Grub4DosConfig

Miscellaneous tools
Message
Author
noryb009
Posts: 634
Joined: Sat 20 Mar 2010, 22:28

#271 Post by noryb009 »

gcmartin:

Add this to your menu.lst:

Code: Select all

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /path/to/file.iso
map /path/to/file.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)
boot
More info here: http://diddy.boot-land.net/grub4dos/files/map.htm#hd32

EDIT:
Just read the thread you linked.
1) Install GRUB4DOS to the USB
2) Create/edit menu.lst in the root(?) of the drive with the above code
3) Set boot flag.
4) Reboot and start from the USB.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#272 Post by nooby »

Yes such code works on USB but it fail to boot iso on internal HDD that are formatted in NTFS unless you make a partition with ext2 or such or go the USB route while Grub2 using the loop thing can boot from hdd if one have grub2 on the usb but the iso on the internal hdd I am on such now Peppermint-Ice-10012010.iso
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

vanchutr
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat 05 Aug 2006, 12:04

#273 Post by vanchutr »

This is my works. It may be good on others systems? Please test it and give me more informations!

How to boot an .iso from grub
1. I'd make an iso file with this code

Code: Select all

mkisofs -R -b grldr -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -o grldr.iso iso_root
*** The grldr.iso contains these files: ..., vmlinuz, initrd.gz, pup-432.sfs, ... and others appropriates stuffs

2. Copy the made "grldr.iso" to C: (C: is an Windows' partition - fat 32). This is an partition is managed by grub loader.
3. Start Windows and run "WinContig" to defrag C: partition
4. Now restart the machine. Then I can boot the made "grldr.iso". This is the menu entry to boot the .iso file:

Code: Select all

title TEST 1 BOOT PUPPY ISO ON C AND RUN IN RAM
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /grldr.iso
map /grldr.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)
boot
*** If I don't use "WinContig" -> Boot this "grldr.iso", I will meet this error: "Error 60: File for drive emulator must be in one contiguous disk area".
NB: Before test this, I'd renamed all the pup-432.sfs in hard disk (in all partitions). This is sure to know that the system boot "grldr.iso"
This will help me to test new puppy's .iso (without need virtualbox or other emulator ... may be?)

Thank

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#274 Post by nooby »

vanchutr , yes thanks, the reason it works are that you have Fat32 while AFAIK all new computers sold in Sweden with Windows on them have format NTFS that was so on the latest 5 computers that I bought since 2003 and I don't plan to buy another one. :)

Sure you can wipe out all the Ms or you can take away the warranty from the OEM by resizing the whole thing. I am not into such things. I want true Dual boot with total compatibility and grub2 on the usb stick gives me that.

It start booting from the usb but take the iso from the HDD. No change to the Ms Windows is needed.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
jim3630
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon 14 Feb 2011, 02:21
Location: Northern Nevada

#275 Post by jim3630 »

Using v1.7 on a frugal install ext4 flashdrive. several times on different boxes it would not recognize puppy frugal installs on the hdd. either on ext3 or ext4 would not recognize the os.

have not read all pages but this is probable known bug. I reverted to v1.6ish and did recognizes those previously lost pups. hope helps.

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

UPDATE: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.1

#276 Post by shinobar »

Was failed with some environmnt when the 1st partition is ext4 file system.
grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.1.pet (Update: 29 Oct 2011) now available. See top post of this ropic.
You are encouraged to give feed back as a replay of this topic.

* 29oct11 v1.7.1: fix was failed with ext4(thanks to jim3630 and billtoo), drive letter, gtkdialog4 thanks to 01micko, help button, no sort probepart, bootable check
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#277 Post by playdayz »

grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.1.pet (Update: 29 Oct 2011) now available. See top post of this ropic.
You are encouraged to give feed back as a replay of this topic.

* 29oct11 v1.7.1: fix was failed with ext4(thanks to jim3630 and billtoo), drive letter, gtkdialog4 thanks to 01micko, help button, no sort probepart, bootable check
Shinobar, I am not clear. Are these bugs in the latest 1.7.1 version? If so, is there a fix coming soon? Thanks.

User avatar
Ray MK
Posts: 774
Joined: Tue 05 Feb 2008, 09:10
Location: UK

#278 Post by Ray MK »

Hi playdayz

My understanding is -

The failing was in 1.7 - where if the first parttion on a drive
was formated ext4 - grub4dos failed to work.
(ext2, ext3 as first partition worked)

grub4dos 1.7.1 fixed the failing ext4 first partition scenario.

HTH - very best regards - Ray

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

#279 Post by shinobar »

@playdayz
v1.7.1 is bug fixed version as Ray says.
But i tested on the Lucid Puppy 528, the old (version v1.7) still works with no problem.

Means you need not upgrade grub4dos as for the lupu 528 version.
Consider to upgrade at next lucid test release if you have a plan.
Ray MK wrote:The failing was in 1.7 - where if the first parttion on a drive
was formated ext4 - grub4dos failed to work.
Right. But the failure depends on the version of util-linux(fdisk).
It occurs on Racy beta 2. (Potentially on Wary 5.2, Slacko if users manually install grub4dosconfig v1.7.)
No problem on Lucid 528, LupQ-511, Quickset Wary-511-01q...
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#280 Post by jemimah »

I think grub4dosconfig is having difficulty with my card reader.

