Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 13:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
I don't want to save
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
eppoh

Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 17:45    Post_subject:  I don't want to save  

Installed Macpup on a flash drive and it has been great. One thing is that it always ends the session with 'saving to sbd1 ( my flash drive). Thing is, I don't want anything saved.
Is there a way to keep this from saving the session?

It always asked me when running in RAM from the CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 18:02    Post_subject:  

Wild suggestion. Look for the menu.lst on the USB and edit it to have a pfix=ram in the end of the line that says kernel in the beginning.

On my system it looks like this

Quote:
title pup-431 linnwin

kernel (hd0,0)/pup-431/vmlinuz PMEDIA=satahd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=pup-431 psubOK=TRUE

initrd (hd0,0)/pup-431/initrd.gz

boot



so you change this one

kernel (hd0,0)/pup-431/vmlinuz PMEDIA=satahd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=pup-431 psubOK=TRUE


to this

kernel (hd0,0)/pup-431/vmlinuz PMEDIA=satahd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=pup-431 psubOK=TRUE pfix=ram

And then when Macpup ask if you want to save you answer No! and nothing will be saved.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 18:09    Post_subject:  

Ooops

if you have a save file that you want to keep then yopu can go into the mount and and find it and change its name and then only load it when you need it and most likely when it has nothing to say to the program will ask if you want to creat a save file?

another trick would be to rename it and move it several subdirectories deep?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eppoh

Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 18:36    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Ooops

if you have a save file that you want to keep then yopu can go into the mount and and find it and change its name and then only load it when you need it and most likely when it has nothing to say to the program will ask if you want to creat a save file?

another trick would be to rename it and move it several subdirectories deep?


I am a little confused. Wouldn't your first suggestion give me the option of saving it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 19:09    Post_subject:  

This question has been asked several times and responded too.
I don't remember the answer.
But try the puppysearch link in my sig and you might find the related threads.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 19:50    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Thing is, I don't want anything saved.
Is there a way to keep this from saving the session?

It always asked me when running in RAM from the CD.


And my wild guess was to do as I first wrote:

And then when Macpup ask if you want to save you answer No! and nothing will be saved.

which I had hoped lived up to your wishes.

Then I thought. Maybe he have a save file that he wants to keep and not to save anything further so I wrote the oops

But you can do as Beem suggests.

Or you could tell me what was wrong with my first suggestion?

I am going to bed now. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3380
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 20:45    Post_subject:  

Here is another way.
Boot with pfix=ram.
Go through setting up keyboard, mouse, display, and be sure to set up your internet connection and any pets you might think you need.
Remember to keep additions small depending on ram you have.
Now that that is done, remaster using a blank cd.
When you boot from it, you should not have to go through the initial setup again.
Of course when you shut down or reboot, It will ask if you want to save your settings.
Since your remastered CD already has them, just decline.
You could also then install the custom one frugally to hard drive and run without making any pupsave file.

Those are my thoughts on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 23:42    Post_subject:
Sub_title: save/no_save2flash
 

Me neither, sometimes. For a simple save/nosave option with a savefile on flash . . .

/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown ~lines732-740 (Macpup-Op, lines671..) relevant section follows:

Code:
 13) #PDEV1 and PUPSFS and PUPSAVE
  #/initrd/pup_rw has tmpfs, pup_ro1 has ${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}save.2fs file (PUPSAVE), pup_ro2 has PUPSFS file.
  #the above are in unionfs at /. # modified per pizzagood's shutdown save/nosave option for flash
  dialog --yesno "save2flash? (thumbdrive)" 0 0 >/dev/console
  if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
  echo "Saving session to $SAVEFILE (${SAVEPART})..." >/dev/console
  /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy /initrd/pup_ro1 /initrd/pup_rw
  fi
  ;;


edit with care - at end of session, during the dialogue select yes so that lil' bit is saved (thereafter you have a choice) Wink
works fine for me whenever I use a savefile - hth…
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 01 Mar 2010, 05:03    Post_subject:  

yes these two suggestions are way better than my wild guess.

1. How does one do a remaster? I want to learn. Sorry if hogging the thread.

2. Changing those line was way more easy even for me. Smile

if later one want to save new things added one change it back?


Heheheh, I get how to find that part but not what I should change. Shall I comment out like this.

Quote:
13) #PDEV1 and PUPSFS and PUPSAVE
#/initrd/pup_rw has tmpfs, pup_ro1 has ${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}save.2fs file (PUPSAVE), pup_ro2 has PUPSFS file.
#the above are in unionfs at /. # modified per pizzagood's shutdown save/nosave option for flash
# dialog --yesno "save2flash? (thumbdrive)" 0 0 >/dev/console
# if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
# echo "Saving session to $SAVEFILE (${SAVEPART})..." >/dev/console
# /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy /initrd/pup_ro1 /initrd/pup_rw
# fi
;;


but is this not the first session thing and doesn't the OP talk about a session when one already have a savefile and don't want to change it?

I most likely get it all wrong. Care to give more hints?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
snowshaker

Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Location: Midwesterner running Slacko Puppy 5.3

PostPosted: Mon 01 Mar 2010, 12:17    Post_subject:  

If you don't save the session the first time, then it will keep asking you in subsequent sessions and you can say "no".

Another way to do it is to buy one of them real cheap SD USB card readers that look like USB sticks except you have to put an SD card in it. Puppy will write to the stick on poweroff, but if the SD card switch is slid over to the "lock" position, it can't save and at that point will not be able to complain about it. You will have to prepare the new card all over again. Maybe just make it bootable and copy the files over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0675s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]