Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 28 Mar 2015, 05:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Grub4DosConfig
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 23 of 24 [347 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2014, 08:31    Post subject: version 1.9.1 'unknown' entries
Subject description: issue/bug report
 

(double post deleted)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4845
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2014, 15:28    Post subject:  

@Shinobar

As I know you offer Precise in 2 versions; one of which is Precise-571JP, I offer this idea for booting into the 2 languages you currently support.

Open the attached file in a text editor AS IS!

Hope this helps
syslinux cfg from PartedMagic.txt.png
Description  This is a text file. DO NOT CONVERT!!! Open, as is, in a text editor (geany)!
png

 Download 
Filename  syslinux cfg from PartedMagic.txt.png 
Filesize  26.72 KB 
Downloaded  128 Time(s) 

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2014, 06:36    Post subject: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.2  

UPDATE: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.2.pet (2014-07-20)
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/
#20Jul14 v1.9.2: grub2, titles, bootable mbr detection

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3647
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 15:14    Post subject:  

I installed the newest version.
A full install of Quirky tahr by Barry Kauler . The result --->



I include the terminal output if you're interested.

It did work with Tahrpup and Racy distros.

____________________________________________________

I have a suggestion:

I have a lot of frugal installations so the list of operating systems
available is very long and I can't see the OK button at the end of the list.
I have to use alt key. So I suggest putting the OK button at the top or side of window.

____________________________________________
grub4dos-output.tar.gz
Description  terminal output
gz

 Download 
Filename  grub4dos-output.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.65 KB 
Downloaded  86 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 663
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 20:22    Post subject: Too many Frugals here too
Subject description: Scrolling list of Pups? or 'OK' top button.
 

G'day shinobar,

I was about to go searching this thread but don570 has exactly my problem.

I was trying to rescue an old hard drive, which had more than 20 Frugal Puppies plus about ten Puppy Fulls. I was removing old Windows & Ubuntu partitions through which the hard drive had been booting.

I installed a new Pup to sda1 but when I tried to set up Grub4Dos, the Puppy list (box) went off the bottom of the screen and I could not 'Move' or 'Resize' the box to see the 'OK' button.

A scroll bar for the listing would be good so all the possible Puppies could be seen, but if that is too difficult or time-consuming, I too would appreciate the 'OK' button at the top of the dialog box.

Thanks & regards,
David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 469
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2014, 11:20    Post subject: Computer won't boot Puppy Linux.  

Someone could use help with a computer that does not boot Puppy Linux.
Please see http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95728

Thank you,
Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys;Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite;
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2;
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2; ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5907
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Nov 2014, 22:03    Post subject:  

Running Tahrpup 6.0 CE
Puppy Universal Installer to do a frugal install on a hard drive.
When you get to the point of naming the install location.
It gives as an example "puppyfiles/pup6.0" for a name to use for location of the frugal install.
If you use that name.
Grub4dos config(v1.9.2) does not recognize that name as a Puppy install location.
No entry will be made in the menu.lst for that frugal install.

If you use the default location name "tahr6.0frugal".
Grub4dos config finds it and puts entry in menu.lst

One not working is two directories deep, if that has anything to do with it.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5907
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 11 Feb 2015, 13:47    Post subject:  

Tahrpup 6.0.2
Full install to hard drive

V1.9.2

Grub4dos Bootloader config is not able to make a tittle entry for Puppies as frugal installs.

From my latest menu.lst.
Code:
# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.9.2
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
#splashimage=/splash.xpm
timeout 10
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy

title Unknown ()
  uuid 60a52c2e-48d5-47a5-9f9d-8a312996d1f6
  kernel /vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd  pfix=fsck
  initrd /initrd.gz

title Unknown (sda5)
  uuid 00aa0274-75d7-402d-ab7c-4e0f2d973e6a
  kernel /vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd  pfix=fsck
  initrd /initrd.gz

title Unknown (sda5)
  uuid 00aa0274-75d7-402d-ab7c-4e0f2d973e6a
  kernel /vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd  pfix=fsck
  initrd /initrd.gz

title Unknown (sdb1)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /tahr64_6.0.2/
  kernel /vmlinuz  pmedia=usbflash  pfix=fsck
  initrd /initrd.gz

# Full installed Linux

title Linux (sda2)
  uuid 60a52c2e-48d5-47a5-9f9d-8a312996d1f6
  kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 ro
  initrd /initrd.gz

title Tahrpup 6.0.1 (sda3/boot)
  uuid add3bbc4-3d00-442f-8792-b8b1e12ba6a2
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda3 ro

title Slacko Puppy 5.7.0 (sda7/boot)
  uuid 2a7dc791-ef27-4a70-ae9e-f59d14bdfa18
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda7 ro

# Windows
# this entry searches Windows on the HDD and boot it up
title Windows\nBoot up Windows if installed
  errorcheck off
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /bootmgr
  chainloader /bootmgr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /ntldr
  chainloader /ntldr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd   /io.sys
  chainloader /io.sys
  errorcheck on

# Advanced Menu
title Advanced menu
  configfile /menu-advanced.lst
  commandline

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Sun 08 Mar 2015, 11:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 620
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2015, 10:27    Post subject:  

IF the MBR is already toast on a PC but I can still boot Puppy through CD, is there any downside in trying to install Grub4Dos on that computer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5907
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2015, 11:44    Post subject:  

It should work OK unless there is something physically wrong with the mbr section of the hard drive.

Grub4dos does give you options for locations to place it on the hard drive other than the mbr.

I usually always install it to the mbr with no problem.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Les Kerf

Joined: 24 Jun 2012
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2015, 19:58    Post subject:  

slavvo67 wrote:
IF the MBR is already toast on a PC but I can still boot Puppy through CD, is there any downside in trying to install Grub4Dos on that computer?


I have botched up the MBR on computers and then installed Grub4Dos, thereby salvaging everything.

I salvage and recycle computers, then give them away with Puppy Linux installed; I use Grub4dos on those machines exclusively.
Les
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5907
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2015, 20:28    Post subject:  

Les Kerf,

Are you seeing, what I reported, a few posts up, when Grub4dos is run in the newest versions of Puppy?

For me, it does not make a title entry for any frugal installs it finds.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Les Kerf

Joined: 24 Jun 2012
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2015, 23:13    Post subject:  

The newest Puppy I use is Slacko 5.7, so have not had any problems. I have limited bandwidth so don't get new ISO files very often.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
recobayu


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 132
Location: indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2015, 21:36    Post subject: Is possible to detect my yumi's grub?  

Hi All. I have a flashdisk that contain linux starter installation and windows by yumi. Is possible to grub4dos to automatically detect my yumi's grub? Because if I use grub4dos, I only can see puppy's folder, oh and also grub2 too. I think this is very great if grub4dos can automatically detect another grub like yumi's grub or multisystem's grub.
Thanks. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3647
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar 2015, 20:34    Post subject:  

If grub4dos can't see the flashdrive then try dragging the menu.lst file
that grub uses to sda1 partition of your hard drive.

Another suggestion: PLOP works well with USB Flash drives.

http://www.plop.at/
_____________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 24 [347 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0954s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]