Code: Select all

grub4dosconfig 
BINSTALLER=bootlace.com
sda(MBR)_250.1GB_ATA_WDC_WD2500BEKT-6
fd0_(FLOPPY_DISK)
mmcblk0p_0kB_
sdb_160.0GB_WD_1600BEV_External
sdd_1.9GB__USB_Flash_Memory

# df -h /mnt/mmcblk0p1/
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mmcblk0p1        3.9G   83M  3.8G   3% /mnt/mmcblk0p1
You can see it's reporting 0kb but it's not doing the right thing with partition name, which is I suppose should be mmcblk0, not mmcblk0p. The device names with these card readers seem not to follow the normal naming convention.

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Grub4DosConfig v1.7.2

#281 Post by shinobar »

UPDATE: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.2.pet

v1.7.2: fix was mmc card(ex. mmcblk0p1) failed(thanks to jemimah), which vmlinuz and initrd should be taken(thanks to Karl)
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#282 Post by don570 »

I used pemasu's exprimo which has the Enlightenment WM


It seems to have a bug when scripts don't finish nicely with 0

so when I close grub4dos I get this....
Image

It's a common bug. It usually can be solved by putting a zero
after exit. So for example I did the following

line 623 of usr/sbin/grub4dosconfig
change

Code: Select all

[ "$EXIT" = "OK" ] || exit
to

Code: Select all

[ "$EXIT" = "OK" ] || exit 0

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Grub4DosConfig v1.7.9

#283 Post by shinobar »

Test release: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.9.pet (2012-04-30)
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/
# 28apr12 v1.7.9: improved detecting special puppies like LHP, advanced menu, old menus, legacy grub compatible menu, splash image, text domain, exit status (thanks to don)
Document
This release is not bugfix, but improved and has new features. Welcome your feedback.

Highlight of the new features:
  1. Pupplet detection
    Detects LazY Puppy, LightHousePup, was not auto-detected.
  2. Advanced menu
    Advanced menu is shown behind the top menu, at the second page.
  3. Old menus
    The grub4dosconfig makes back up the existing old menus. You can go back with choosing the "Previous menu" in the 'Advanced menu'.
  4. Splash image
    You can make background image behind the bootup menu. The image will need to be in the .xpm format and must be 640x480 pixels with a maximum of 14 colours. Place the image file with name 'splash.xpm' at the same place of the 'menu.lst' file. You can make your original splash image by using the mtpaint or the gimp. (Grub4dos Guide - Creating a Splash Image)
    EDIT: You need to comment out the 'color' line both from menu.lst and menu-advanced.lst if you use the splash image.
    menu*.lst wrote:# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7.9
    #color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
    splashimage=/splash.xpm
  5. Legacy grub compatible
    you can take the "Legacy compatible 'menu.lst'" option. Then the grub4dosconfig avoids grub4dos specific commands. Note that this option is only for ones who want and can manage it.
Last edited by shinobar on Wed 02 May 2012, 03:02, edited 1 time in total.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
Pete22
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009, 22:59
Location: Utah, USA

#284 Post by Pete22 »

It now will recognize lhp!!!! That really makes my day. :D

Trying it out I noticed a few possible bugs.

If I select the advanced menu, it highlights everything instead of one line.
If I go back to main menu, it will still have all the lines highlighted.


Is that how you meant for the new version to work?

I also noticed it did not see Legacy puppy.


Pete

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

using splash

#285 Post by shinobar »

Pete22 wrote:If I select the advanced menu, it highlights everything instead of one line.
If I go back to main menu, it will still have all the lines highlighted.
Yeh, i realized the problem with using splash image.
Comment out the 'color' line both from menu.lst and menu-advanced.lst if you use the splash image.
menu*.lst wrote:# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7.9
#color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
splashimage=/splash.xpm
Pete22 wrote:I also noticed it did not see Legacy puppy.
Which puppy do you mean?
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
Pete22
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009, 22:59
Location: Utah, USA

fixing the boot up menu

#286 Post by Pete22 »

# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7.9
#color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
splashimage=/splash.xpm
I tried this fix in saluki and in lighthouse on 2 machines.
It does not solve the menu highlighting problem.

The puppy that grub4dos does not find is Legacy os4.

Hope that helps.

Pete

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Re: fixing the boot up menu

#287 Post by shinobar »

Pete22 wrote:
# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7.9
#color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
splashimage=/splash.xpm
I tried this fix in saluki and in lighthouse on 2 machines.
It does not solve the menu highlighting problem.
Will you try to comment out the 'splashimage' line instead of the 'color' line if you are not using splash image. (Both menu.lst and menu-advanced.lst)
# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7.9
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
#splashimage=/splash.xpm
Pete22 wrote:The puppy that grub4dos does not find is Legacy os4.
Where is the pup_421.sfs?
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#288 Post by don570 »

Would you check out these two buttons in
Pemasu's Precise.

They caused the application to freeze when clicked.

I didn't have time to test properly

The app does work well otherwise.


Image

__________________________________________

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Some buttons freeze

#289 Post by shinobar »

don570 wrote:Would you check out these two buttons in
Pemasu's Precise.
They caused the application to freeze when clicked.
Thank you don for the report.
I am aware that the '<list>' box of the gtkdialog is buggy under some circumstance. It will be replaced with '<tree>' by coming release. Hopefully it will fix the problem.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
Pete22
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009, 22:59
Location: Utah, USA

#290 Post by Pete22 »

I am using a splash screen with saluki 21.
But the fix did not fix it.

The Legacy 4.21 sfs is in the mnt/home/Legacy os4 folder.


hope that helps.

Pete

Post Reply