Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 05:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Stardust 006
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 02:58    Post subject:  

/usr/sbin/jwmconfig should go....
_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bernibiel

Joined: 22 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 03:41    Post subject: Moving from Stardust 005 to 006  

Hi all

before I have to redo everything that I have done so far to configure Stardust 005 - can I retain the save file fom 005 and simply start using 006 or do I have to start from the beginning.

Thanks - Bernhard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 05:18    Post subject: Re: Moving from Stardust 005 to 006  

bernibiel wrote:
Hi all

before I have to redo everything that I have done so far to configure Stardust 005 - can I retain the save file fom 005 and simply start using 006 or do I have to start from the beginning.

Thanks - Bernhard


I expect 01micko will come in on this, but I understand that there is a 005>006 update delta, which presumably will retain all your configurations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bernibiel

Joined: 22 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 05:31    Post subject:  

Thanks technowomble

Actually I was thinking about just simply taking my USB key with Stardust 005 on it and simply replace pup-431.sfs on the key with the one from the Stardust 006 iso.

I am hoping that after booting up I would be able to use the existing configurations in the save file but now in Stardust 006.

Sorry if I wasn't precise enough in my first post.
As always - any help or comments appreciated - Bernhard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 06:20    Post subject:  

bernibiel wrote:
Thanks technowomble

Actually I was thinking about just simply taking my USB key with Stardust 005 on it and simply replace pup-431.sfs on the key with the one from the Stardust 006 iso.

I am hoping that after booting up I would be able to use the existing configurations in the save file but now in Stardust 006.

Sorry if I wasn't precise enough in my first post.
As always - any help or comments appreciated - Bernhard


...don't think that will load the desktop (at least it didn't for 005)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 06:32    Post subject:  

technowomble wrote:
I expect 01micko will come in on this, but I understand that there is a 005>006 update delta, which presumably will retain all your configurations.


Er, not exactly.. The delta file is only to upgrade the iso.

What I do is backup the "/root" directory (of the previous installation) somewhere.. that way all pets and files you have downloaded are easily accessible.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 08:17    Post subject:  

I am ashamed! Pmenu doesn't work as supposed. It is not Pmenus fault, but a silly bug in my Stardust-generator-script. Embarassed The menu in 006 was never meant to show ALL menu-items, - only those in Stardust 005. The rest should be addable from Pmenu. The good thing though, is that Trio found missing icons in the desktop-menu Smile

Rob, I'm glad you jumped into xf-prot.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 08:20    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
I am ashamed!


OOooh Joy, Making an OS is fun!

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 08:51    Post subject:  

Zigbert,

I have xfprot working but not from the script install from the menu. This is flawed with the gui part.

I'm considering how to do this, I suppose a pet is the best way. However I'm not exactly sure what items are necessary so I will include all.

Once it opens gui there is an option to update the definitions.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1997
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 09:22    Post subject:  

I have not tried Stardust006 yet. Hard keeping up with this and puppeee updates Smile

Is your Pmenu an upgrade of my Pmenu or something totally new?
(though obviously, anything you do is an upgrade to anything I've done) Smile

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveDX

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 09:53    Post subject:  

Any download mirrors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 480
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 10:27    Post subject: LameSMB Explorer Works!  

I'm disappointed that no one responded to my cry for help about connecting to my wired network with Stardust 006, but suddenly I was able to make it work. I don't know how.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 10:47    Post subject:  

Wow, I have a working XF-Prot as a pet BUT it's 24meg in size.

That means I can't post it here and I have no hosting facilities.

This is due to the virus definitions file at 47meg expanded on it's own, although this is the latest definitions.

Wonder if Barry realised that this is in the iso as well. No XF-Prot and maybe a lot of space to spare.

I have tested it on 3 installs and it makes each one work from the menu entry.

Where to now ?

EDIT----See later post, but this still works.
Here that's where.

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-bf4a3a6d.html

This is datafilehost location for the file.

Last edited by tasmod on Sun 24 Jan 2010, 15:45; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1255

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 14:04    Post subject: problem with video and desktop installation  

I'm posting this from a machine with SiS embedded video (671), which is known to have problems at high resolutions. I forgot that it has trouble with 1024x768x24 and chose that in xorgwizard. This showed the test pattern adequately, but, when I went to the full desktop, while the alert about allowing the desktop to install was up, the screen was so messed up I didn't notice the warning, and bailed out with control-alt-backspace. This left a seriously defective desktop after I got xorgwizard to 1024x768x16, and used xwin to restart the GUI. With no menus, panels or bars, there isn't much you can do from the desktop.

You need to either display a text message before launching the desktop, in case the message there is unreadable, or allow the call to xwin to restart desktop configuration from scratch in this situation. A flag to indicate if desktop configuration has ever been completed would be a way to tell if you need to start from scratch. (I'm using "configuration" where you say "installation". We have enough confusion about installing things.)

I've also seen the problem with cpu use maxing out, though I was not running alsamixer at the time, but reconfiguring Pwidgets. I did my usual messing around, by moving the analog clock and adding some widgets. The analog clock did not immediately appear, until I right-clicked on the side panel.

Suggestion: shouldn't the message for Pwidgets be "Change Widgets" not just "Add Widget"? This also appears in the menus, and may confuse someone who merely want to move or remove something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1255

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2010, 14:08    Post subject: Re: LameSMB Explorer Works!  

davec51 wrote:
I'm disappointed that no one responded to my cry for help about connecting to my wired network with Stardust 006, but suddenly I was able to make it work. I don't know how.
I think this has to do with Pwireless2 doing things you didn't know about while you were trying the first time. Jemimah would like that to handle all network connections. She may need to add some notification.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0831s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]