Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 01:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Arcade 6
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
alastair_hm


Joined: 24 Jun 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 09:09    Post subject:  

Has the internet been disabled or removed in version 6?
I've tried started Firedog from the menu but nothing seems to happen.

I've run the network setup which seems to function okay.

I have a frugal version of 6 installed on a ext2 partition now.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 10:30    Post subject:  

alastair_hm wrote:
Has the internet been disabled or removed in version 6? I've tried started Firedog from the menu but nothing seems to happen.
Any ideas?

Thanks

Err... Seamonkey is the included browser in this one.. And it should all work fine, nothing was removed that is required for internet. Did you install Firedog?

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2010, 09:19    Post subject:  

Having come from a Commodore background since the original PET I took an interest in this project for a nostalgiafest! I have some queries.

You say for Commodore stuff you need to add system roms. I tried C64 and it seemed to have Basic. What else does it need? I had a look at WinVICE2.0 and it mentioned the system stuff as kernel, basic and one other the name of which eludes me. Can I copy the files directly from WinVICE or have I got to go hunting for linux specific versions?

Searching for ROMs is a right pain for a newbie in this field. I tried your links looking for Commodore or Amiga stuff. Commodore stuff eluded me (except for the WinVICE). I found one reference to an Amiga Kickstart but it was a huge file, (for me on 2Mb broadband), made worse by the fact that it included all the various versions in one pack rather than splitting them. I guess it is difficult to get things that you are not supposed to have - but if you or others know of any DIRECT links to the various requirements it would help. Then we are not all searching (and failing) for the same thing.

When I ran the C64 emulator it came up in a small window. I guess this is because the C64 was a 40x25 character screen and at 8x8 pixels per character this is only 320x200 pixels. Is the only way to get a decent window size to reduce Puppy's resolution to the smallest (640 x 480) or is there a way to get full screen?

Finally, are there any links to sources of disk images that might be run with these emulators or a clue as to what we should search for? I realise this is not part of the project but it would help to get some something going quickly for the newbies in the field. As it stands I can see a c64 screen but I am not going to start typing BASIC or machine code in any great quantity to get something going.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2010, 10:31    Post subject:  

First, I wasn't even crawling when half this stuff came out, so I can't be much help... but here goes...

ICPUG wrote:
You say for Commodore stuff you need to add system roms. I tried C64 and it seemed to have Basic. What else does it need?

Puppy Arcade 6 includes 2 C64 emulators (frodo and VICE). Only vice requires the chargen, kernal (not kernel) etc group of files, which should go into their respective folders in /usr/lib/vice

More info: http://www.viceteam.org/vice_4.html#SEC25

Note: Frodo will work out of the box. type 'frodo' in the terminal to run it.

ICPUG wrote:
Searching for ROMs is a right pain for a newbie in this field. I tried your links looking for Commodore or Amiga stuff.

http://www.doperoms.com/roms/Commodore_64.html
http://www.freeroms.com/amiga_roms.htm

ICPUG wrote:
Commodore stuff eluded me ... found one reference to an Amiga Kickstart ... if you or others know of any DIRECT links to the various requirements it would help.

If I could offer direct downloads without a load of people filling this thread with complaints, then I would, even if people simply downloaded the stuff they actually owned..

But here's some commodore stuff http://depositfiles.com/en/folders/0CSWZ48PY

These might be the Amiga files you want.. http://www.filestube.com/805592ac52cf156303e9,g/Amiga-Kickstart-ROMs-All-Ami.html

or http://www.filestube.com/b2a9cb94db8827ae03ea/go.html

ICPUG wrote:
When I ran the C64 emulator it came up in a small window... Is the only way to get a decent window size to reduce Puppy's resolution to the smallest (640 x 480) or is there a way to get full screen?

See the emulator help files online or in the /usr/share/man directory ( i think)

ICPUG wrote:
Finally, are there any links to sources of disk images? ... As it stands I can see a c64 screen but I am not going to start typing BASIC to get something going.

