Page 6 of 7

Posted: Tue 21 Aug 2012, 16:28
by seaside
I'm not familiar with Dillo, but if you can add a script to Dillo's right click menu or other menu customization you could do something like this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
# assign to hotkey or perhaps to the light browser's right-click menu
# assign big browser to SUPERBROWSER
#highlight selection

SUPERBROWSER=/usr/local/firefox/firefox #/path/to/big/browser
 URL=`xclip -o`
 $SUPERBROWSER "$URL"
 exit 
Nicer would be to have it totally integrated within the browser :D

Cheers,
s

Posted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 17:29
by Clive
deleted

Posted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 16:19
by Clive
deleted

Posted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:07
by Jasper
Hi,

When viewing forum posts using Tman’s Dillo 2.2 some characters do not display properly - e.g. the apostrophe (‘) and double quotation marks (“

Posted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:25
by aragon
Jasper,

Have you tried it with the actual pet?

Also a link to test would be helpful..

Aragon

Posted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:42
by Jasper
Hi aragon.

That was a quick response. The screen shot below shows the start of my post as viewed from Dillo (which is in substitution for a link - where I only took a snapshot of the two words).

Yes, I tried your Dillo 2.2 pet and two pets from Tman.

I suspect that apart from the Dillo screen shot - my above post looks normal to most readers.

My regards

Posted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:35
by aragon
Ah, ok i see. But back to the other part of the question, did you try the actual pet from the first post (3...)? You're allways refering to 2.2 which is an older one...

Aragon

Posted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:51
by Jasper
Hi aragon,

I tried v 3 from Tman and v 2.2 from yourself and Tman.

I can try your 3.0.2-1 pet in about 2 hours from now if you think it may help.

My regards

Update - I have just tried your 3.0.2-1 - but no joy.
I will be back on line in about two hours.

Posted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 19:51
by technosaurus
try one of these:http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 263#564263
edit: or change your font settings in the config file

Posted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 19:58
by aragon
Jasper wrote:Hi aragon,

I tried v 3 from Tman and v 2.2 from yourself and Tman.

I can try your 3.0.2-1 pet in about 2 hours from now if you think it may help.

My regards

Update - I have just tried your 3.0.2-1 - but no joy.
I will be back on line in about two hours.
hi jasper,

will try tomorrow if i could see something ...

aragon

Posted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 21:54
by Jasper
Hi technosaurus,

Thank you very much for your suggestions. I have tried both
versions though without success.

It is not very important - it's just that it would be nicer if
it were fixed.

My regards

Posted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 02:00
by Burunduk
Dillo seems to be deceived by the page code:

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">

The real encoding is utf-8. Firefox is smart enough to ignore the tag.

Posted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 09:41
by aragon
Jasper,

i've looked into the issue ...

Dillo will only display special chars correct if

a) the charset is set to utf-8 as burunduk mentions
b) special chars are escaped properly (what as far as i see/understand does not happen for the message-body in the forum)

so it seems this is more a phpBB issue, than a dillo issue. Other browser just seem to be more fault-tolerant.

aragon

Posted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 13:10
by Jasper
Hi aragon, Burunduk and technosaurus,

Thank you all very much for your time and help.

I have been using utf-8 throughout, plus there have been a few thousand dillo downloads from this thread (apparently with few, if any, display problems).

So, it would seem that, whilst phpBB may well be problematic, there is some other cause more specific to me.

My computing knowledge is so poor that I don't even have a pay grade, so I can only understand any comments in a non-technical sense.

Burunduk mentioned "page code" and I do remember that long ago (using W98SE and a particular DOS program) I had to use Code Page 437 (instead of 850 or 85?) to see a correct display.

I still have W98SE on my computer, but I think I had to set code page 437 in autoexec.bat or config.sys so I have no idea if (or how) that might affect Puppy Linux and my dillo display.

My regards

Posted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 05:46
by redandwhitestripes
I love Dillo but I'm having a couple of issues with my 3.0 version in Precise.

1) Non-stop "certificate" warnings each time I follow a link.. Possibly caused by my clock being out of sync since I use no battery in my laptop.

2) I can't figure which URL to insert in the Dillo cookiesrc file to allow me to log in and view gmail in html mode. I have to resort to using "DEFAULT ACCEPT" which I don't like.

Any advice on fixing either of the above is most welcome.
Thanks
Greg

Posted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 06:07
by Dewbie
redandwhitestripes wrote:
Non-stop "certificate" warnings each time I follow a link

This is a pretty common occurrence with Dillo, especially with certain websites.
I can't figure which URL to insert in the Dillo cookiesrc file to allow me to log in and view gmail in html mode.
A full-featured browser is usually required to access e-mail accounts.
Remember, Dillo doesn't support cache, cookies, history, etc...which is why it's so much faster.

dillo 3.0.3 soon

Posted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 09:04
by session
...since this thread's up...

It looks like dillo 3.0.3 will be released real soon.

Posted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 00:53
by redandwhitestripes
Dewbie wrote:redandwhitestripes wrote:

I can't figure which URL to insert in the Dillo cookiesrc file to allow me to log in and view gmail in html mode.
A full-featured browser is usually required to access e-mail accounts.
Remember, Dillo doesn't support cache, cookies, history, etc...which is why it's so much faster.
I know, but my point is that I can access gmail, but I can't figure out the exact url required to "accept" cookies for in dillorc, I've tried several, such as mail.google.com that don't work, so I've had to configure dillorc as 'default accept'

Posted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 01:28
by technosaurus
Tcpdump is useful to find out what sites are getting called.

Posted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 02:10
by linuxcbon
If you type dillo from shell, it will display which websites are called.
For example:

Code: Select all

Nav_open_url: new url='http://mail.google.com/mail/'
Dns_server [0]: mail.google.com is 173.194.45.54 173.194.45.53
Connecting to 173.194.45.54
Nav_open_url: new url='https://accounts.google.com/ServiceLogin?service=mail&passive=true&rm=false&continue=http://mail.google.com/mail/&scc=1&ltmpl=default&ltmplcache=2'
Capi_filters_test: deny from 'accounts.google.com' to 'ssl.gstatic.com'