Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 21:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Puppy Linux Virtual Machine Files
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
DanYHKim


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue 10 Feb 2009, 14:27    Post subject: Thread on:VMware Player 2.5.0 with Puppy and 2.6.21.7 kernel
Subject description: Running WinXP guest, Puppy Host with VMPlayer
 

In case anyone comes to this thread looking for info on using Puppy as host for VMware guest machines, I'd recommend going to:

WMware VMplayer 2.5.0

WolfPup has an excellent .sfs for VMware Player 2.5.0 with modules compiled for kernel 2.6.21.7. If you are using the new Puppy 4.1.2 (k2.6.25.16), you need to have the devx_412.sfs and <kernel_source>.sfs loaded so it can compile appropriate modules.

[ignorance alert! I think this is what the process is called. It's at least somewhat close.]

I have installed Puppy 4.1.2 on a Dell Inspiron 1525 as "frugal" install. After having it load the development tools and the VMware Player 2.5.0 .sfs file, ran VMware player. It then rebuilt the modules and ran just fine. Loaded a Windows XP virtual machine that resides in a separate NTFS partition.

** Problems occur when loading a VM that lives in an NTFS partition using a Linux host. **

There are some modifications to VMware Player's "conf" file, or to the guest machine's .vmx file before it will work. This is described in an entry to the thread, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ilanrab


Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 17:43    Post subject: Puppy boot sequence changed?
Subject description: Running virtuabox, under puppylinux changing the pup's boot sequence?
 

Running Puppy 520 on a 16GB flash drive that has 2 ext3 partitions. One parittion for the system (2GB) and one for the save files (in a directory /puppy520). Running on a Dell Latitude D400 laptop, with 1GB RAM.

From the day that 520 was release, until last night, booting the flash drive always brought up the comforting puppy logo and the "boot:" command prompt.
Last night I installed, from the SFSget area of the PPM , the VirtualBox application. I used the SFS file, of course. Everything installed fine and ran fine. I was able to run Windows-XP in the VirtualBox environment.
The VirtualBox HardDisks are also located on that 2nd flash drive partition, in a separate folder (not the /puppy520/ folder).

Next time I booted the flash drive I noticed that the puppy logo and "boot:" command prompt were being skipped. Everything else is booting fine. Just that boot sequence is a bit different.

Then I copied the puppy save file from this strange flash drive to another 16GB flash drive's 2nd partition and booted that flash drive, using the save file I had just copied over. Same issue came up (the logo and command prompt gone).
Has anyone experienced this type of a behavior? Obviously the save file, that has the virtualbox installed on it, is having an effect on the boot sequence (for some reason).

Any ideas what is going on?

ir

_________________
ir
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fenex2004


Joined: 12 Jun 2010
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 18:56    Post subject:  

Hey ilanrab,

I'm trying to get XP running on 5.2 as well and am haveing a hard time finding anything that works.

VMware - d/l the tar from the VM site, installed but would not run - says im missing GCC 4.3.4. Found that, d.l it, it would not un-tar, just kept hang in "reading file" mode. Should I try d/l the 4.0 version and use the 4.0.4 as an upgrade? any ideas?

Just got the VirtualBox d/l from here.
So far it seems to be working well. OOOpps spoke too soon - system locked up and al I have is a black screen...anyone know why? gonna reboot and try again.

Thanks for the assistance in advance.

UPDATE: Kept searching and found 'TheAsterik's' post on the virtualbox. Downloaded it, installed it, and after fussing with the personal save file a few times Mad got it up and running (gawd M$ loads so slow) Got my program installed and running - it's slow due to the amount of ram - VB needs quite a few MB and I gots very little. Embarassed

Anywho, I got that problem solved - time to move to another Wink

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ilanrab


Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Tue 08 Mar 2011, 00:49    Post subject:  

fenex2004 wrote:
Hey ilanrab,

UPDATE: Kept searching and found 'TheAsterik's' post on the virtualbox. Downloaded it, installed it, and after fussing with the personal save file a few times Mad got it up and running (gawd M$ loads so slow) Got my program installed and running - it's slow due to the amount of ram - VB needs quite a few M....
.

The same version works for me, as well.
All of these virtual machines devour both memory and disk space. That's the tradeoff. Functionality is increased at the expense of drive space, memory, and speed.
Cheers,
ir

_________________
ir
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Thu 24 Mar 2011, 17:25    Post subject: does Puppy slow down?  

I am running on a Dell 530 with the 2.4 gig dual core processor and 2 gigs of ram . Will this make puppy slow or just XP?
Will Xp be painfully slow? Should I configure it with Nlite and remove all the garbage from Xp i will never use anyway?. They make a tiny version of Xp that is on Hiren's boot disk, I am going to find out what all it allows. All I need it for is a few programs live Quicken and IE for certain test that will not work on anything else .

TIA

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sebus

Joined: 20 Jan 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sun 12 May 2013, 15:52    Post subject:  

Instead XP use POS2009 Ready, way better!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Mon 03 Mar 2014, 18:55    Post subject: Re: does Puppy slow down?  

Frank Cox wrote:
I am running on a Dell 530 with the 2.4 gig dual core processor and 2 gigs of ram . Will this make puppy slow or just XP?
Will Xp be painfully slow? Should I configure it with Nlite and remove all the garbage from Xp i will never use anyway?. They make a tiny version of Xp that is on Hiren's boot disk, I am going to find out what all it allows. All I need it for is a few programs live Quicken and IE for certain test that will not work on anything else .

Single Core AMD64 3500 with 1.5GB. Slacko 5.5 Frugal with Oracle VM running XP SP3 new install and MS Office 2003. 750MB allocated to the XP guest and Slacko runs fine, as does XP for office type apps. For browsing/more graphic intensive apps (watching youtubes etc) the XP response is marginally sluggish (usable, but not instantaneous).

When I formed the XP install I turned compression on, which kept the VM file size down to around 2.8GB with XP, Office and a few other favourites (fully patched up to the most latest)

I've set the VM shared folder to a common 'documents' directory, so slacko on bootable DVD, XP in a VM that's image is also stored on the DVD (pristine version), and a hard disk for all data/music/etc (and frugal savefile, SFS's etc).

Slacko on one desktop, XP on the other, instant switching between the two. Or just full screen XP and move the mouse to the bottom of the screen and select the minimize pop up option to reveal the Slacko desktop behind.

If you 'save state' at each closure of XP/VM rather than powering off, then the next start is much quicker (re-enters exactly where it last ended in around 5 to 10 seconds).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0728s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]