I've never used a commodore... I'd search for commodore emulator specific stuff... That'll turn up more results... Search google - there's a surprising amount of commodore blogs out there from other old people Wink

Also, when struggling to find files, get on btjunkie.org or piratebay.org and search there

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alastair_hm


Joined: 24 Jun 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2010, 15:20    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
alastair_hm wrote:
Has the internet been disabled or removed in version 6? I've tried started Firedog from the menu but nothing seems to happen.
Any ideas?

Thanks

Err... Seamonkey is the included browser in this one.. And it should all work fine, nothing was removed that is required for internet. Did you install Firedog?


Weird, Firedog definately appears on the menu, not installed it on version 6, I wonder if its picking up from another Puppy Linux save file or something?

I'll have another poke at it.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 02 Feb 2010, 09:15    Post subject:  

Thanks sc0ttman for your helpful response.

I'll do some looking at the presented links.

You are right about the old guys still talking Commodore. It is at times like these I miss my old friend Ken Ross who was my 8-bit Commodore computing expert before he passed away a while back. I've just found that his web site lives on at:

http://petlibrary.tripod.com

I'd better look there as well.

Once again, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 05:33    Post subject:  

ICPUG wrote:
Thanks sc0ttman for your helpful response.
You are right about the old guys still talking Commodore. It is at times like these I miss my old friend Ken Ross who was my 8-bit Commodore computing expert before he passed away a while back. I've just found that his web site lives on at:

http://petlibrary.tripod.com

I'd better look there as well.

Once again, thanks.

You're welcome. And I decided to check out the link you posted, maybe I will learn something about the Commodore! Smile

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EMLF

Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 06 Feb 2010, 23:34    Post subject: mtPaint Popping up w/ Screenshots  

I'm trying Puppy Arcade in an old notebook w/ an Italian keyboard
Everytime I press Up key, the mtPaint pops up w/ a screenshot!
Is there any way to switch it off, or at least, change the key for screenshots?
Another thing is I wasn't able to play x-MAME at fullscreen, just window mode.
Any advise for it?
I need this working alrighty for my nephews Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willhunt


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 06:49    Post subject: 7zip 9.04 pet
Subject description: cli tools for 7zip
 

no 7zip tools in puppy arcade or puppy so compiled this has the lib and script files for command line sorry no gui 7zG just refuses to compile
compiled in quirky tested in arcade,quriky,lighthouse 4f seems to work just fine in all of them


is there any way to turn back on sfs support?
p7zip_9.04.pet
Description  hope it works for you
pet

 Download 
Filename  p7zip_9.04.pet 
Filesize  1.67 MB 
Downloaded  281 Time(s) 

_________________
176 Icewm Themes Exclamation
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1777
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Tue 09 Feb 2010, 05:51    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
You're welcome. And I decided to check out the link you posted, maybe I will learn something about the Commodore! Smile


You might be able to ask me, too. Smile

Wonder if anyone's still making (or even selling!) those 1541<>PC interface/cables... and even whether or not it can be used under Linux. I really need to back up all my old C64 floppies...

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sat 13 Feb 2010, 05:08    Post subject:  

Scottman:

Have been playing with puppy arcade & wbar

I have now fix Wbar Configuration Centre to work well with this pupplet Laughing

Wbarcc

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 13 Feb 2010, 06:32    Post subject: Re: Help this Newb: Puppy Arcade Config
Subject description: Can I launch right into Mame arcade? hide other emulators?
 

arcadeko wrote:
I am trying to create a usb drive system to run my arcade cabinet.

I have created the install on a 4 gig usb jump drive and it boots fine and works great. However I would like it to just jump right into the Arcade/Mame game list and not even show the emulator menu.

Should I try to tweak puppy arcade or just install an entire new mame front-end and have that launch at startup?

[edit - typo]

The simplest solution would be to put a script in /root/Startup that loads mame.. I'm STILL looking for a suitable rom browser / multi-emu-frontend thing that will load up and let users add/load their bios and roms straight away.... Sad Sorry

I've found that most alternative frontends require stuff not included in Puppy Arcade such as Python/PyGTK... http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=346080#346080

@ trio: I will let you know how wbarcc works out for me... if it's as good as it looks, it will be included as default in puppy arcade 7

@ EMLF, I will get back to you soon, with the answers (I hope)..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0909s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]