a USB stick with:
Every other latest release of Puppies for 64 bit that I could find EXCEPT FatDog64 which is the only one that cannot detect my wifi card. All works as it should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Creativian

Joined: 24 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb 2017, 10:12    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Tahr may be a bit much for that amount of RAM.

I suggest you dwnld and try the retro version here..

ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/precise-5.7.1/


I will. Thanks Semme!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2061
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sat 11 Feb 2017, 20:28    Post subject: pupjibaro on an Asus 701sd -- Maybe also Tahrpup
Subject description: 512 Mb RAM
 

Hi All,

just a link to my post on the pupjibaro thread: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=943074#943074.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2827
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 00:50    Post subject:  

Acquired an HP Pavilion zv6000, XP, 1GB RAM, AMD64 (Athlon64, 3500+ -- I think it's 2.2 GHz).

Got a kernel panic using SuperLupu1. SuperLupu2 came right up (though the built in wireless sometimes comes up, sometimes can't be found -- that might just be an HP issue, it is an old machine).

Dragged my save file from my Sulu1 machine, and dropped it here.

If this works well enough, I might look into upgrading it to 2GB RAM (apparently the max it will handle).

_________________
Add swapfile
WellMinded Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2200
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 02:16    Post subject:  

Creativian wrote:
Semme wrote:
Tahr may be a bit much for that amount of RAM.

I suggest you dwnld and try the retro version here..

ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/precise-5.7.1/


I will. Thanks Semme!


With that specs I would stick with Wary 5.5 which you have been using although even Wary will be slightly slower than it should be. You will also struggle to get a newer browser to perform adequately. The Seamonkey browser which comes with that version or older Opera version 12 should be best.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4745
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 02:18    Post subject:  

RetroTechGuy wrote:
If this works well enough, I might look into upgrading it to 2GB RAM (apparently the max it will handle).
Hi RTG - good to see you back. You went quiet for a lonnng time!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2827
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 22 Apr 2017, 23:29    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
RetroTechGuy wrote:
If this works well enough, I might look into upgrading it to 2GB RAM (apparently the max it will handle).
Hi RTG - good to see you back. You went quiet for a lonnng time!


Thanks... I sometimes get distracted with other things. Was digging on some ongoing problems -- though Palemoon cured one of them... Wink

_________________
Add swapfile
WellMinded Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 21:06    Post subject: Broken keyboard or removable keyboard,  

Broken keyboard or removable keyboard, type on your screen with xvkbd improved version 3.7 from french team. Works on wacom tablette.
However sonme testers would be welcome, some problems with tahrpup ..
My PuppyBang , tahrpup 6.0.2 use it without trouble
virtual keyboard 3.7 , pet here
portuguese.jpg
 Description   Portuguese one
 Filesize   67.75 KB
 Viewed   131 Time(s)

portuguese.jpg


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 23 [342 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0738s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]